WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby bruce » Fri Aug 04, 2017 8:54 pm

You'll have to tell me how I can reproduce the problem on my system.
bruce
 
Posts: 21278
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby foldinghomealone2 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 1:27 pm

I don't know how you can reproduce the problem on your system.

I made almost 80Mio Points with my 1070 w/o any major issues but this behaviour is completely new

I checked GPU.txt. Some GPUs have several entries. What is the reason for that?
Is the Aorus 1080 TI Extreme Edition properly supported?
foldinghomealone2
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby bruce » Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:06 pm

foldinghomealone2 wrote:I checked GPU.txt. Some GPUs have several entries. What is the reason for that?


A GPU manufacturer assigns binary codes to unique hardware, not just a model number. e.g- they may distinguish between various VRAM configurations -- which FAH doesn't care about -- but we have to have a GPUs.txt entry for them all. Model numbers are a rather poor method of knowing which devices are "the same" from FAH's perspective.

Run GPU-Z Ior other GPU detection software) and it will tell you the binary codes for your GPU which have to match the left two columns of GPUs.txt,
bruce
 
Posts: 21278
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby Joe_H » Mon Aug 07, 2017 7:30 pm

Another issue is reuse of model numbers for cards using different GPU chips and released many months apart. For example, the nVidia GT 630 has been released several times based on two different Fermi chips and two different Kepler architecture chips. Same happened with the GT 640.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3814
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby bruce » Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:49 pm

The reverse is also true. Often a GPU is "re-branded" with a model number of the next generation with no significant changes.
bruce
 
Posts: 21278
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby foldinghomealone2 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:50 pm

Thanks for the explaination. GPU ID fits to GPU.txt
foldinghomealone2
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby foldy » Tue Aug 15, 2017 1:07 pm

Looks the same like viewtopic.php?f=96&t=30114&start=30
Folding works then after PC restart folding fails with Error initializing context: clCreateContext (999)

Maybe it is not the OpenCL.dll interface from Windows\SysWow64 (that is 32bit version) but the nvopencl.dll runtime version which makes a problem.
Can you check if that file changes version after a Windows reboot?
Should be nvopencl.dll CUDA 9.0.125 OpenCL 1.2 with latest driver. (CUDA runtime already 9.0 but FAH uses the OpenCL)
foldy
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby foldinghomealone2 » Tue Aug 29, 2017 8:06 pm

Sorry for the late reply but I haven't rebooted my system for quite a while. Never touch a running system...

Long story short, no, nvopencl.dll doesn't change after a reboot

-

After a reboot I need to uninstall and reinstall FAHclient
During a uninstallation, only files in FAH-folder are deleted and files in start menue and screensaver. At least according to log after uninstallation is finished.
Therefore I assume that only those same files are installed after a reinstallation.

Can it be that files from FAHclient-folder crash during a reboot?
foldinghomealone2
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby bruce » Thu Aug 31, 2017 2:01 am

Can you guarantee that the OS's definition of PATH does not change with a reboot? That can alter which *.dll's are invoked when there's more than one version on your system.
bruce
 
Posts: 21278
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby toTOW » Sat Sep 02, 2017 11:23 pm

Where did you install the client (and its data folder) ?

Nowhere in your logs I can find this kind of information: 20:25:21:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: D:\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe D:\FAHClientData\cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 2648 -checkpoint 15 -gpu-vendor nvidia -opencl-platform 0 -opencl-device 0 -cuda-device 0 -gpu 0 ... :(
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8914
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby foldinghomealone2 » Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:06 am

Meanwhile I have installed it on various locations with different client versions and express and manually and all the same.
And for sure I can't guarantee for what I don't know the OS is doing.

Ok, I don't know what to do about and it seems nobody else. No Problem.
Luckily reinstalling of FAH takes only about two minutes, so everytime I reboot, I reinstall the client.
No proper solution but at least a work-around that works so far.
Thanks for your help
foldinghomealone2
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby calxalot » Mon Sep 04, 2017 9:24 pm

What happens if you manually quit the client (from tray icon), wait for fahcores to exit, then restart Windows?

As I recall, when Windows does a restart after software update, processes may be killed suddenly.
calxalot
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 1:33 am
Location: San Francisco

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby foldinghomealone2 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:58 am

After every restart I have to reinstall
foldinghomealone2
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:40 pm

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby toTOW » Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:58 pm

Do you have some security solution or policy that could restore some parts of the system (and files) to a defined state at every reboot ?
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8914
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: WU fails repeatedly - FAHclient needs to be reinstalled

Postby foldinghomealone2 » Wed Sep 20, 2017 7:35 pm

I thought about sth like that but now I'm already used to reinstall the client after every reboot. It takes less than 2 minutes.
As I'm folding 24/7 right now I don't restart often.

Don't worry, I can live with it right now.
Thank you all for your help.
foldinghomealone2
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 8:40 pm

PreviousNext

Return to New Donors start here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yandex [Bot] and 2 guests

cron