How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats included)

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats included)

Postby OfficeLinebacker » Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:36 pm

Hi all, I folded aggressively using version 5.03 I think it was, installing a text-based console and installing it to run as a service. Looks like we're at a more advanced stage now and it's not a simple addition of an -advmethods or -bigunits tag at the end of the command to run on startup.

I have a report from CPU-z here and I have 12GB of memory installed. I notice that the memory footprint of the cores I've been running are relatively small (like 21 MB) where in the past I remember seeing the FAhCore process using upwards of 200MB. So I'm wondering if there's a flag I could be using to indicate I'd like bigger units.

Here's my CPU-Z output
Code: Select all
Processor 1         ID = 0
   Number of cores      2 (max 8)
   Number of threads   2 (max 16)
   Name         Intel Xeon
   Codename      Bloomfield
   Specification      Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           W3503  @ 2.40GHz
   Package (platform ID)   Socket 1366 LGA (0x1)
   CPUID         6.A.5
   Extended CPUID      6.1A
   Core Stepping      D0
   Technology      45 nm
   TDP Limit      130 Watts
   Core Speed      2400.0 MHz
   Multiplier x FSB   18.0 x 133.3 MHz
   Rated Bus speed      2400.0 MHz
   Stock frequency      2400 MHz
   Instructions sets   MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3, SSSE3, SSE4.1, SSE4.2, EM64T, VT-x
   L1 Data cache      2 x 32 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
   L1 Instruction cache   2 x 32 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64-byte line size
   L2 cache      2 x 256 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64-byte line size
   L3 cache      4 MBytes, 16-way set associative, 64-byte line size
   FID/VID Control      yes


and here is what I hope is the relevant part of my FahLog:

Code: Select all
04:36:10:WU00:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/jcrane/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 701 -lifeline 16356 -checkpoint 15 -np 2 -service
04:36:10:WU00:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 14792
04:36:10:WU00:FS01:Core PID:7360
04:36:10:WU00:FS01:FahCore 0xa4 started
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:*------------------------------*
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Folding@Home Gromacs GB Core
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:- Created dyn
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:- Files status OK
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:- Expanded 115195 -> 503128 (decompressed 436.7 percent)
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=115195 data_size=503128, decompressed_data_size=503128 diff=0
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Project: 7083 (Run 0, Clone 49, Gen 50)
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Assembly optimizations on if available.
04:36:11:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Entering M.D.
04:36:16:WU01:FS01:Upload 69.15%
04:36:16:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Mapping NT from 2 to 2
04:36:16:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Completed 0 out of 10000000 steps  (0%)
04:36:18:WU01:FS01:Upload complete
04:36:18:WU01:FS01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
04:36:18:WU01:FS01:Final credit estimate, 2465.00 points
04:36:18:WU01:FS01:Cleaning up
05:41:25:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Completed 100000 out of 10000000 steps  (1%)
06:46:20:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Completed 200000 out of 10000000 steps  (2%)
******************************** Date: 29/09/12 ********************************
07:51:22:WU00:FS01:0xa4:Completed 300000 out of 10000000 steps  (3%)


Thanks.
User avatar
OfficeLinebacker
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:23 pm

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby 7im » Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:00 pm

The V7 client installs the "maximized" settings by default now. No tweaking is needed, with the one exception of a -bigadv class system (16+ cpu cores).
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby Jesse_V » Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:45 pm

Welcome to the forum OfficeLinebacker! (do you happen to know Terry Tate? :lol:)

It's a good thing you upgraded from 5.03 to V7, there's a interesting blog post on the advantages of upgrading: http://folding.typepad.com/news/2012/07 ... oject.html. In a sense, that will maximize your contribution.

You wouldn't happen to a have a folding-compatible GPU in your system would you?
Last edited by Jesse_V on Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
F@h is now the top computing platform on the planet and nothing unites people like a dedicated fight against a common enemy. This virus affects all of us. Lets end it together.
Jesse_V
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Western Washington

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby P5-133XL » Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:14 pm

7im wrote:The V7 client installs the "maximized" settings by default now. No tweaking is needed, with the one exception of a -bigadv class system (16+ cpu cores).
or AMD video cards with SMP.
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby 7im » Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:32 pm

P5-133XL wrote:
7im wrote:The V7 client installs the "maximized" settings by default now. No tweaking is needed, with the one exception of a -bigadv class system (16+ cpu cores).
or AMD video cards with SMP.


Not really that much difference either way. Buying an NV card would be a better maximizing choice. ;)
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby OfficeLinebacker » Wed Oct 03, 2012 6:35 pm

First of all, excellent catch on the user name reference. I always knew that folders were smart.

Second of all, I'm starting with new computers and have installed the newest client available for download. Boy, how things have changed in the past 2-3 years! Sixteen cores! And I thought having more than 2GB of RAM and a dual core CPU with hyperthreading for 4 visible cores was the $h1t.

The Client recognized my GPU but I think it returned a few work units with some kind of unstable machine message. Let me post the data:

Code: Select all
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:*------------------------------*
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:Folding@Home GPU Core
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:Version 1.31 (Tue Sep 15 10:57:42 PDT 2009)
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:Compiler  : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 14.00.50727.762 for 80x86
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:Build host: amoeba
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:Board Type: Nvidia
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:Core      :
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:Preparing to commence simulation
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:- Looking at optimizations...
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:DeleteFrameFiles: successfully deleted file=00/wudata_01.ckp
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:- Created dyn
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:- Files status OK
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:- Expanded 62800 -> 336799 (decompressed 536.3 percent)
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=62800 data_size=336799, decompressed_data_size=336799 diff=0
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:- Digital signature verified
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:Project: 10503 (Run 317, Clone 0, Gen 606)
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:Assembly optimizations on if available.
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:0x11:Entering M.D.
19:00:56:WU00:FS00:Project 10503 description downloaded successfully
19:01:00:WU01:FS01:FahCore a4: 60.60%
19:01:01:WU00:FS00:0x11:Tpr hash 00/wudata_01.tpr:  1918354381 3326668350 3614508211 3241868419 1796868926
19:01:01:WU00:FS00:0x11:
19:01:01:WU00:FS00:0x11:Calling fah_main args: 14 usage=100
19:01:01:WU00:FS00:0x11:
19:01:01:WU00:FS00:0x11:mdrun_gpu returned
19:01:01:WU00:FS00:0x11:Going to send back what have done -- stepsTotalG=0
19:01:01:WU00:FS00:0x11:Work fraction=0.0000 steps=0.
19:01:03:WU01:FS01:FahCore a4: Download complete
19:01:03:WU01:FS01:Valid core signature
19:01:03:WU01:FS01:Unpacked 9.59MiB to cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe
19:01:03:WU01:FS01:Starting
19:01:03:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 2008
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:Core PID:4380
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0xa4 started
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:Downloading project 8004 description
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:Connecting to fah-web.stanford.edu:80
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:*------------------------------*
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Folding@Home Gromacs GB Core
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Created dyn
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Files status OK
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Expanded 543945 -> 1304160 (decompressed 239.7 percent)
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=543945 data_size=1304160, decompressed_data_size=1304160 diff=0
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Project: 8004 (Run 2, Clone 3, Gen 340)
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Assembly optimizations on if available.
19:01:04:WU01:FS01:0xa4:Entering M.D.
19:01:05:WU01:FS01:Project 8004 description downloaded successfully
19:01:05:WU00:FS00:0x11:logfile size=0 infoLength=0 edr=0 trr=25
19:01:05:WU00:FS00:0x11:+ Opened results file
19:01:05:WU00:FS00:0x11:- Writing 635 bytes of core data to disk...
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:0x11:Done: 123 -> 121 (compressed to 98.3 percent)
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:0x11:  ... Done.
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:0x11:DeleteFrameFiles: successfully deleted file=00/wudata_01.ckp
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:0x11:
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:0x11:Folding@home Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:FahCore returned: UNSTABLE_MACHINE (122 = 0x7a)
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:Sending unit results: id:00 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:10503 run:317 clone:0 gen:606 core:0x11 unit:0x0000066b6652eda54b716c3400007bd5
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:Uploading 633B to 171.67.108.21
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.21:8080
19:01:06:WU02:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:Upload complete
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
19:01:06:WU00:FS00:Cleaning up


The log intermingles the CPU core and the GPU core but I think you get the idea.

