FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby Jesse_V » Fri Dec 23, 2011 12:04 am

LintMan wrote:About the logs, for future reference - I looked in the install and data dirs for some sort of log, but didn't see anything. What is the file name/path for them?


Mine's located in C:\Users\Jesse\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\log.txt
You can also access the log by changing v7's mode from Novice to Advanced, and then clicking the Log tab. Either way works fine.
F@h is now the top computing platform on the planet and nothing unites people like a dedicated fight against a common enemy. This virus affects all of us. Lets end it together.
Jesse_V
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Western Washington

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby 7im » Fri Dec 23, 2011 12:15 am

I'd like to see an installation log created, so that any changes from default are documented. Like this setting change, or if the install location is changed, etc.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby LintMan » Fri Dec 23, 2011 5:04 am

Interesting. I've found the log file in the Data directory, where I had previously looked and found nothing. The file was definitely not there before I got it running. It seems like the log is only created after the connection is established.

Thanks for your help, everyone!
LintMan
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:27 am

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby Anglik666 » Mon Dec 26, 2011 1:44 pm

I found option 'Remote Access' doesn't work.
Try to set 'password' and 'IP address restriction' but after pressing 'Save' options disappear.
I tried many times. No trace of it in config.xml either.
Windows version for 7 64 bit.
Any ideas ?
PC1: PII 940, 790GX-P, 4x2GB, HD 6870
PC2: P 9750, 790GX-P, 4x1GB, GTS 250
PC3: 2x O 2427, SM H8DII+-F, 4x2GB ECC
PC4: 2x X e5420, SM X8DLT-I, 6x1GB ECC
Image
User avatar
Anglik666
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Dec 16, 2008 10:35 pm

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby codysluder » Mon Dec 26, 2011 9:22 pm

They work fine for me. After saving them, reopen the configuration screen and you should see the new values. My config looks something like this.

Code: Select all
  <!--  Network
  -->
  <proxy v=":8080" />
  <!--  Remote Command Server
  -->
  <command-allow v="127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0-192.168.1.255" />
  <command-allow-no-pass v="127.0.0.1,192.168.1.0-192.168.1.255" />
  <password v="(censored)" />
  <!--  User Information
  -->
codysluder
 
Posts: 1022
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 1:43 pm

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby bollix47 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:04 am

I've managed to get remote monitoring working on my local network. All looks good but I noticed some entries in the host log that I'm not sure about:

Code: Select all
01:16:32:Unit 00:Completed   3500000 out of 50000000 steps (7%).
01:18:05:Unit 00:Completed   4000000 out of 50000000 steps (8%).
01:19:24:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:57954
01:19:29:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:57957
01:19:34:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:57966
01:19:37:Unit 00:Completed   4500000 out of 50000000 steps (9%).
01:19:39:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:58003
01:19:44:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:58029
01:19:49:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:58032
01:19:54:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:58033
01:19:59:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:58036
01:20:04:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:58043
01:20:09:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:58057
01:20:14:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:58059
01:20:19:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:58085
01:20:24:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:58101
01:20:29:Server access denied for 192.168.2.100:58103
01:21:10:Unit 00:Completed   5000000 out of 50000000 steps (10%).
01:22:43:Unit 00:Completed   5500000 out of 50000000 steps (11%).
0


192.168.2.100 is the computer that is monitoring another computer on the network which as I said appears to be working well as I can see all the slots and their logs etc.

Has anyone seen this type of message "Server access denied ... " or does anyone know why it appeared in my host's log?

I'm not using a password but shouldn't need one as I'm the only one that has access AFAIK.

I'm using the default port of 36330 on both systems and the IP range looks to be correct.

Code: Select all
01:17:55:  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
01:17:55:  <command-allow v='127.0.0.1 192.168.2.100-192.168.2.149'/>
01:17:55:  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1 192.168.2.100-192.168.2.149'/>
bollix47
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby bruce » Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:12 am

I'm not sure this is the issue or not. Try replacing the space with a comma.
Code: Select all
<command-allow v='127.0.0.1,192.168.2.100-192.168.2.149'/>
<command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1,192.168.2.100-192.168.2.149'/>


I use passwords, but there is (or was) a bug associated with space-delimited IP lists.
bruce
 
Posts: 20019
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby bollix47 » Tue Jan 03, 2012 3:36 am

Thanks for that Bruce. I've changed the space to commas.

There have been no similar entries since the ones I showed in my previous post, but I'm not sure that has anything to do with the commas since the messages had already stopped before I made the change.
bollix47
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby One_Box » Wed Jan 04, 2012 7:38 am

FAH Control GUI not working in Ubuntu 11.04.

Had to install Ubuntu 10.10 to get V7 working.
One_Box
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2010 5:35 pm
Location: South Wales

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby davidcoton » Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:34 am

I have FAH Control working on Ubuntu 11.10. There is an issue with a dependency on Python v2.6, where Ubuntu has moved on. Here was one solution, which I think was the one I used (my highlight):
cybertimber2009 wrote:I'm going to bump this since this seems to be the best topic on it on Google:
Client 7.1.38 - rpm - 32-bit:

On Fedora 16 I had issues installing it because the system uses Python 2.7 instead of 2.6. Had to use rpm -ivh --nodeps <installer>

After that it did install, but when I tried to launch FAHControl from the applications panel, no errors were shown and no app appeared.
When I tried to run it from a terminal, I recieved an error similar to
error: Failed dependencies:
python(abi) = 2.6 is needed by fahclient-

Moving .../python2.6/site-.../fah to .../python2.7/site-.../fah fixed it.

The bug report on this was #604 (https://fah-web.stanford.edu/projects/F ... ticket/604) and was supposed to be fixed 7.1.23. Can it be opened? Guessing a regression perhaps?


David
Image
davidcoton
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby 7im » Wed Jan 04, 2012 10:49 pm

What is the specific command to move the site packages? Thanks.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby davidcoton » Thu Jan 05, 2012 12:31 am

7im, that's a very good question. I'm not a Linux guru and it's some time since I installed 7.1.38. I can't remember the specific incantation from the command line. I think it can be done in Nautilus or whatever is the current Ubuntu file manager. I just tried to check how mine is set up, and I can't even find the folders concerned ("python"s everywhere!)

Sorry -- hope someone else can give a pointer.

david
davidcoton
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 4:19 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK

#787 FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby mdk777 » Sun Jan 08, 2012 10:49 pm

Well, I was thinking about the support delay/hassle of white-listing.

I can't see this changing in the future as an ever greater number of products reach the market.

Is there a reason that one option for configuration shouldn't be to allow the users to select

"Generic CUDA capable Graphics"
or
"Generic Open MM Capable device"

To supplement/over-ride the White-list between Versions?

It would eliminate the need for constant Hot-patch between major revisions and yet allow donors to use the most advanced hardware in the interim. :mrgreen:
Transparency and Accountability, the necessary foundation of any great endeavor!
mdk777
 
Posts: 480
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:12 am

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby Jesse_V » Mon Jan 09, 2012 12:06 am

Mdk777, that's an excellent point. I'm sure there's a really good scientific reason behind the whitelist that I would guess has something to do with OpenCL or a new core, but it's interesting how people go "oh, I'll just fold on v6 since v7 doesn't support my GPU yet" and bypass the whitelist that way. I hope there will be a faster way of updating the list, and I noticed that Bruce opened a new feature ticket on that. If it's implemented, perhaps we'll see faster whitelist updates as hardware advances, which as long as things are done correctly should be excellent for F@h.
Jesse_V
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Western Washington

Re: FAHClient V7.1.38 released (4th Open-Beta)

Postby Ravage7779 » Mon Jan 09, 2012 4:26 am

Wouldn't a blacklist be a better way to go? The PG wouldn't have to update the darn thing all the time, and if a new card doesn't work, people aren't going to run them anyways.
Get more Mac OS X folding help from the friendly experts @ http://www.foldingathome.org/index.html
Image
User avatar
Ravage7779
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:42 pm

PreviousNext

Return to V7.1.52 Windows/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron