Page 1 of 4

Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:45 pm
by yslin
Hi,

There will soon be a new core16/ATI project 11293 going on adv for the open beta v7 client. This project serves as a testing WU for core16/ATI and v7 client.

P11293: Test simulations of a single full-length Amyloid beta peptide (627 atoms) at high temperatures
Points and deadlines: 1835 points, preferred deadline 6 day, final deadline 10 days

Thanks!

yslin

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:15 pm
by VijayPande
PS It is important to note that beta testing has found issues with running this core while watching video. Until this issue is resolved, the only work around is to not watch videos while folding. Clearly this is not a long term solution and we are investigating this.

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:40 pm
by clardav
Do we need a specific amd drivers version? I have catalyst 11.2, it is correct for my HD5870?

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:44 pm
by 7im
That's covered in the install guide, see the requirements section. 11.x driver or above. ;)

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 8:46 pm
by mickythebeagle
when will the new Core be there ?
will the V7 Beta Download it ?

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 9:47 pm
by 7im
Hello mickythebeagle, welcome to the forum.

The FAH NEWs page is a great source of new information. ;)

For example, they announced something new today... http://folding.typepad.com/news/2011/03/core-16-for-ati-released-also-note-on-nvidia-gpu-support-for-older-boards.html

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 9:55 pm
by mickythebeagle
Nice, but nowhere stands what happend for AMD/ATI User with 5xxx/6xxx Cards.
I have an 6850 and that even works with the Core11 again.
And in The V7 Beta hass not the Core16 included.
We wait long Time for an Better ATI Core :D

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:04 pm
by p0wer
mickythebeagle, core 16 WU is on advanced. You have to set "client-type" to "advanced" in GPU slot configuration.

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:05 pm
by ChelseaOilman
mickythebeagle wrote:And in The V7 Beta hass not the Core16 included.

No client comes with cores. The assignment server assigns you a WU, then if that WU needs a particular core to process the WU the proper core will be downloaded. And p0wer is correct. In yslin's post it was mentioned that the p11293 WU was released to adv.

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:08 pm
by deekey777
clardav wrote:Do we need a specific amd drivers version? I have catalyst 11.2, it is correct for my HD5870?

Yes and no.
You need a Catalyst package with APP (OpenCL driver inside). Since 11.3 it's always included. But it's better to use 11.4 preview: http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pa ... eview.aspx

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:15 pm
by dr_Cox
Holy moly! It's eating just under 400 MB memory and still uses a whole cpu core. Can anybody confirm that?

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:18 pm
by mhouston
400MB is the total allocation, not the active resident set. It's being looked at why that is so high. CPU load is high because WUs at the moment are generally small proteins. CPU load is also being worked on.

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:36 pm
by mickythebeagle
Sorry , but what i must do in which Setting.
Very Diffiicult the new Client.

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:45 pm
by mathwhiz
I have an HD 4850 and it downloaded and is working on this project - it makes my system quite slow, not a big deal since I don't use that computer often, but I thought core 16 was only supposed to be for 5xxx or 6xxx - possible bug on assignment server?

Rich

Re: Core16/ATI P11293

PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:49 pm
by p0wer
mathwhiz wrote:I have an HD 4850 and it downloaded and is working on this project - it makes my system quite slow, not a big deal since I don't use that computer often, but I thought core 16 was only supposed to be for 5xxx or 6xxx - possible bug on assignment server?

Dunno why but I also got this unit. Thread here