Optimising an 8-core Mac Pro

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Optimising an 8-core Mac Pro

Postby Julian_Warr » Thu Jul 19, 2012 12:47 pm

Hi,

I've been contributing to folding@home for about 8 years on a variety of computers but have always just adopted a 'set and forget' mentality.

I'm currently running it on a 2.26Ghz 8-core Mac Pro with 16Gb RAM.

I'm looking for some advice on optimising the performance of f@h on this machine. I've just discovered passkeys and have now set one up.

I'm currently using 4-clients and am managing them using Increase. Should I be using 4 clients or just one? The reason I ask is that when I stop three of the four clients the kernel CPU time drops from about 20% of total time down to near zero - that's 20% across all 8 cores BTW. I'm assuming that this 20% is some sort of overhead which is incurred by running four processes rather than one for f@h.

Also, I'm currently using a version of f@h from Jan 2010 - is it worth upgrading and if so how should I approach this? The command-line switches I'm currently using are: -local -advmethods - forceasm -verbosity 9. Are these all OK?

Lastly any other hints and tips would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Julian.
Julian_Warr

Re: Optimising an 8-core Mac Pro

Postby Joe_H » Thu Jul 19, 2012 1:30 pm

Welcome to the forum.

First, you should be running a single SMP client on your Mac Pro instead of four and with the SMP count set to 8(16 if your processors have HT). If you need to reserve some CPU for doing other work, then you can reduce the SMP number to a lower even number such as 6.

For the rest of your questions more information is needed. For instance, what is the version of OS X on your Mac Pro? If you could check the version of the folding client as well, that would be useful to know. I suspect it is 6.29r3 but can't determine that from the Jan 2010 date. The command line switches look fine.