Page 1 of 8

Slot Options For V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 2:43 am
by PantherX
I have decided to make a simple pictorial guide to help new donors add the V7 Slot Options. Most pictures are thumbnails (small size) so please click them to get an enlarged image.

Step 1: You click the icon and the FAHControl windows opens. Then you select the Advanced Mode (Expert is fine but Advanced is the minimum mode required. It will not work with Novice Mode)
Image

Step 2: Click the Configure Button:
Image

Step 3: Select the Slots Tab -> Click on the Slot to highlight it -> Click on the Edit Button:
Image

Step 4: A new window pop-ups. You click Add:
Image

Step 5: A small window appears. Here you enter the Name and Value exactly as they appear and click OK:
Image
Note 1: The options between v6 and V7 are DIFFERENT so please make sure to enter the correct options.

Step 6: You will notice that the option appears in the Extra slot options. You click OK:
Image

Step 7: You return to the Slots Tab. You must click Save for the changes to be made:
Image

Step 8: The new configurations will be printed in the log which can be viewed in the Log Tab:
Image

A list of Common options are:
Code: Select all
Name       Value       Description
client-type       advanced       Assigns WUs in late-stage beta if available
client-type       bigadv       Assigns bigadv WUs on capable systems if available (SMP slot only)
next-unit-percentage       X       X should be between 90 and 100. It tells when the next WU should be downloaded after the current WU reaches X percentage

List of Advanced options are:
Code: Select all
Name       Value       Description
max-units       X       X can be any number; 0 is indefinite. It tells when to pause the slot after X WUs are completed
checkpoint       X       X is a value between 3 and 30. It will create a checkpoint after X minutes
core-priority       idle       Sets the priority of !FahCore to idle
core-priority       low       Set the priority of !FahCore to low
pause-on-start       true       FAHClient starts the slot in the pause state
pause-on-start       false       FAHClient will start the slot normally
max-packet-size       small       Configures the slot to get small WUs (~5MB)
max-packet-size       normal       Configures the slot to get normal WUs (~10MB)
max-packet-size       big       Configures the slot to get big WUs (~500MB)
Note 2: The default values will not be shown in the configuration. If you want all default values to be shown in the log, you need to use verbosity level of 5.

List of all options with their Default values are:
Code: Select all
10:28:19:<config>
10:28:19:  <service-description v='Folding@home Client'/>
10:28:19:  <service-restart v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <service-restart-delay v='5000'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Client Control -->
10:28:19:  <cycle-rate v='4'/>
10:28:19:  <cycles v='-1'/>
10:28:19:  <data-directory v='.'/>
10:28:19:  <disable-project-lookup v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <exec-directory v='C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient'/>
10:28:19:  <exit-when-done v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <threads v='4'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Configuration -->
10:28:19:  <config-rotate v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <config-rotate-dir v='configs'/>
10:28:19:  <config-rotate-max v='16'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Debugging -->
10:28:19:  <assignment-servers>
10:28:19:    assign3.stanford.edu:8080 assign4.stanford.edu:80
10:28:19:  </assignment-servers>
10:28:19:  <capture-directory v='capture'/>
10:28:19:  <capture-sockets v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <debug-sockets v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <exception-locations v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <gpu-assignment-servers>
10:28:19:    assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80 assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
10:28:19:  </gpu-assignment-servers>
10:28:19:  <stack-traces v='false'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Error Handling -->
10:28:19:  <max-slot-errors v='5'/>
10:28:19:  <max-unit-errors v='5'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- FahCore Control -->
10:28:19:  <checkpoint v='15'/>
10:28:19:  <core-dir v='cores'/>
10:28:19:  <core-priority v='idle'/>
10:28:19:  <cpu-affinity v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <cpu-usage v='100'/>
10:28:19:  <no-assembly v='false'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
10:28:19:  <client-subtype v='STDCLI'/>
10:28:19:  <client-type v='normal'/>
10:28:19:  <cpu-species v='X86_PENTIUM_II'/>
10:28:19:  <cpu-type v='AMD64'/>
10:28:19:  <cpus v='-1'/>
10:28:19:  <cuda-index v='0'/>
10:28:19:  <gpu v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <gpu-usage v='100'/>
10:28:19:  <max-packet-size v='normal'/>
10:28:19:  <opencl-index v='0'/>
10:28:19:  <os-species v='UNKNOWN'/>
10:28:19:  <os-type v='WIN32'/>
10:28:19:  <project-key v='0'/>
10:28:19:  <smp v='false'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Logging -->
10:28:19:  <log v='log.txt'/>
10:28:19:  <log-color v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <log-crlf v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <log-date v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <log-date-periodically v='21600'/>
10:28:19:  <log-debug v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <log-domain v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <log-header v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <log-level v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <log-no-info-header v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <log-redirect v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <log-rotate v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <log-rotate-dir v='logs'/>
10:28:19:  <log-rotate-max v='16'/>
10:28:19:  <log-short-level v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <log-simple-domains v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <log-thread-id v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <log-thread-prefix v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <log-time v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <log-to-screen v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <log-truncate v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <verbosity v='5'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Network -->
10:28:19:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
10:28:19:  <proxy-enable v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <proxy-pass v=''/>
10:28:19:  <proxy-user v=''/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Process Control -->
10:28:19:  <child v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <daemon v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <pid v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <pid-file v='Folding@home Client.pid'/>
10:28:19:  <respawn v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <service v='false'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
10:28:19:  <command-address v='0.0.0.0'/>
10:28:19:  <command-allow v='127.0.0.1'/>
10:28:19:  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1'/>
10:28:19:  <command-deny v='0.0.0.0/0'/>
10:28:19:  <command-deny-no-pass v='0.0.0.0/0'/>
10:28:19:  <command-port v='36330'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Slot Control -->
10:28:19:  <max-shutdown-wait v='60'/>
10:28:19:  <pause-on-battery v='false'/>
10:28:19:  <pause-on-start v='false'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- User Information -->
10:28:19:  <machine-id v='0'/>
10:28:19:  <passkey v=''/>
10:28:19:  <team v='0'/>
10:28:19:  <user v='Anonymous'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Work Unit Control -->
10:28:19:  <dump-after-deadline v='true'/>
10:28:19:  <max-queue v='16'/>
10:28:19:  <max-units v='0'/>
10:28:19:  <next-unit-percentage v='99'/>
10:28:19:
10:28:19:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
10:28:19:  <slot id='0' type='UNIPROCESSOR'/>
10:28:19:</config>


For more information, please read the FAHControl article which explains everything.

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 4:32 am
by GreyWhiskers
Wonderful summary.

Thanks. :biggrin: :!:

GW

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 6:25 am
by bdo
Thanks very for this explanation "How to add flags in V7".
I am busy to translate the Installation Guide and the different articles in french.
I am the "Team p2p-community" administrator and the intallation guide will be soon disponible in PDF format on your site : http://www.p2p-community.com/

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 8:39 pm
by SantaFe
Thanks. Now I see how to add flags. ;)

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 10:21 am
by P1n3apqlExpr3ss
"max-packet-size" "big" = 500MB :O

Ive got my smp set to normal but seems to only get 311 and 481 pointers... Anyway to get the larger 921, 13xx and 18xx pointers?

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 2:35 am
by PantherX
P1n3apqlExpr3ss wrote:... Anyway to get the larger 921, 13xx and 18xx pointers?
Unfortunately there isn't. You will be assigned WUs randomly according to your client's configuration.

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:14 am
by P1n3apqlExpr3ss
Well I tried testing it out by setting it to big and currently working on a 13xx pointer but these ones seem more affected by running core16 at the same time so ill go back to running the smaller ones..

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:14 pm
by codysluder
I'd think that pause-on-start = true might be a common option so that one slot can be started manually.

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2011 11:18 pm
by MtM
codysluder wrote:I'd think that pause-on-start = true might be a common option so that one slot can be started manually.


+1 PantherX could you add that to the first post? I missed the flag and only found it due to another thread linking here and discussing it ( pause-on-start ), while initially I was thinking 'uhh what option/flag??' since if it wasn't for Cody here it wouldn't be mentioned at all.

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 1:08 am
by PantherX
Initially, I only kept the simple options since it is easy for new donors but now I have made a new table which contains the advanced options.

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:33 am
by johnT89
Ideas on how to add a --force_gpu nvidia_fermi flag?

In the v7 wiki site its specified the console parameter, wich is
--gpu --gpuspecies = <type>

but how can I add this value trough the GUI? Its supposed to be a single parameter but looks like two

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:37 am
by MtM
configure - slots - extra slot options

Image

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 11:43 am
by johnT89
I mean,
Name: gpu
Value: nvidia_fermi

or

Name: gpuspecies
Value: nvidia_fermi

?

Both options aren't saved after I click 'apply', so I guess there's something wrong

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:08 pm
by MtM
Click Add , fill in , click ok , click ok. Works for me gpuspecies and rv_700 ( not even sure I'm using the right flag, I'll just remove it anyway don't need it ).

If you fail to do these steps, I think you have an older build and you might need to update the client.

Re: Adding "flags" in V7 (Pictorial Guide)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:24 pm
by johnT89
I have the 7.1.24 client, but the option is not saved. I've set other options like the client-type one and they ARE saved, but this gpuspecies one isn't.