GPU folding on i3 CPU

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby Electritects » Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:32 am

Hi,

I think at this point: number of CPU cores must be equal to number of GPUs?

1. Folding@home Client v7.5.1 running on Windows 10 64bits

2. FAH Stats shown here:
https://imagebin.ca/v/4MZVGfcARIAA

3. CPU: 2 cores 4 threads shown here:
https://imagebin.ca/v/4MZVkKZx9e1W

4. The Web Control in internet explorer shows this: (on Chrome it keeps trying to connect)
https://imagebin.ca/v/4MZXEkP8cMb9

Is there a clear guide how I can use say for example 1 CPU core and 7 GPUs?


Thanks.
Last edited by bruce on Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Title corrected.
Electritects
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:09 am

Re: GPU mining on i3 CPU

Postby JimboPalmer » Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:18 pm

You need 1 CPU thread per GPU, so do not use more than 4 GPUs with your i3, as you have 4 threads of CPU. (in practice, you are unlikely to have enough PCI-E lanes for 4 GPUs in any case)
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 704
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby bruce » Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:44 pm

the simplest way to use 7 GPUs is to replace the i3 with an i7, In any case, the performance of each GPUs will probably be limited due to the limitations of your PCIe lanes.
The I3 can handle 4 GPUs if you use FAHControl to remove the CPU slot.

It's a lot clearer if you post your log per the instructions below.
bruce
 
Posts: 21778
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby Electritects » Fri Nov 16, 2018 1:36 pm

Hi,

Thanks for your replies. Please see log below as requested. I understand the better option would be to replace the CPU but it would be good to have at least a few GPUs running to see how this works.

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2018-11-16T13:30:01Z ***********************
13:30:01:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
13:30:01:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
13:30:01:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
13:30:01:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
13:30:01:           Args: --open-web-control
13:30:01:         Config: C:\Users\MR1\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
13:30:01:******************************** Build ********************************
13:30:01:        Version: 7.5.1
13:30:01:           Date: May 11 2018
13:30:01:           Time: 13:06:32
13:30:01:     Repository: Git
13:30:01:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
13:30:01:         Branch: master
13:30:01:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
13:30:01:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
13:30:01:       Platform: win32 10
13:30:01:           Bits: 32
13:30:01:           Mode: Release
13:30:01:******************************* System ********************************
13:30:01:            CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-4130 CPU @ 3.40GHz
13:30:01:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
13:30:01:           CPUs: 4
13:30:01:         Memory: 7.93GiB
13:30:01:    Free Memory: 5.88GiB
13:30:01:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
13:30:01:     OS Version: 6.2
13:30:01:    Has Battery: false
13:30:01:     On Battery: false
13:30:01:     UTC Offset: 11
13:30:01:            PID: 6220
13:30:01:            CWD: C:\Users\Win\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
13:30:01:             OS: Windows 10 Enterprise
13:30:01:        OS Arch: AMD64
13:30:01:           GPUs: 8
13:30:01:          GPU 0: Bus:8 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:          GPU 1: Bus:3 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:          GPU 2: Bus:5 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:          GPU 3: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:          GPU 4: Bus:9 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:          GPU 5: Bus:4 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:          GPU 6: Bus:2 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:          GPU 7: Bus:7 Slot:0 Func:0 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:           CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The
13:30:01:                 specified module could not be found.
13:30:01:
13:30:01:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:NA Slot:NA Compute:1.2 Driver:20.19
13:30:01:  Win32 Service: false
13:30:01:***********************************************************************
13:30:01:<config>
13:30:01:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
13:30:01:  <extra-core-args v='-np 2'/>
13:30:01:
13:30:01:  <!-- Network -->
13:30:01:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
13:30:01:
13:30:01:  <!-- Slot Control -->
13:30:01:  <power v='full'/>
13:30:01:
13:30:01:  <!-- User Information -->
13:30:01:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
13:30:01:  <team v='0'/>
13:30:01:  <user v='Win'/>
13:30:01:
13:30:01:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
13:30:01:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
13:30:01:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
13:30:01:  <slot id='2' type='GPU'/>
13:30:01:  <slot id='3' type='GPU'/>
13:30:01:  <slot id='4' type='GPU'/>
13:30:01:  <slot id='5' type='GPU'/>
13:30:01:  <slot id='6' type='GPU'/>
13:30:01:  <slot id='7' type='GPU'/>
13:30:01:  <slot id='8' type='GPU'/>
13:30:01:</config>
13:30:01:Trying to access database...
13:30:01:Successfully acquired database lock
13:30:01:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:1
13:30:01:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:Enabled folding slot 02: READY gpu:1:AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:Enabled folding slot 03: READY gpu:2:AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:Enabled folding slot 04: READY gpu:3:AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:Enabled folding slot 05: READY gpu:4:AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:Enabled folding slot 06: READY gpu:5:AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:Enabled folding slot 07: READY gpu:6:AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:Enabled folding slot 08: READY gpu:7:AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series]
13:30:01:ERROR:No compute devices matched GPU #0 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series].  You may need to update your graphics drivers.
13:30:01:ERROR:No compute devices matched GPU #1 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series].  You may need to update your graphics drivers.
13:30:01:ERROR:No compute devices matched GPU #2 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series].  You may need to update your graphics drivers.
13:30:01:ERROR:No compute devices matched GPU #3 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series].  You may need to update your graphics drivers.
13:30:01:ERROR:No compute devices matched GPU #4 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series].  You may need to update your graphics drivers.
13:30:02:ERROR:No compute devices matched GPU #5 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series].  You may need to update your graphics drivers.
13:30:02:ERROR:No compute devices matched GPU #6 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series].  You may need to update your graphics drivers.
13:30:02:ERROR:No compute devices matched GPU #7 AMD:5 AMD/ATI [Radeon RX 550 Series].  You may need to update your graphics drivers.
13:30:02:WU01:FS02:Starting
13:30:02:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 2 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:02:WU00:FS00:Starting
13:30:02:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\Win\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 6220 -checkpoint 15 -np 1 -np 2
13:30:02:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 2140
13:30:02:WU00:FS00:Core PID:9136
13:30:02:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0xa7 started
13:30:02:WU04:FS07:Starting
13:30:02:ERROR:WU04:FS07:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 7 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:02:WU07:FS04:Starting
13:30:02:ERROR:WU07:FS04:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 4 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:02:WU09:FS01:Starting
13:30:02:ERROR:WU09:FS01:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 1 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:02:WU08:FS08:Starting
13:30:02:ERROR:WU08:FS08:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 8 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:02:WU02:FS06:Starting
13:30:02:ERROR:WU02:FS06:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 6 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:03:WU05:FS05:Starting
13:30:03:ERROR:WU05:FS05:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 5 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:03:WU03:FS03:Starting
13:30:03:ERROR:WU03:FS03:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 3 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:*********************** Log Started 2018-11-16T13:30:02Z ***********************
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************** Gromacs Folding@home Core ***************************
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Type: 0xa7
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Core: Gromacs
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Website: https://foldingathome.org/
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:  Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Args: -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 2140 -checkpoint 15 -np 1
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:             -np 2
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Config: <none>
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ Build *************************************
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Version: 0.0.17
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Apr 27 2018
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 16:19:36
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7: Repository: Git
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: 21359963583d09ec2063ef946399441c4df4ccd7
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       SIMD: avx_256
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ System ************************************
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CPU: Unknown
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     CPU ID:
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       CPUs: 4
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Memory: 7.93GiB
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Free Memory: 5.86GiB
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7: OS Version: 6.2
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Has Battery: false
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7: On Battery: false
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7: UTC Offset: 11
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        PID: 9136
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CWD: C:\Users\MR1\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\work
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:         OS: Windows 10 Pro
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    OS Arch: AMD64
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:********************************************************************************
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Project: 13817 (Run 0, Clone 631, Gen 107)
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Unit: 0x0000009480fccb045b6080b8e4414b4e
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Digital signatures verified
13:30:03:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Calling: mdrun -s frame107.tpr -o frame107.trr -x frame107.xtc -e frame107.edr -cpi state.cpt -cpt 15 -nt 2
13:30:04:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Steps: first=26750000 total=250000
13:30:05:WU01:FS02:Starting
13:30:05:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 2 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:05:WU04:FS07:Starting
13:30:05:ERROR:WU04:FS07:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 7 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:05:WU07:FS04:Starting
13:30:05:ERROR:WU07:FS04:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 4 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:05:WU09:FS01:Starting
13:30:05:ERROR:WU09:FS01:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 1 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:05:WU08:FS08:Starting
13:30:05:ERROR:WU08:FS08:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 8 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:05:WU02:FS06:Starting
13:30:05:ERROR:WU02:FS06:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 6 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:05:WU05:FS05:Starting
13:30:05:ERROR:WU05:FS05:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 5 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:05:WU03:FS03:Starting
13:30:05:ERROR:WU03:FS03:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 3 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:30:05:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 57671 out of 250000 steps (23%)
13:31:05:WU01:FS02:Starting
13:31:05:ERROR:WU01:FS02:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 2 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:31:05:WU04:FS07:Starting
13:31:05:ERROR:WU04:FS07:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 7 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:31:05:WU07:FS04:Starting
13:31:05:ERROR:WU07:FS04:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 4 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:31:05:WU09:FS01:Starting
13:31:05:ERROR:WU09:FS01:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 1 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:31:05:WU08:FS08:Starting
13:31:05:ERROR:WU08:FS08:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 8 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:31:05:WU02:FS06:Starting
13:31:05:ERROR:WU02:FS06:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 6 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:31:05:WU05:FS05:Starting
13:31:05:ERROR:WU05:FS05:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 5 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually
13:31:05:WU03:FS03:Starting
13:31:05:ERROR:WU03:FS03:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 3 not found, try setting 'opencl-index' manually

Electritects
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:09 am

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby bruce » Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:43 pm

Don't worry about the message about CUDA. That's part of the drivers for a NVidia GPU.

The AMD drivers on your system do not include OpenCL and must. That should correct all or most of the other errors. You should have the latest drivers from https://www.amd.com/en/support
bruce
 
Posts: 21778
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby foldy » Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:21 pm

After amd driver update all GPUs should work. But you need to remove the CPU slot in FAH.

Then you can pause all but one GPU in FAH to see the performance PPD if no CPU limit compared to all GPUs folding.

If you want to check pcie speed limits too you need to disconnect all GPUs and only connect one GPU to the pcie x16 slot to see the performance PPD compared to all GPUs folding.
foldy
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby bruce » Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:09 pm

I not aware of anybody who has evaluated (1-GPU @16x) vs. (2-GPUs @8x) vs. (4 GPUs @4x) -- assuming a system limited to a total of 16 -- or the equivalent and I'm not convinced you'll reach the same conclusion for WUs with either small atom-counts or large atom-counts. It sounds logical to assume more GPUs in parallel would be better when the total PCIe speed becomes a limiting factor.

The non-linear nature of the bonus points makes it difficult to predict a priori.
bruce
 
Posts: 21778
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby Electritects » Sun Nov 18, 2018 1:02 am

Hi thanks for the tips, all GPUs are now working as per this image:

https://imagebin.ca/v/4MyXok5YZp38

1. Why did I have to switch off the CPU? was it only for benchmarking? If so I'd like to turn it ON as well
2. is http://www.cryptobullionpools.com/ still active and connected to the project and how often do they update? my stats were showing 0 so I'm gueeing they do it once only per 24 hrs?
Electritects
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:09 am

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby bruce » Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:41 am

Each GPU requires one CPU thread to support it for I/O and for some periodic checks for errors, so technically, youR i3 can only support 4 GPUs. With an committed CPU, it is unwise to try to fold with the CPU until you upgrade it to something with, say, 12 threads.

While CureCoin seems like it is a part of FAH, it's actually and independent site. We provide support for the Folding@home software and the scientific research to which you are DONATING resources. For questions about cryptobullionpools.com, contact their support site.
bruce
 
Posts: 21778
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby Electritects » Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:33 am

No problem thanks again for helping make this work.

For info CryptoBullions seems to be working and they updated their stats at the tick of their midnight.

Best regards.
Electritects
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:09 am

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby toTOW » Sun Nov 18, 2018 1:38 pm

The main advantage of AMD GPUs is that they won't use a full CPU thread all time to feed the GPU ... :)
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8524
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby Sven » Sat Nov 24, 2018 12:25 pm

From your image i see around 47000PPD, that sounds like you don't have a Passkey in place. I would say you should get a lot more PPD with your 8 RX550. I don't know if that also affects the cryptobullionpool. Just saying.
Sven
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 8:12 pm

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby Electritects » Thu Dec 06, 2018 11:13 am

Hi Sven,

I checked by right-clicking on the icon in the tray and then selecting Advanced Control, then Configure and Identiy and I found that there was/is a passkey, link to photo:
https://imagebin.ca/v/4P3HFlRoaWFE

That passkey is a couple of years old though as I started then stopped. Does that matter?

From inside the FAHCondrol (Advanced) window, it shows that the PPD is more than 47k:
https://imagebin.ca/v/4P3mwrfetWqd

I updated Windows and the graphics cards driver and I uninstalled the Folding v 7.5.1 and reinstalled it again (keeping the data checkbox unticked when uninstalling). I let it run for a while still the same.

I'm not sure why there is 3.5 times the difference between the PPD on the web control and the PPD in the Advanced Control. I would assume the Adv control is instantaneous values and the webcontrol is average over 24hr as I don't leave it ON 24/7?

I'm not sure how cryptobullion affects the PPD.

I was recently reading elsewhere and it seemed people were getting 700,000 PPD with "similar"-ish hardware.

What do you think I can do to speed it up?
Electritects
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:09 am

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby bruce » Thu Dec 06, 2018 6:04 pm

Your passkey never needs to change. In fact, if it does, you'll have to re-qualify it so the first 10 WUs with the new information will NOT receive a bonus. (If you didn't happen to copy your passkey exactly, the same thing will happen.)

Cryptobullion is only related to FAH indirectly. FAH is based entirely on the assumption that you're donating resources to research. The crypto-coin sites require you to perform certain calculations to earn coins and if they happen to accept FAH as a qualifying calculation, that's their decision.
bruce
 
Posts: 21778
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU folding on i3 CPU

Postby Electritects » Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:35 am

Hi Bruce, ok so the fact that I was not requested to requalify for the next 10 WUs means the copy/paste of the passkey was correct.

Would you agree that:
1. About 140k PPD is good resut for the 8 x RX550 4GB each or can do better?
2. That the calculated PPD on the Web interface is the actual realised averaged over 24hrs whereas the 140K on the Advanced Control interface is the instantaneous performance?

If there is room for me to do better please let me know, I have started "donating" on BOINC a couple of decades ago, before coins were invented :)
Electritects
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:09 am

Next

Return to New Donors start here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron