GPU Usage in FaH-dedicated HW-Setup

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

contrib854

GPU Usage in FaH-dedicated HW-Setup

Post by contrib854 »

Hello,

I am new to folding and I would like to contribute.

First experiments with my laptop showed that the utilization of my working machine for folding is not very practical for some reasons.

Hence I decided to setup a box especially for FaH with a low cost CPU and low power consumption - the latter is very important here in Germany due to high energy cost - on a 24/7 schedule under Linux Ubuntu. I still have to obtain the hardware so my hardware decisions are still open.

For this setup I figured out two reasonable CPU's:
- Intel Celeron J3455 with a 10 Watt TDP at base frequency, but the on chip integrated CPU is not utilizable in FaH.
- AMD Athlon 5350 , Kabini core, on chip integrated GPU Radeon HD 8400 with a 25 Watt TDP. This 15 W extra consumption makes already over 30 EUR extra cost per year.
Apart from the iGPU the two CPUs show with respect to the benchmarks almost the same computing power.

Both CPUs could be used with boxes in miniITX and microATX form factors, the primer with the advantage of a much smaller box size, the latter with the possibility of the integration of an aditional descrete GPU in the box.
In addition Intel sells for the Celeron a cheap nice tiny Barebone box which would be the easiest setup at all.

Ok, with this informations I would like to ask you for some additional information which I could not figure out to make the most efficient provisioning decision:
- Would the iGPU of the Athlon utilizable for FaH to justify the 15 W extra power consumption?
I downdloaded the latest GPU.txt but I could not interpret it in this respect.