NewB Q: which is more important CPU speed or RAM?

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

MJandDave

NewB Q: which is more important CPU speed or RAM?

Post by MJandDave »

Hi, FAH newbie here and computer amateur. I am thinking of purchase an older (2-5 year old) machine for my young kids run their lower end educational games on. I'm hoping to spend around $100 for the setup, but might be willing to spend more.

I'm currently running FAH on a newish dual core laptop (two classic uniprocessor clients) , and a single instance of classic uni on my older desktop (2.5 GHz WITH 512 MB RAM).

My question is, if I can and do want to spend more a little more money on the 3rd computer to help the FAH cause, what would you recommend investing in? I'm not interested in overclocking or anything complicated, thought I might be able to purchase & install more memory (I've done it once but it's been a while).
PantherX
Site Moderator
Hardware configuration: V7.6.21 -> Multi-purpose 24/7
Windows 10 64-bit
CPU:2/3/4/6 -> Intel i7-6700K
GPU:1 -> Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
§
Retired:
2x Nvidia GTX 1070
Nvidia GTX 675M
Nvidia GTX 660 Ti
Nvidia GTX 650 SC
Nvidia GTX 260 896 MB SOC
Nvidia 9600GT 1 GB OC
Nvidia 9500M GS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320 MB

Intel Core i7-860
Intel Core i7-3840QM
Intel i3-3240
Intel Core 2 Duo E8200
Intel Core 2 Duo E6550
Intel Core 2 Duo T8300
Intel Pentium E5500
Intel Pentium E5400

Re: NewB Q: which is more important CPU speed or RAM?

Post by PantherX »

For the Classic Client, CPU Speed is important and I think that 512 MB RAM is sufficient.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
Baowoulf
Hardware configuration: Pentium 4 2.8 GHz, 512MB DDR Ram, 128MB Radeon 9800, Creative Soundblaster Audigy 4 Pro

Post by Baowoulf »