Running 2 Instances of FAH at Once

If you're new to FAH and need help getting started or you have very basic questions, start here.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Running 2 Instances of FAH at Once

Postby rbpeake » Wed Aug 26, 2020 6:47 pm

I just got a new computer, and have never had this issue previously.

My Windows computer almost locked up and I see in task manager that I have 2 instances running of the same FAH cores. Double trouble!

I closed out the desktop client, and I see that I still have one instance running. How can I just get the desktop client running and no other?

Thanks.
rbpeake
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:39 pm
Location: NYC Metro Area

Re: Running 2 Instances of FAH at Once

Postby bruce » Thu Aug 27, 2020 7:50 am

Attempting to run two copies of FAHClient in windows is a really bad idea, as you've discovered.

when you installed FAHClient you probably elected to have it start automatically, which it does by invoking a script that's in the windows startup folder. If somehow you got two copies there, it might explain your report.
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Running 2 Instances of FAH at Once

Postby PantherX » Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:25 am

Would be keen to see the log file(s)!

It is possible to have multiple instances of FahCore_21, FahCore_22, and FahCore_a7 on a single system, it all depends on what hardware you have and how it is configured. bruce is correct in saying that a single instance of FAHClient.exe should be running on a single system.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6756
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Running 2 Instances of FAH at Once

Postby rbpeake » Thu Aug 27, 2020 10:17 am

I solved the problem by a fresh install and being very careful about it. All seems to be working normally now.
Thanks!
rbpeake
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2008 5:39 pm
Location: NYC Metro Area


Return to New Donors start here

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron