CPU folding to OFF?

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

CPU folding to OFF?

Postby Ricorocks » Sun May 21, 2017 12:37 am

I have two machines with two GPUs

1. i73770 3.4 GHZ (CPU-6) has GTX 960 & 1060

2. Xenon T3500 2.8 GHZ has two GTX 1070's

Should I turn off CPU folding? Any guess's how many points would be sacrificed? How do you turn on & off CPU folding?

Thanks
User avatar
Ricorocks
 
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2016 1:49 pm
Location: Georgetown, Texas

Re: CPU folding to OFF?

Postby ChristianVirtual » Sun May 21, 2017 1:12 am

The simple way: run a few days with CPU slot on and write down the PPD; then run a few days paused CPU slot and compare the PPD.

Whatever is higher choose.

If you decide for yourself the PPD without cpu slot is better you can just leave the CPU slot and put an option "pause-on-start" with "true" and keep it paused. Or remove the CPU slot complete.

On your i7 I think and additional CPU slot with 4 would be positive for PPD. On the T3500 not so sure.
ImageImage
Please contribute your logs to http://ppd.fahmm.net
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1475
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京

Re: CPU folding to OFF?

Postby foldy » Sun May 21, 2017 3:46 pm

If you are concerned about power usage and try to reduce electricity cost then removing the CPU slot is an option because GPU folding is more efficient then CPU folding.

The W3530 Xeon 2.8Ghz on T3500 has 8 threads and is similar to the i7 3770 so also CPU-6 with 2 GPUs running which is the default.
foldy
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm


Return to New Donors start here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron