Unable to connect to work server.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Unable to connect to work server.

Postby Heretic121 » Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:23 am

I've been having a problem with downloading new work units for a while, I decided today that I was finally going to get round to fixing it.
After a little investigating it would appear that I am unable to connect to any server using port 8080, it seems to think that I'm using a proxy, and when it attempts to download a WU from the work server (171.67.108.59) it doesn't cycle to port 80, which I'm assuming it should.

Relevant section of the log as follows:
Code: Select all
09:15:53:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign3.stanford.edu:8080
09:15:53:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign3.stanford.edu:8080': 10001: Server responded: HTTP_FORBIDDEN
09:15:53:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign4.stanford.edu:80
09:15:53:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
09:15:53:WU00:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.59
09:15:53:WU00:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY smp:4 from 171.67.108.59
09:15:53:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.59:8080
09:15:54:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: 10001: Server responded: HTTP_FORBIDDEN


I'd like to make it clear I don't use a proxy. The closest I have to a proxy is that my desktop uses OpenDNS's DNS servers, and uses their DNSCrypt client.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Heretic121
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:03 am

Re: Unable to connect to work server.

Postby bruce » Thu Sep 20, 2012 6:52 pm

Welcome to foldingforum.org, Heretic121.

You may not use a proxy, but SOMETHING is blocking port 8080. The HTTP_FORBIDDEN message means that your security settings are blocking FAH from connecting to those addresses. Disable your security settings one-by-one until you figure out which one is blocking FAH from connecting.

Are you able to open http://assign3.stanford.edu:8080 and/or http://171.67.108.59:8080 in your browser? The first should give you an "OK" message and the second should give you a blank screen (no error message).
bruce
 
Posts: 20124
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Unable to connect to work server.

Postby Heretic121 » Thu Sep 20, 2012 11:24 pm

Hey there Bruce, thank you for the welcome and your help.

I've just done a check using my server. It has a direct connection to the internet, via my modem/router, so it's clear of any interference from software running on my LAN.

Code: Select all
root@htech-serv:~# wget http://171.67.108.59:8080/
--2012-09-20 23:19:00--  http://171.67.108.59:8080/
Connecting to 171.67.108.59:8080... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 403 Forbidden
2012-09-20 23:19:00 ERROR 403: Forbidden.

root@htech-serv:~# wget http://assign3.stanford.edu:8080/
--2012-09-20 23:19:14--  http://assign3.stanford.edu:8080/
Resolving assign3.stanford.edu (assign3.stanford.edu)... 171.67.108.200
Connecting to assign3.stanford.edu (assign3.stanford.edu)|171.67.108.200|:8080... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 403 Forbidden
2012-09-20 23:19:14 ERROR 403: Forbidden.


As you can see my server is also being refused a connection. I'm going to make an attempt via a friend's server, if I not blocked from there then my first thought would be that my IP has been banned for some reason.

Once again, thank you for your help.

**UPDATE: I've just checked on my friend's server and everything works fine from there. So to recap, I'm unable to connect to either the assignment server or the work server using port 8080. I am, however, able to connect to the assignment server using port 80.
Heretic121
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 10:03 am

Re: Unable to connect to work server.

Postby bruce » Fri Sep 21, 2012 6:30 am

As i suggested earlier, your router or your security software are responsible for blocking port 8080. Unfortunately FAH has no control over the security measures imposed by either the router, your software or if you happen to be behind a proxy which is doing the blocking. If you were banned, port 80 would also be blocked. The Stanford server is not issuing the 403 error, some intermediate server is. (Do you happen to be in a country which has a government policy of censoring the internet?)

All FAH servers are available on port 8080 and it will be used as the first choice. Most of them (but not all) are also available on port 80 and it will be used as a second choice.
bruce
 
Posts: 20124
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Unable to connect to work server.

Postby gckw » Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:46 pm

How do you use port 80 to connect to the assignment server? I have a similar issue with getting units. Please help!


Code: Select all
15:43:24:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
15:43:24:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
15:43:45:WARNING:Attempting to update GPUs.txt: Failed to read stream
15:43:45:Trying to access database...
15:43:45:Successfully acquired database lock
15:43:45:Enabled folding slot 00: READY gpu:0:"GF106GL [Quadro 2000]"
15:43:45:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:1:"GF106GL [Quadro 2000]"
15:43:45:Enabled folding slot 02: READY smp:32
15:43:45:Started thread 1 on PID 11364
15:43:45:Started thread 5 on PID 11364
15:43:45:Started thread 4 on PID 11364
15:43:45:Started thread 6 on PID 11364
15:43:45:Started thread 3 on PID 11364
15:43:45:WU00:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
15:43:45:WU01:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
15:43:45:WU02:FS02:Connecting to assign3.stanford.edu:8080
15:43:45:WU00:FS00:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
15:43:45:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.105
15:43:45:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:"GF106GL [Quadro 2000]" from 171.64.65.105
15:43:45:WU01:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
15:43:45:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.105:8080
15:43:45:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.105
15:43:45:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:"GF106GL [Quadro 2000]" from 171.64.65.105
15:43:45:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.105:8080
15:43:46:Server connection id=1 on 0.0.0.0:36330 from 127.0.0.1
15:43:46:Started thread 7 on PID 11364
15:44:06:WARNING:WU02:FS02:Failed to get assignment from 'assign3.stanford.edu:8080': 10002: Received short response, expected 272 bytes, got 0
15:44:06:WU02:FS02:Connecting to assign4.stanford.edu:80
15:44:06:WU02:FS02:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
15:44:06:WU02:FS02:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.99
15:44:06:WU02:FS02:Requesting new work unit for slot 02: READY smp:32 from 171.64.65.99
15:44:06:WU02:FS02:Connecting to 171.64.65.99:8080
15:44:06:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: 10002: Received short response, expected 512 bytes, got 0
15:44:06:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: 10002: Received short response, expected 512 bytes, got 0
15:44:06:WU00:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
15:44:06:WU00:FS00:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
15:44:06:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.105
15:44:06:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:"GF106GL [Quadro 2000]" from 171.64.65.105
15:44:06:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.105:8080
15:44:07:WU01:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
15:44:07:WU01:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
15:44:07:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.105
15:44:07:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:1:"GF106GL [Quadro 2000]" from 171.64.65.105
15:44:07:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.105:8080
15:44:25:ERROR:WU00:FS00:Exception: 10002: Received short response, expected 512 bytes, got 0
15:44:26:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: 10002: Received short response, expected 512 bytes, got 0
15:44:28:ERROR:WU02:FS02:Exception: 10002: Received short response, expected 512 bytes, got 0


Mod Edit: Added Code Tags - PantherX
gckw
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 10:27 am

Re: Unable to connect to work server.

Postby P5-133XL » Mon Dec 10, 2012 6:10 pm

There is nothing to do to make port 80 work. If that port is avail the client will automatically fall back to it upon failing port 8080.

Ideally, the solution is to open up port 8080 in your firewall. If that is not possible, then upgrading to v7 of the client will make additional servers availible and maybe one of them will have port 80 open.
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: Unable to connect to work server.

Postby bruce » Mon Dec 10, 2012 7:51 pm

You are successfully connecting to port 80.

Code: Select all
15:44:07:WU01:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
15:44:07:WU01:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
15:44:07:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.105


Moreover, both 171.64.65.105 and 171.67.108.59 do have port 80 open. Unfortunately serverstat does not report how many WUs either one has so I'd have to guess that maybe they currently don't have any more. If that's not true, I'd have to fall back on the client not being able to use port 80 because of your security software. (The block for port 8080 is a security precaution, too.)
bruce
 
Posts: 20124
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.


Return to V7.1.52 Windows/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron