192.0.2.1 and 0.0.0.0 cannot assign a work server cycle on G

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: 192.0.2.1 and 0.0.0.0 cannot assign a work server cycle

Postby oshura » Sat Feb 29, 2020 10:28 pm

Hi there, I am having a similar issue. I just purchased a Dell T3600 and put in a MSI Radeon HD 7850 to serve as my primary GPU with the ATI/Dell (?) FirePro 2270 in the computer too in the hopes of using both GPUs to fold. I have three folding slots with two of them running and the third one just sitting at ready.

OI am able to access the assignment folder. If someone could please assist me, I would be really grateful. It's a shame to have it just sit there not being able to get anything.
oshura
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 10:50 am

Re: 192.0.2.1 and 0.0.0.0 cannot assign a work server cycle

Postby Joe_H » Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:54 pm

Welcome to the folding forum.

Your FirePro 2270 is too old and does not support double precision calculations, so it will not be assigned work. The last GPU projects that did not require DP ended sometime last year.

Your Radeon 7850 is still supported, so the slot for it should be getting assignments along with your CPU.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6522
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: 192.0.2.1 and 0.0.0.0 cannot assign a work server cycle

Postby bruce » Sun Mar 01, 2020 12:25 am

We need to confirm that you have OpenCL drivers associated with the video drivers for your Radeon 7850. The easiest way to give us the information we need is to post the first couple of pages of the log in the FAH Data folder (see below). Otherwise, find the required OpenCL drivers for your OS and install them.
bruce
 
Posts: 19816
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: 192.0.2.1 and 0.0.0.0 cannot assign a work server cycle

Postby toTOW » Sun Mar 01, 2020 4:16 pm

oshura wrote:Hi there, I am having a similar issue. I just purchased a Dell T3600 and put in a MSI Radeon HD 7850 to serve as my primary GPU with the ATI/Dell (?) FirePro 2270 in the computer too in the hopes of using both GPUs to fold. I have three folding slots with two of them running and the third one just sitting at ready.

OI am able to access the assignment folder. If someone could please assist me, I would be really grateful. It's a shame to have it just sit there not being able to get anything.

I guess that the two working slots are a CPU one, and a GPU one for the HD 7850 ... the one sitting Ready is the one for the FirePro 2270 which is way too old to be supported.
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 5640
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: 192.0.2.1 and 0.0.0.0 cannot assign a work server cycle

Postby ZepOz » Sun Apr 19, 2020 4:08 am

Seems to be the place for this question!

Radeon GeForce 9500 GT now too old?
ZepOz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 4:06 am

Re: 192.0.2.1 and 0.0.0.0 cannot assign a work server cycle

Postby PantherX » Sun Apr 19, 2020 4:14 am

Welcome to the F@H Forum ZepOz,

Please note that your GPU, GeForce 9500 GT (there's no Radeon as it's an AMD Brand, not a Nvidia brand) doesn't support OpenCL 1.2 and Double Precision: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/g ... 0-gt.c3373
Hence it can't fold :(

However, you can still fold on your CPU :)
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6539
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: 192.0.2.1 and 0.0.0.0 cannot assign a work server cycle

Postby ZepOz » Sun Apr 19, 2020 2:06 pm

Thanks for the update. Pity about the GPU, but there you go. I'll keep my i7 CPUs running nevertheless. Every bit helps.

As an aside, there must be dozens of older models of GPUs now not qualified of which there could be millions probably sitting fairly idle that could nevertheless be employed doing some WU's somehow. Probably still a lot more powerful than plain CPUs. Any chance of some sort pf "lower spec" folding engine for the older, lower-spec GPUs?
ZepOz
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2020 4:06 am

Re: 192.0.2.1 and 0.0.0.0 cannot assign a work server cycle

Postby PantherX » Sun Apr 19, 2020 10:53 pm

ZepOz wrote:...As an aside, there must be dozens of older models of GPUs now not qualified of which there could be millions probably sitting fairly idle that could nevertheless be employed doing some WU's somehow. Probably still a lot more powerful than plain CPUs. Any chance of some sort pf "lower spec" folding engine for the older, lower-spec GPUs?

The previous model GPUs would work on FahCore_21 but the Projects that use them finished up late last year/early this year. Hence F@H doesn't support them.

The Project determines which FahCore to use. Generally speaking, each FahCore has different scientific capabilities and features. Thus, if researchers need feature X, they will use FahCore X. In this case, all COVID-19 projects are FahCore_22 (Modern GPUs) or FahCore_a7 (Several CPUs).
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6539
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Previous

Return to New Donors start here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Rel25917 and 2 guests

cron