Page 1 of 1

Linux Mint 20 issue

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2020 5:20 pm
by macgrioghair
I am getting dependency issues due to python on LM20 for the fah control deb - fahcontrol_7.6.13-1_all.
Is there going to be a fix for this soon?

Steve

Re: Linux Mint 20 issue

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2020 7:46 pm
by rwh202
'Soon' depends on your definition! We've only had python 3 for 10 years and the end of life for python 2 was announced 6 years ago, so don't hold your breath!

I did a Mint 20 install last night and got away with:
Code: Select all
sudo apt install python-is-python2
wget http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/pool/universe/p/pygtk/python-gtk2_2.24.0-6_amd64.deb
sudo dpkg -i python-gtk2_2.24.0-6_amd64.deb


I found the info here: viewtopic.php?f=108&t=35707

Re: Linux Mint 20 issue

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2020 6:07 am
by JohnChodera
Eep! If there isn't already an issue for this on the issue tracker, can you open one?
https://github.com/foldingathome/fah-issues/issues

Thanks!

~ John Chodera // MSKCC

Re: Linux Mint 20 issue

PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2020 8:21 am
by Joe_H
This has been reported multiple times on GitHub already. Newest report I found is - https://github.com/FoldingAtHome/fah-issues/issues/1417

Re: Linux Mint 20 issue

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2020 3:38 am
by PantherX
There are few Pull Requests which do attempt to to fix the Python 2 issue: https://github.com/FoldingAtHome/fah-control/pulls

Re: Linux Mint 20 issue

PostPosted: Sun Sep 06, 2020 8:03 pm
by MeeLee
I presume you could still run the browser client (not as fancy), and manually adjust parameters in config.txt?

Re: Linux Mint 20 issue

PostPosted: Fri Sep 25, 2020 7:05 am
by roodog46
I presume you could still run the browser client (not as fancy), and manually adjust parameters in config.txt?


I recently changed from LM19.1 to LM20. I have the Client working ok, but am unable to install the Control function, due to python probs. When I started up the Client I inserted the wrong Team number then discovered that I am able to change my login details at client folding at home. It's a workaround of sorts.

Re: Linux Mint 20 issue

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2020 12:46 am
by PantherX
Welcome to the F@H Forum roodog46,

You can manually update the team number from the incorrect one to the correct on if you manually modify config.xml. However, you would need to careful to modify just the numbers as changing the data structure isn't well tolerated by the client (hence using FahControl is ideal).