A few newbie questions

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

acnash
Hardware configuration: 32x Intel (R) Xeon (R) CPU E5-2687W 0 @ 3.10GHz
125.88GiB
1 Nvidia GeForce GTX 970
Mint Linux ver 18

A few newbie questions

Post by acnash »

Hi all,

I'm brand new to the Folding@Home community and I'm very excited to learn more. I have a few newbie questions concerning the underlying simulation calculations and I apologise in advance if they've been asked before. I'm a computational chemist with over 8 years of experience using Gromacs, so I was very pleased to see the all familiar "mdrun" executable in the FAHControl Log console. My questions are similarly related.

1) Gromacs kicks out .xtc and/or .trr files according to output coordinate and velocity settings in an .mdp file. Is FAHControl writing these files to my disk? If so, where, how often and I assume it must delete them at some stage.

2) After a task has finished running what is copied off my machine? A .cpt file?

3) Unless something changed in Gromacs 2018 that I don't know of, GPUs are used to handle the long-range electrostatic interactions, whilst interactions within the vdw cut-off are handled by the CPUs. If I have CPUs and a GPU on my folding box will only one task be assigned across both CPU and GPU or can separate tasks (two separate mdrun calculations) be allocated, one to the CPUs and another to the GPU i.e., two different project codes? I ask because my GPU is not great, and I know from running my own calculations that if I involve GPU calculations it will slow down the performance of my CPUs.

Thanks
Anthony
bruce

Re: A few newbie questions

Post by bruce »

Yes, and No.