Page 1 of 1

Continue with GT240 or use Quad Core?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:41 pm
by BoyzClub
Looking for some advice before I start noobishly poking around my PC desktop. With the nice gains in points with V7 and multi core processors (My laptop Core I3 is just buzzing along) should I maybe switch to using my Intel Quad Core Q6700 instead of my old, tired GT240? I am only getting between 2 and 4.5k points with the GT240. I'm pretty sure my I3 is fairly close to those numbers. Plus I'm kinda tired of hearing the vacuum cleaner like noise from the fan on my 240 going 100% all the time lol!

Thanks! :D

Re: Continue with GT240 or use Quad Core?

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:25 pm
by Rel25917
Personally I would run both of them. Nvidia gpus and smp cores get along very well. If the noise from the video card bothers you give the cpu a try and see what it gets you for points. For reference I have a core 2 duo overclocked from 3 to 4 ghz and it does about 4K points per day(up to 5 or 5.5 on some projects).

Re: Continue with GT240 or use Quad Core?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 7:26 am
by iceman1992
Between 2 and 4.5k is still good enough, you should run both :D
As for the noise, what about tuning the fan down a bit?

Re: Continue with GT240 or use Quad Core?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:44 pm
by BoyzClub
unfortunately because my gt240 has a lot of miles on it, turning the fan down to speeds where i can't hear it results in the card over heating and the system shutting down as it just doesn't run as cool as it once did lol. I'm thinking I'll just try to run F@H on my Quad Core and see what happens. The results on my 2nd Gen Core I3 laptop have exceeded my expectations and that with me only running 2 cores (The client due to hyper threading recognized 4 cores but I found the laptop got too hot running at 100% - by toning down to just 2 cores on the client the system CPU usage drops to just 50%, runs much cooler and still produces some good numbers) Thanks for all the tips

Re: Continue with GT240 or use Quad Core?

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:13 pm
by bruce
BoyzClub wrote:(The client due to hyper threading recognized 4 cores but I found the laptop got too hot running at 100% - by toning down to just 2 cores on the client the system CPU usage drops to just 50%, runs much cooler and still produces some good numbers) Thanks for all the tips

As far as FAH is concerned, Task Manager is not telling the truth when it says you're running only 50%. Hyperthreaded cores produce much less than real cores so you're probably folding at about 80 - 85% as much as you were when you were using all 4.

Re: Continue with GT240 or use Quad Core?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:53 am
by rhavern
BoyzClub wrote:unfortunately because my gt240 has a lot of miles on it, turning the fan down to speeds where i can't hear it results in the card over heating and the system shutting down as it just doesn't run as cool as it once did lol. I'm thinking I'll just try to run F@H on my Quad Core and see what happens. The results on my 2nd Gen Core I3 laptop have exceeded my expectations and that with me only running 2 cores (The client due to hyper threading recognized 4 cores but I found the laptop got too hot running at 100% - by toning down to just 2 cores on the client the system CPU usage drops to just 50%, runs much cooler and still produces some good numbers) Thanks for all the tips


Have you taken the GPU out and blown the dust out recently (last 4-6 months)? Same goes for the rest of your system. Don't let your fans spin if you use compressed air, you can damage the bearings.

Re: Continue with GT240 or use Quad Core?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:26 pm
by BoyzClub
Yeah I've tried that a few times but the card has been worked really hard the past 3 years being on 24/7 and OC'd for the past 2 doing folding so its done. I can't complain as I only paid $49 after rebates for it.

Re: Continue with GT240 or use Quad Core?

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2012 2:27 am
by Bill1024
My Q6600 @ 3ghz, win7 pro, is 6400ppd on a p8004 WU V7 client.
My AMD 640 quad @ 3ghz is 5700ppd, same wu same OS
I am not folding with the gpu. on either rig.
Hope that help you make you mind up.