GPU not working

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

dtallon13

GPU not working

Post by dtallon13 »

Hello,

I'm relatively new to this. I've been able to fold with CPU but GPU does not work.

I'm using an old dual Xeon system that I threw four GT210s in. F@H client sees them but tries to get the WUs from 0.0.0.0, how do I fix this?
Last edited by dtallon13 on Tue Feb 09, 2016 5:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dtallon13

Re: GPU not working

Post by dtallon13 »

Update: I also tested a Quadro FX 1700 (different machine too) and nothing happened. The only other GPUs I can borrow are Radeon X1300s from school. I did, however, get an AIO with a Radeon HD 7600A running both CPU and GPU.
Last edited by dtallon13 on Tue Feb 09, 2016 5:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Joe_H
Site Admin
Hardware configuration: Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp4
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp2

Post by Joe_H »

Welcome to the folding support forum.

Your GT 210 cards use Tesla based GPU's. These older pre-Fermi GPU's are only semi-supported for folding as the main projects that were assigned to them ran out about a year and a half ago. A few projects that use a later folding core can run on some pre-Fermi GPU's, but they are also approaching end of life. For assignment purposes these need to be opted into and require two additional options to be set.

If you want to opt in, add the following options to your GPU slots:

max-packet-size set to small

client-type set to beta

While the beta flag is being used in combination with the size setting, these WU's are no longer beta. The two settings together just are being used to indicate to the AS that you want to process these older projects.