Page 1 of 1

GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:00 pm
by LegallyTheBear
GPU is not showing in system info:

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2020-04-20T16:51:35Z ***********************
16:51:35:****************************** FAHClient ******************************
16:51:35:      Version: 7.6.9
16:51:35:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
16:51:35:    Copyright: 2020 foldingathome.org
16:51:35:     Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
16:51:35:         Date: Apr 17 2020
16:51:35:         Time: 11:13:06
16:51:35:     Revision: 398c2b17fa535e0cc6c9d10856b2154c32771646
16:51:35:       Branch: master
16:51:35:     Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
16:51:35:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
16:51:35:     Platform: win32 10
16:51:35:         Bits: 32
16:51:35:         Mode: Release
16:51:35:       Config: C:\Users\Sonny\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
16:51:35:******************************** CBang ********************************
16:51:35:         Date: Apr 17 2020
16:51:35:         Time: 11:10:09
16:51:35:     Revision: 2fb0be7809c5e45287a122ca5fbc15b5ae859a3b
16:51:35:       Branch: master
16:51:35:     Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
16:51:35:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
16:51:35:     Platform: win32 10
16:51:35:         Bits: 32
16:51:35:         Mode: Release
16:51:35:******************************* System ********************************
16:51:35:          CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 2700 Eight-Core Processor
16:51:35:       CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 23 Model 8 Stepping 2
16:51:35:         CPUs: 16
16:51:35:       Memory: 15.95GiB
16:51:35:  Free Memory: 9.92GiB
16:51:35:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
16:51:35:   OS Version: 6.2
16:51:35:  Has Battery: false
16:51:35:   On Battery: false
16:51:35:   UTC Offset: 1
16:51:35:          PID: 17660
16:51:35:          CWD: C:\Users\Sonny\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
16:51:35:           OS: Windows 10 Home
16:51:35:      OS Arch: AMD64
16:51:35:         GPUs: 1
16:51:35:        GPU 0: Bus:28 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 TU106 [GeForce RTX 2070] M 6497
16:51:35:CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:28 Slot:0 Compute:7.5 Driver:11.0
16:51:35:       OpenCL: Not detected: clGetPlatformIDs() returned -1001
16:51:35:Win32 Service: false
16:51:35:******************************* libFAH ********************************
16:51:35:         Date: Apr 15 2020
16:51:35:         Time: 14:53:14
16:51:35:     Revision: 216968bc7025029c841ed6e36e81a03a316890d3
16:51:35:       Branch: master
16:51:35:     Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
16:51:35:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
16:51:35:     Platform: win32 10
16:51:35:         Bits: 32
16:51:35:         Mode: Release
16:51:35:***********************************************************************
04:54:11:<config>
04:54:11:  <!-- Network -->
04:54:11:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
04:54:11:
04:54:11:  <!-- Slot Control -->
04:54:11:  <pause-on-battery v='false'/>
04:54:11:
04:54:11:  <!-- User Information -->
04:54:11:  <passkey v='*****'/>
04:54:11:  <team v='225605'/>
04:54:11:  <user v='LegallyTheBear'/>
04:54:11:
04:54:11:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
04:54:11:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
04:54:11:    <paused v='true'/>
04:54:11:  </slot>
04:54:11:</config>


I am able to manually add a GPU, once its found a task it downloads it then the moment its about to fold

The error I get:
Code: Select all
06:20:00:WU02:FS01:0x22:Folding@home GPU Core22 Folding@home Core
06:20:00:WU02:FS01:0x22:Version 0.0.2
06:20:00:WU02:FS01:0x22:ERROR:exception: There is no registered Platform called "OpenCL"
06:20:00:WU02:FS01:0x22:Saving result file ..\logfile_01.txt
06:20:00:WU02:FS01:0x22:Saving result file science.log
06:20:00:WU02:FS01:0x22:Folding@home Core Shutdown: BAD_WORK_UNIT
06:20:00:WARNING:WU02:FS01:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
06:20:00:WU02:FS01:Sending unit results: id:02 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:11759 run:0 clone:2229 gen:44 core:0x22 unit:0x0000004d80fccb0a5e6d7c9845565ceb


I have the latest NVIDIA Drivers, I've attempted to uninstall and reinstall, manually add the GPU.TXT File, change the opencl and cuda to 0 and 1 from -1 but doing that doesn't fix it either.

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:13 pm
by Neil-B
Failry sure Joe_H posted the "fix" for this 7.6.9 client in another thread … It did involve GPU.txt - iirc there was a reboot as well … I'll see if I can find it.

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:16 pm
by LegallyTheBear
Neil-B wrote:Failry sure Joe_H posted the "fix" for this 7.6.9 client in another thread … It did involve GPU.txt - iirc there was a reboot as well … I'll see if I can find it.


I've attempted doing the GPU.txt fix and rebooting my PC but this did not fix the issue

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:20 pm
by ajm
The error is there:
Code: Select all
16:51:35:       OpenCL: Not detected: clGetPlatformIDs() returned -1001


It may be the result of a known issue in FAH 7.6.9.

I would first ensure that you really have installed the drivers, incl. OpenCL. In Windows 10, right clic on the start button -> Device Manager -> Display Adaptors -> right clic on your GPU, chose Properties -> tab Driver -> button Driver details - you should see 2 OpenCL.dll (one 32 and one 64 bit). If not, you have to reinstall the drivers. If you do, it's better to first uninstall FAH (also click the checkbox "data"), and only reinstall it after a reboot following the drivers' installation.

Then I would recommend using rather the version 7.6.10 of FAH: https://foldingathome.org/beta/
According to some, it doesn't have that GPU issue. The older version 7.5.1 is better still (maybe you downloaded it in the past?)

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:23 pm
by Neil-B
Ah … it wasn't Joe_H but PantherX here https://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=106&t=34493#p327123 but if you have tried that and the latest drivers I'm stumped (but that is easy to do) … It feels like the OpenCL drivers are missing/not install/not identified correctly but someone will know how to sort it - Sorry I couldn't be any help.

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:31 pm
by LegallyTheBear
ajm wrote:The error is there:
Code: Select all
16:51:35:       OpenCL: Not detected: clGetPlatformIDs() returned -1001


It may be the result of a known issue in FAH 7.6.9.

I would first ensure that you really have installed the drivers, incl. OpenCL. In Windows 10, right clic on the start button -> Device Manager -> Display Adaptors -> right clic on your GPU, chose Properties -> tab Driver -> button Driver details - you should see 2 OpenCL.dll (one 32 and one 64 bit). If not, you have to reinstall the drivers. If you do, it's better to first uninstall FAH (also click the checkbox "data"), and only reinstall it after a reboot following the drivers' installation.

Then I would recommend using rather the version 7.6.10 of FAH: https://foldingathome.org/beta/
According to some, it doesn't have that GPU issue. The older version 7.5.1 is better still (maybe you downloaded it in the past?)


Check it and yes I do have the OpenCL.dll's
I have installed the beta version but now i get this:
17:30:23:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 1 not found, make sure the OpenCL driver is installed or try setting 'opencl-index' manually
17:30:23:WU01:FS01:Starting
17:30:23:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 1 not found, make sure the OpenCL driver is installed or try setting 'opencl-index' manually


I had gotten this before so I manually switched the OpenCL value to 0 which then gave me the error I originally posted about.

I had the old version before but had this error as well so I was told to update to the current version (Non Beta)

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:35 pm
by ajm
Did you uninstall (incl. Data) and reinstall, or just upgraded?
If you just upgraded, the faulty configuration may have affected the new installation. The client does a better job at detecting the hardware from scratch than at adapting to any changes.

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:46 pm
by LegallyTheBear
ajm wrote:Did you uninstall (incl. Data) and reinstall, or just upgraded?
If you just upgraded, the faulty configuration may have affected the new installation. The client does a better job at detecting the hardware from scratch than at adapting to any changes.


Yes I did remove all data with the uninstall

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 6:55 pm
by ajm
Well. Then I would recommend uninstalling the drivers (Device Manager, Uninstall device), reboot, and reinstall the latest from Nvidia: https://www.nvidia.fr/Download/index.aspx (you do have a Nvidia graphics card, right?). This after having uninstalled FAH again. And then reinstall 7.5.1. That would be the safest bet.

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 7:00 pm
by ajm
You also could run a scannow to check whether your Windows is missing something. Search "cmd", click "Run as administrator". In the command prompt, type:
Code: Select all
sfc /scannow


When the scan is over, run this, too:
Code: Select all
sfc /verifylonly


At the end, you should have a message telling that no problem has been found.

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 7:37 pm
by ajm
Another thing. I never saw that in Windows, but in Linux, that error can come from a permission problem: FAH hat to run as root to access OpenCL. If your Windows account doesn't have Admin privilege (search "your info", it should say "Administrator" under your username), it might produce the same result, for the installer will make FAH run under your username (check: Task Manager -> Details).

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 8:04 pm
by LegallyTheBear
ajm wrote:Another thing. I never saw that in Windows, but in Linux, that error can come from a permission problem: FAH hat to run as root to access OpenCL. If your Windows account doesn't have Admin privilege (search "your info", it should say "Administrator" under your username), it might produce the same result, for the installer will make FAH run under your username (check: Task Manager -> Details).


Hey!

I had tried uninstalling Drivers last time but that didn't work, however, I used DDU to make sure every single trace of every driver was gone then I used the beta version and its now working.
GPU folding is amazing! My CPU has a estimated of 60k points per day and my GPU has 1.3 million :eo

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 8:10 pm
by ajm
Glad it worked. Happy folding, at last! :D

Re: GPU not showing and OpenCL Error

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2020 8:13 pm
by Neil-B
Just in case you aren't aware (but you have a passkey so I guess you will be) there are a few requirements before you get QRB (whish is what the estimates include see https://foldingathome.org/support/faq/points/ and you can check your Bonus Status here https://apps.foldingathome.org/bonus.

Glad it all got sorted eventually :)