WU's Not Being Assigned

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

WU's Not Being Assigned

Postby noob_for_life » Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:44 am

I have restarted and I'm still not receiving work units. The Chrome page works fine. But, FAH Control just shows lots of

07:02:17:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment
07:20:14:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:8080
07:20:14:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.67.108.45:8080': Empty work server assignment
07:20:14:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.35:80
07:20:15:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Failed to get assignment from '171.64.65.35:80': Empty work server assignment
07:20:15:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: Could not get an assignment

In the log
noob_for_life
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2017 6:45 pm

Re: WU's Not Being Assigned by 171.67.108.102/171.67.108.105

Postby Ricky » Mon Jun 26, 2017 11:26 am

noob_for_life,

Do you have 7 threads for your CPU that you are trying to fold in slot 00? If so, it is hard to get assignments that work with primes larger than 5. If this is your issue, you can try the 7.4.16 client that will automatically reduce the slot setting for work units that are available, or you can manually reduce the slot setting in the 7.4.4 client to a value that has no prime factor larger than 5.
Ricky
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 1:34 am
Location: New Mexico

Re: WU's Not Being Assigned

Postby Joe_H » Mon Jun 26, 2017 1:26 pm

@noob_for_life

I have split this off from where you posted, your problem is unrelated to that topic. The two Assignment Servers your system have been connecting to are not able to match your configuration with available work on Work Servers, that is the meaning of the "Empty work server" message. The topic you posted in was about specific Work Servers not assigning work after the AS had connected the client to them. Ricky has given you the same information as Bruce gave to you in response to your previous post with the same problem - viewtopic.php?f=96&t=30040&p=295841#p295841.

A quick way of determining if this is your problem is to pause the CPU folding slot, change the setting of the slider and then resume. If the slider is set at Full, move it to Medium or Light. The log should show the client requesting a WU for a CPU thread count that is a multiple of 2, 3 and/or 5. Multiples of primes larger than that will not get assigned WU's using the 7.4.4 client, the newer beta client 7.4.16 has code to negotiate with the AS for a WU with a CPU thread setting that is as high as possible up to the number set in the request.

Or you can post the first 100 or so line of your log to show your system info and configuration. We can make suggestions based on the information that shows.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3885
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA


Return to New Donors start here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron