Logs

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Logs

Postby Ricorocks » Tue May 09, 2017 2:24 pm

Why such a small amount of info can be posted. You could archive or have a time limit before deleting. How can you determine what will fit here, and where to start copying for posting.

Using: untick Refresh > clear > refresh would require many individual posts with chunks of the log.

Any 3rd party apps that will count the number of characters in say NOTEPAD fah log?
User avatar
Ricorocks
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:49 pm
Location: Georgetown, Texas

Re: Logs

Postby Joe_H » Tue May 09, 2017 3:31 pm

That is unlikely to be changed, quite frankly we do not need the full log for troubleshooting an issue. That has been explained a number of times in different stickied topics including the posts in the Welcome topic on how to post a log.

Here is what we need:

The beginning section showing the client software information, system information and the client configuration.

A section of the log showing the problem, and error messages connected to that problem. In the case of a report of a problem with a specific WU, that could include from the download to where the error occurred. If it is a problem of credit, also show the section with WU completion and upload.

We do not need all of the progress steps reported in the log between the beginning and end, those can be snipped as long as no issues are being shown.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3885
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Logs

Postby bruce » Tue May 09, 2017 5:03 pm

Joe_H wrote:That is unlikely to be changed...


This site uses open source software called phpBB.

One built-in function is a limit to the size of posts.

Another built-in function is the ability to delete posts from a topic that are older than X, but that function does not work. Moreover it's does not selectively deal with logs; it would indiscriminately delete all posts in the chosen date range. We feel the ability to search previous discussion to see what has already been learned about a particular problem is valuable enough for us to keep old discussions. (We have to decide to manually delete individual "ancient" posts which clearly would provide no useful help to someone searching for information on a particular topic... like "I achieved a milestone of xxx" once it gets to be, say, a year old.)
bruce
 
Posts: 21413
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Logs

Postby Ricorocks » Wed May 10, 2017 12:33 am

Okay!

"The beginning section showing the client software information, system information and the client configuration." I can handle that

"A section of the log showing the problem, and error messages connected to that problem." Now it gets hard, useful clues to to know what/where problem is. Does it say "Error" then post before & after the word "Error." Other tips for discerning what relevant part of the log, to post would be useful.

Thanks
User avatar
Ricorocks
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:49 pm
Location: Georgetown, Texas

Re: Logs

Postby Joe_H » Wed May 10, 2017 2:35 pm

You basically answered your own question. Yes, it often has an "error" message or "warning", something that breaks from the steady indication of completing one percentage of the WU after another.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3885
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Logs

Postby Ricorocks » Wed May 10, 2017 7:37 pm

Thanks! Joe_H,

Note this log was made when discovered idle GTX 1050ti or yellow circle at web control

Is this my error at 23:19:50 """""NOTE this is just Practice, for the future so as to supply the correct portion of log"""""

13:02:22:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Saving result file md.log
13:02:22:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Saving result file science.log
13:02:22:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Saving result file traj_comp.xtc
13:02:23:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Folding@home Core Shutdown: FINISHED_UNIT
13:02:23:WU01:FS00:FahCore returned: FINISHED_UNIT (100 = 0x64)
13:02:23:WU01:FS00:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:NO_ERROR project:8671 run:65 clone:4 gen:54 core:0xa7 unit:0x000000410002894b5824a032b0befbb2
13:02:23:WU01:FS00:Uploading 4.26MiB to 155.247.166.219
13:02:23:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 155.247.166.219:8080
13:02:23:WU02:FS00:Starting
13:02:23:WARNING:WU02:FS00:AS lowered CPUs from 7 to 6
13:02:23:WU02:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\Aileen\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Win32/AMD64/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 3604 -checkpoint 15 -np 6
13:02:23:WU02:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 544
13:02:23:WU02:FS00:Core PID:5108
13:02:23:WU02:FS00:FahCore 0xa7 started
13:02:24:WU02:FS00:0xa7:*********************** Log Started 2017-05-07T13:02:23Z *********

23:19:50:ERROR:WU01:FS00:Exception: Server did not assign work unit
23:19:50:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:8080
23:19:50:WU01:FS00:Assigned to work server 128.252.203.4
23:19:50:WU01:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: RUNNING cpu:7 from 128.252.203.4
23:19:50:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 128.252.203.4:8080
23:19:50:WU01:FS00:Downloading 7.32MiB
23:19:56:WU01:FS00:Download 54.61%
23:20:00:WU01:FS00:Download complete
23:20:00:WU01:FS00:Received Unit: id:01 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:13804 run:0 clone:2307 gen:11 core:0xa7 unit:0x0000000c80fccb0458dc0070dea92b51
23:31:17:WU02:FS00:0xa4:Completed 2500000 out of 2500000 steps (100%)
23:31:17:WU02:FS00:0xa4:DynamicWrapper: Finished Work Unit: sleep=10000
User avatar
Ricorocks
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:49 pm
Location: Georgetown, Texas

Re: Logs

Postby bruce » Wed May 10, 2017 8:27 pm

That would be a reasonable log extract ... except you still need to also post the first 100 or so lines after a Refresh in FAHControl ... generally ending with "hh:mm:ss:</config>" unless the next log segment happens to include information associated with the issue you're posting about. A little extra never hurts.

As you point out, it's difficult to provide general rules that define precisely what will be needed in all cases.
bruce
 
Posts: 21413
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Logs

Postby Ricorocks » Thu May 11, 2017 1:50 am

Thanks! Joe & Bruce
User avatar
Ricorocks
 
Posts: 298
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:49 pm
Location: Georgetown, Texas

Re: Logs

Postby rwh202 » Fri May 12, 2017 5:59 am

That log extract does have an error, but rather benign and nothing to do with a stalled GPU.
You would also want to consider when a slot stops messages altogether and see the last messages before it breaks. (Errors can only be reported if it's still running in a state able to report or has triggered some error catching code - it's possible for things to fall through gaps in the code responsible for this)
To do that quickly, the log can be filtered to the required slot or just look for fs01 etc in the lines.
rwh202
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 8:51 pm
Location: South Coast, UK


Return to New Donors start here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron