FAHcontrol playing up

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

FAHcontrol playing up

Postby paulwarden » Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:51 am

i am having a problem with fahcontrol it keeps downloading extra work units before i have even started folding on the first wu here is an example i am set up to fold on cpu and gpu i hace 3 insances of these 2 wu 8018 and 7200 they are listed as follows 8018 (174,0,80)running 7200 (16,0,359)ready 8018 (305,0,72)ready 7200 (77,10,343)running 8018 (771,0,53)ready 7200(39,7,278)ready this has only been happening since i upgraded system to an ssd with fresh instal of win 7 ultimate 64 bit
paulwarden
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby Napoleon » Mon Oct 08, 2012 12:13 pm

Could you post a log showing these spurious downloads?
Win7 64bit, FAH v7, OC'd
2C/4T Atom330 3x667MHz - GT430 2x832.5MHz - ION iGPU 3x466.7MHz
NaCl - Core_15 - display
User avatar
Napoleon
 
Posts: 887
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 3:31 pm
Location: Finland

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby paulwarden » Mon Oct 08, 2012 1:48 pm

sorry i have deleted all the software in frustration as the client kept on crashing i am going to do a reinstall of windows on my ssd as am now having problems with windows claiming it is not a valid copy when i only bought this copy 3 weeks ago from amazon
paulwarden
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby P5-133XL » Mon Oct 08, 2012 5:36 pm

Downloading a new WU before the old one is finished is normal behavior in the new v7 client. The goal is that no CPU/GPU folding time is wasted waiting for a download to finish. If this is a problem, you can set next-unit-percentage to a value of 100. Also v6 does not have this behavior so you can switch to the older version, if that is your desire.

A potential issue is that those ready WU's have already been completed and are waiting to be sent rather than pre-downloading. You can accumulate multiple WU's if the servers are not online when the client tries to send them or it may be just an internet connectivity issue. To distinguish, we'd need to see the logs (which no longer exist).

To set the next-unit-percentage: You would need to be in expert mode (upper right corner of FAHControl). Click configure; Go to the expert tab; click add in the extra client options (bottom left); enter next-unit-percentage in the name field and 100 in the value field; click OK then click save (lower right).
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby paulwarden » Mon Oct 08, 2012 8:40 pm

i had uninstalled the folding software and had not been folding for a week or so before i was given the SSD i am using everything was fine for a day or 2 then i had a slight problem with the client it totally froze up stayed that way for an hour before i used task manager to end the program on restarting it it downloaded 2 extra WUs then just sat there doing nothing even though hardware monitor said all cores and gpu were at 100% so uninstalled software checked everything out in my system even left prime95 running for 24hours to check overclock again yesterday i installed the v7 client again but straight away had the exact same problem 3 instances of same wu for cpu and gpu then refused to fold even said it was an unstable machine in the log as for the downloading of new WU before the last one has finished these were done before the last one had even started
paulwarden
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby P5-133XL » Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:48 pm

Prime 95 is not a particularly good predictor of a good stable OC for folding especially GPU folding. The fact is that the two programs don't do exactly the same thing so an OC that works on Prime95 can still cause folding to die. Really, the best OC checker for folding is actually folding with careful monitoring. Start out with no OC, and see if you continue having problems with unstable machine issues. If they disappear then you need a lower OC that won't cause folding to crash.

P.S. Dropping an OC just a little bit is also not a useful test to test stability. First need to find out if it is a factor at all and dropping it a little doesn't do that. If it isn't a factor then diagnosis of the unstable machine problem is totally different than the assumption that it is a OC problem. Once you've determined that OC'ing is the cause then changing the OC in small increments is appropiate.
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby bruce » Tue Oct 09, 2012 12:11 am

For CPU overclocking, I strongly recommend stresscpu since it is a direct port of the critical parts of the Gromacs code which is used in both SMP and in Uniprocessor clients and is MUCH more indicative of how those clients/slots will perform than Prime95. Also, Prime95 doesn't tell you anything about overclocking a GPU.
bruce
 
Posts: 20140
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby paulwarden » Tue Oct 09, 2012 8:39 am

thanks Bruce i know my overclock was stable as i had been folding on it for a while before i installed the SSD will check everything out once again and then try to load the v7 client again i just found it very strange that no sooner has it downloaded 1 set of work units that it then does so again straight away then i get unstable machine in log i have not changed any settings for my OC since i out in the SSD
paulwarden
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby P5-133XL » Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:17 am

OC's do not necessarily stay stable. You also haven't specified yet what is actually unstable, your CPU or GPU. Things like logs are kinda useful...
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby Nathan_P » Tue Oct 09, 2012 10:41 am

Maybe the SSD is on the fritz - especially if you have only had problems after you installed it
Image
Nathan_P
 
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 10:22 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel islands

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby paulwarden » Tue Oct 09, 2012 1:42 pm

will leave it for now as not going to be able to fold for a while now something has come up once i can get back to folding i will
paulwarden
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby 7im » Tue Oct 09, 2012 2:42 pm

Folding is stable, then you change hardware, then folding is unstable.

Whenever you upgrade hardware, you have to do all of your stability testing over again to find the new level of stability. Power and heat profiles have changed. And you might have even knocked something loose while swapping hardware. Testing needs to start from 0 again.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby bruce » Tue Oct 09, 2012 8:30 pm

You still have not posted a log so we have to ask lots of questions. What project number was associated with the "unstable machine" messages? Was it a SMP WU or a GPU WU or both?
bruce
 
Posts: 20140
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby paulwarden » Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:23 am

I cant post a log as i uninstalled the software and i listed the work units in my first post here they are again 8018 (174,0,80)running 7200 (16,0,359)ready 8018 (305,0,72)ready 7200 (77,10,343)running 8018 (771,0,53)ready 7200(39,7,278)ready it was smp and gpu
paulwarden
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:11 pm

Re: FAHcontrol playing up

Postby P5-133XL » Wed Oct 10, 2012 10:16 am

A list of WU's isn't going to tell us what happened. We can only guess and you are getting those.
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Next

Return to V7.1.52 Windows/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron