Fahcore 21 on amd/nvidia

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Strife84

Fahcore 21 on amd/nvidia

Post by Strife84 »

Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum but I've been folding since 2013 on HD7950 (with many interrruptions). I've joined the forum because I'm very stubborn and I don't know anything about programming but there's one thing I would like to know. When I fold with HD7950 with the latest drivers, the "FahCore_21" uses only 0.5-1% of the cpu (i7-3770) on "full", but my brand new gtx 1060 (3gb version, 373.06 drivers) uses 10-11% of it. I've read here that you always need one core for every gpu installed but it slows down too much the entire rig and even using firefox becomes frustrating. Gtx drains less watts and makes more ppd, sure, but I feel like I've wasted money because on 7950 at full folding power, my pc is fast and runs flawless (I need it for my work). Will nvidia improve this "one cpu core for gpu" thing?
ComputerGenie

Re: Fahcore 21 on amd/nvidia

Post by ComputerGenie »

The "one cpu core for one gpu" thing isn't an NV thing, it's a folding thing; because of how folding works, 1 core needs to be dedicated to the gpu to supply the needed information to the gpu.
As for your usages, I am at a loss as to how you see a slow down with only 11% of a 1060 being used (or even why it's that low when set on "full") unless it's an issue with your motherboard not being able to handle the hardware you have attached to it.
Glennmas

Post by Glennmas »

I know why this happends but dont know a solution for it have seen the same happening on my gtx 1060 but it depends on the work unit in my case.
Glennmas

Post by Glennmas »

The cpu is being utilized 11procent for the data the gpu sends to the cpu. I think his gpu is being utilized for (almost) a 100 procent and thats what causes the lag.
Strife84

Post by Strife84 »