Page 1 of 1

Update from 7.5.1 to 7.6.9 on Kubuntu 18.04.4 LTS did not wo

Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2020 8:35 am
by panonymous
Hello everyone,

I'm having trouble updating the FAHClient from 7.5.1 to 7.6.9 on Kubuntu 18.04.4 LTS.

What I did:

Code: Select all

1. Downloaded Ubuntu packages from https://foldingathome.org/start-folding/
2. dpkg -i fahclient_7.6.9_amd64.deb
3. dpkg -i fahcontrol_7.6.9-1_all.deb
4. dpkg -i fahviewer_7.6.9_amd64.deb
5. systemctl start FAHClient
6. As a normal user: FAHControl
Expected behaviour:
FAHControl shows up, connects to FAHClient and continues the work it has received when 7.5.1 was installed.

Observed behaviour:
FAHControl shows up, but is not able to connect to localhost:36330
/var/lib/fahclient/log.txt only showed the normal fahclient output (searching for work assignments etc).

Also: When removing 7.6.9 and reinstalling 7.5.1 the gpu work unit that was in progress seems to be lost. Even though I saved /var/lib/fahclient beforehand and did a diff of the directories ...

Re: Update from 7.5.1 to 7.6.9 on Kubuntu 18.04.4 LTS did no

Posted: Tue Apr 21, 2020 6:50 am
by scic0
I also faced the same problem. What you can try is open

Code: Select all

htop
in a terminal and filter with 'FAH' and then in another terminal go to

Code: Select all

/etc/init.d
and try running

Code: Select all

./FAHClient stop
and check if all the processes of FaH exit (in htop). If any process is still running,

Code: Select all

kill
it manually. Then start the client using

Code: Select all

./FAHClient start
.

You can also

Code: Select all

tail
the FaH logs at

Code: Select all

/var/lib/fahclient/log.txt
and check what is happening as you run these commands.

In my case, some of the processes of FAH were not exiting properly, hence on restarting FAHClient, it was not able to bind to the ports 7396 (For Web Control) and 36330 (For FAH Advanced Control)

Hope this helps!! :)

Re: Update from 7.5.1 to 7.6.9 on Kubuntu 18.04.4 LTS did no

Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2020 2:11 pm
by panonymous
scic0 thanks for your help! :-) With a newer version (7.6.13) the problem did not appear any more.