Multiple different GPUs and CPU bottleneck

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

seecker

Multiple different GPUs and CPU bottleneck

Post by seecker »

Hello everyone!

I've been folding for a few months now on an extra system I had. The system is comprised of an i5 2500k @4.3GHz stock voltage, GTX 970 from MSI and 8Gb of RAM. Plus I have a GTX 960 2Gb that was around so I stuck that in there but Windows 10 being windows 10, it didn't want to work.
Therefore I opened up a Dell slim unit with an E8300 CPU, added a 430w PSU that I shorted to power the GTX 960 and ran both systems with the same name, passkey, etc.
I was getting 300k on the 970 and 170k on the 960.

The other day I got around to DDU-ing (Display Driver uninstall) Windows 10 in the i5 machine, installed both cards, got the latest drivers and it works, I can now fold on both cards at the same time. Thing is, my total PPD is only 440k. Not the 470k I was expecting.

The i5 2500k is now running at a constant 50%ish usage, and I wanted to know if that was the bottleneck. FYI I'm not folding on the CPU, I know it's kinda useless.

The next revision of this system will happen in 2 to 3 months when I get back another system I borrowed to a friend with a Xeon 2660 8c/16t with 24Gb of RAM and the GPUs will be 2xGTX 970 to fold. If the i5 2500k is the bottleneck, will the Xeon 2660 bottleneck the system too?
(Note: if my PSU can hold it up, I'll add the GTX 960 to fold in the same CP, so 2x970 and 1x960 in this system, no CPU folding).

It's possible I didn't make myself clear, if so, let me know!

Best regards and looking forward to your advised answers,

seecker
Team 229844 (PC in question is SeeckerPhiPhi)
foldy
Hardware configuration: Folding@Home Client 7.6.13 (1 GPU slots)
Windows 7 64bit
Intel Core i5 2500k@4Ghz
Nvidia gtx 1080ti driver 441

Re: Multiple different GPUs and CPU bottleneck