CPU Not Folding

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

CPU Not Folding

Postby CACruse » Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:49 pm

Hi,
Running 7.4.4 on Windows 10.
I does not appear that my CPU (i7-4790K), is folding, only my GPU.
Log attached.
Code: Select all
01:48:23:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
01:48:23:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
01:48:23:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
01:48:23:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
01:48:23:         Args: --open-web-control
01:48:23:       Config: C:/Users/Clint/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
01:48:23:******************************** Build ********************************
01:48:23:      Version: 7.4.4
01:48:23:         Date: Mar 4 2014
01:48:23:         Time: 20:26:54
01:48:23:      SVN Rev: 4130
01:48:23:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
01:48:23:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
01:48:23:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
01:48:23:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
01:48:23:     Platform: win32 XP
01:48:23:         Bits: 32
01:48:23:         Mode: Release
01:48:23:******************************* System ********************************
01:48:23:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz
01:48:23:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
01:48:23:         CPUs: 8
01:48:23:       Memory: 23.95GiB
01:48:23:  Free Memory: 19.12GiB
01:48:23:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
01:48:23:   OS Version: 6.2
01:48:23:  Has Battery: false
01:48:23:   On Battery: false
01:48:23:   UTC Offset: -5
01:48:23:          PID: 14292
01:48:23:          CWD: C:/Users/Clint/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
01:48:23:           OS: Windows 10 Home
01:48:23:      OS Arch: AMD64
01:48:23:         GPUs: 1
01:48:23:        GPU 0: ATI:5 Ellesmere XT [Radeon RX 470/480]
01:48:23:         CUDA: Not detected
01:48:23:Win32 Service: false
01:48:23:***********************************************************************
01:48:24:<config>
01:48:24:  <!-- Network -->
01:48:24:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
01:48:24:
01:48:24:  <!-- Slot Control -->
01:48:24:  <power v='full'/>
01:48:24:
01:48:24:  <!-- User Information -->
01:48:24:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
01:48:24:  <user v='Clint_Cruse'/>
01:48:24:
01:48:24:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
01:48:24:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
01:48:24:    <idle v='true'/>
01:48:24:  </slot>
01:48:24:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
01:48:24:    <idle v='true'/>
01:48:24:  </slot>
01:48:24:</config>
01:48:24:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
01:48:24:Updated GPUs.txt
01:48:24:Read GPUs.txt
01:48:24:Trying to access database...
01:48:24:Successfully acquired database lock
01:48:24:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:7 (waiting for idle)
01:48:24:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:Ellesmere XT [Radeon RX 470/480] (waiting for idle)
01:48:24:WARNING:WU02:FS01:Past final deadline 2017-04-17T02:26:43Z, dumping
01:48:24:WU02:FS01:Cleaning up
01:48:27:12:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
02:15:09:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:8080
02:15:09:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
02:15:10:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:8080': Empty work server assignment
02:15:10:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
02:15:10:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.157
02:15:10:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:Ellesmere XT [Radeon RX 470/480] from 171.67.108.157
02:15:10:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
02:15:10:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.64.65.35:80': Empty work server assignment
02:15:10:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment
02:15:11:WU01:FS01:Downloading 5.15MiB
02:15:11:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:8080
02:15:11:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:8080': Empty work server assignment
02:15:11:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
02:15:12:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.64.65.35:80': Empty work server assignment
02:15:12:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment
02:15:15:WU01:FS01:Download complete
02:15:15:WU01:FS01:Received Unit: id:01 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:9414 run:900 clone:0 gen:1 core:0x21 unit:0x00000004ab436c9d585e0696776044bb
02:15:15:WU01:FS01:Starting
02:15:15:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Clint/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 14292 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
02:15:15:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 14100
02:15:15:WU01:FS01:Core PID:12892
02:15:15:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2017-04-19T02:15:16Z ***********************
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:Project: 9414 (Run 900, Clone 0, Gen 1)
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:Unit: 0x00000004ab436c9d585e0696776044bb
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:Machine: 1
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file core.xml
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file integrator.xml
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file state.xml
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file system.xml
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:Digital signatures verified
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
02:15:16:WU01:FS01:0x21:Version 0.0.18
02:15:26:WU01:FS01:0x21:Completed 0 out of 6250000 steps (0%)
02:15:26:WU01:FS01:0x21:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900
02:16:11:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:8080
02:16:11:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:8080': Empty work server assignment
02:16:11:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
02:16:12:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.64.65.35:80': Empty work server assignment
02:16:12:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment
02:17:10:WU01:FS01:0x21:Completed 62500 out of 6250000 steps (1%)
02:17:48:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:8080
02:17:48:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:8080': Empty work server assignment
02:17:48:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
02:17:49:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.64.65.35:80': Empty work server assignment
02:17:49:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment
02:18:54:WU01:FS01:0x21:Completed 125000 out of 6250000 steps (2%)
02:20:25:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:8080
02:20:26:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:8080': Empty work server assignment
02:20:26:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
02:20:26:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.64.65.35:80': Empty work server assignment
02:20:26:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment
02:20:37:WU01:FS01:0x21:Completed 187500 out of 6250000 steps (3%)
02:22:21:WU01:FS01:0x21:Completed 250000 out of 6250000 steps (4%)
02:24:05:WU01:FS01:0x21:Completed 312500 out of 6250000 steps (5%)
02:24:39:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:8080
02:24:40:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:8080': Empty work server assignment
02:24:40:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
CACruse
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:20 pm

Re: CPU Not Folding

Postby Joe_H » Sat Apr 29, 2017 6:08 pm

Welcome to the folding support forum.

You have run into a problem that exists with the released version of the folding client. Use of CPU setting that are multiples of 7 is no longer happening with newer CPU projects, and very few if any WU's are left that will be assigned to that value. The client was coded when the restriction was on primes and their multiples that were 11 and larger.

There are a few ways to fix this. The easiest is to just move the slider from Full to Medium. That will reduce the request to CPU:6. Or you can set the CPU thread count to 6 for the CPU slot using Configure in FAHControl. Another option is to use the version of the client currently in public beta, 7.4.16. That has code to negotiate with the Assignment Servers for a WU which will use as many of the core threads available, up to the number requested.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: CPU Not Folding

Postby CACruse » Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:49 pm

I will set thread count to 6 and see if that solves the issue.
Thank you,
Clint
CACruse
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:20 pm

Re: CPU Not Folding

Postby Joe_H » Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:54 pm

You may need to pause the CPU slot and then set ti back to Fold afterwards. Sometimes the client immediately takes the change in request for number of threads, but other times the slot may stay stuck on the value set previously.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA


Return to New Donors start here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron