Remote Access over the internet

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

hormelspam552

Remote Access over the internet

Post by hormelspam552 »

Hey there,

I recently worked through how to connect a client to my main computer on a local, home internet network. I'm still new to this IP and network config stuff though, so I was wondering if someone could give me a step-by-step guide on how to remote access over the internet rather than on a local network. The reason why I ask is because I want to remote monitor the FAH client folding under my name over at my Dad's house on my main computer at my house. I've heard that it takes quite a bit of config to get right with port and IP stuff, but with this stay-at-home order I got plenty of time. I want to remote monitor the PC myself rather than just let it fold under my name without remote access because my dad is not really tech-oriented, and he's only on his computer like an hour a day, so he can't monitor it for me.

I have full administrator permissions on both computers as well as complete access to the routers and local networks at both houses, plus a ton of free time, so none of that should be a problem.

Thanks in advance.
PantherX
Site Moderator
Hardware configuration: V7.6.21 -> Multi-purpose 24/7
Windows 10 64-bit
CPU:2/3/4/6 -> Intel i7-6700K
GPU:1 -> Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti
§
Retired:
2x Nvidia GTX 1070
Nvidia GTX 675M
Nvidia GTX 660 Ti
Nvidia GTX 650 SC
Nvidia GTX 260 896 MB SOC
Nvidia 9600GT 1 GB OC
Nvidia 9500M GS
Nvidia 8800GTS 320 MB

Intel Core i7-860
Intel Core i7-3840QM
Intel i3-3240
Intel Core 2 Duo E8200
Intel Core 2 Duo E6550
Intel Core 2 Duo T8300
Intel Pentium E5500
Intel Pentium E5400

Re: Remote Access over the internet

Post by PantherX »