GPU info from CPU-Z:
Code: Select all
Graphics
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Number of adapters      1

Graphic APIs
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

API            NVIDIA I/O
API            NVIDIA NVAPI

Display Adapters
-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Display adapter 0   
   Name         NVIDIA Quadro NVS 295
   Revision      A2
   Codename      G98
   Technology      65 nm
   Memory size      256 MB
   PCI device      bus 15 (0xF), device 0 (0x0), function 0 (0x0)
   Vendor ID      0x10DE (0x10DE)
   Model ID      0x06FD (0x062E)
   Performance Level   Default
      Core clock   275.0 MHz
      Shader clock   550.0 MHz
      Memory clock   100.0 MHz
   Performance Level   2D Desktop
      Core clock   460.0 MHz
      Shader clock   920.0 MHz
      Memory clock   695.0 MHz
   Performance Level   2D Desktop
      Core clock   460.0 MHz
      Shader clock   920.0 MHz
      Memory clock   695.0 MHz
   Performance Level   3D Applications
      Core clock   540.0 MHz
      Shader clock   1300.0 MHz
      Memory clock   695.0 MHz

User avatar
OfficeLinebacker
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:23 pm

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby Jesse_V » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:23 pm

FYI, at the top of the log window you can filter the log by slot. That way you can get just the info about GPU folding, or just the info about SMP folding.
Jesse_V
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Western Washington

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby OfficeLinebacker » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:35 pm

Jesse_V wrote:FYI, at the top of the log window you can filter the log by slot. That way you can get just the info about GPU folding, or just the info about SMP folding.

Aw sweet, great tip. Thanks.
User avatar
OfficeLinebacker
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:23 pm

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby bruce » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:42 pm

V7 supports the Quadro NVS 295 as a more expensive version of the G80/G90 series of gaming cards. I can't explain your UNSTABLE_MACHINE errors, but the most common cause is overclocking. (FAH is likely to put more heat into the case than other benchmarks.)
bruce
 
Posts: 20140
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby OfficeLinebacker » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:16 pm

bruce wrote:V7 supports the Quadro NVS 295 as a more expensive version of the G80/G90 series of gaming cards. I can't explain your UNSTABLE_MACHINE errors, but the most common cause is overclocking. (FAH is likely to put more heat into the case than other benchmarks.)

Thanks for all the great info in this thread.

Well this is a computer I do work on so I don't overclock or do anything fancy. I checked for updated drivers through windows and nothing.

How many PPD would one expect to get out of a Quadro 295? Is it worth doing more diagnostic work to get it working?
User avatar
OfficeLinebacker
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:23 pm

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby Zagen30 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 10:02 pm

Looking on Wikipedia, it appears the NVS 295 is comparable to an 8300 or 9300 GS. Its 8 shaders aren't going to get much done; some reported PPD figures for an 8400 GS, which has twice the number of shaders, were in the range of 800-1200 PPD depending on project. Those reports were a few years old, but those numbers are probably still about what one would get today, and your card would be even slower.
Image
Zagen30
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:45 am

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby 7im » Wed Oct 03, 2012 10:16 pm

The version of the driver in Windows Update is not sufficient for folding. Download and install the latest driver suite from NV.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby P5-133XL » Wed Oct 03, 2012 10:39 pm

It has been my policy never to update drivers using Windows update. There is a general rule not to fix that which is not previously broken for you can only do harm and replacing a working driver fits well within that general rule.

If there is a need such as feature wanted or needed that you can identify by all means update a driver but always try to do it from the manufacturer, if possible. Other than that, leave them alone like unnecessary BIOS upgrades. As such I disable Microsoft automatic driver updates.
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby OfficeLinebacker » Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:07 pm

7im wrote:The version of the driver in Windows Update is not sufficient for folding. Download and install the latest driver suite from NV.

I believe the GPU client has given up, if you will. Once I install a new driver from NV, how do I get the GPU client to restart?
User avatar
OfficeLinebacker
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:23 pm

Re: How do I maximize my contribution (machine stats include

Postby bruce » Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:19 pm

When you installed the V7 client, which options did you choose? Please also post the first page of the log or the System info from the center tab in FAHControl (if it's running).

I would try rebooting, but if that doesn't work, reinstall V7.
bruce
 
Posts: 20140
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Next

Return to V7.1.52 Windows/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron