A client which doesn't send WUs for GPU?

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

WindySilver

A client which doesn't send WUs for GPU?

Post by WindySilver »

Hi there!

I'm new to F@H and I've got one question: is there a client version which doesn't send Work Units for GPU? I'd like to use only my CPU for this at least for now and I don't want my unprocessed GPU WUs holding the project back.
Sven

Re: A client which doesn't send WUs for GPU?

Post by Sven »

Yes, the normal client can be configured to only use the CPU. You find that option under "Configure - Slots", there you can remove the gpu slot and you fold cpu only.

Is there a reason to do so, just curious?
bruce

Post by bruce »

To avoid holding the project back, use the FINISH option to complete the current GPU WU and pause. Then delete the slot.

If you can't do that, at least it's only one WU.
WindySilver

Post by WindySilver »

Okay, thanks!

For the reason of not using my GPU for this at the moment: Certain applications (mostly certain games, also Blender and apparently Discord for some reason as well) have triggered a weird issue on my laptop ever since Windows 10 Anniversary update. I've come to suspect that it gets triggered at least by GPU-heavy tasks, since at those it appears most often, so I'll play it safe with FAH and hopefully avoid the issue manifesting itself because of it. The issue I have can be fixed with a BIOS update but it will wait until I have easy access to another computer which is not a half-brick in case the update goes wrong. I don't want to risk bricking this one before that.
bruce

Post by bruce »

Windows update frequently disrupts the OpenCL drivers for NVidia which essentially distroys GPU folding. I'd have to guess that your GPU observations are related to that issue.

Go to nvidia.com and install drivers from there. My GUESS is that'll fix the problem.