GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby nasaboy007 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:19 pm

Hello,

I am brand new to FAH. I'm trying to run FAH on my desktop. I installed it earlier this morning, and so its been running for a few hours now. The auto-configuration set it to GPU+SMP, which seems fine, and the SMP task has already gotten to 61%. However, the GPU task is still at 0% and doesn't seem to be going anywhere. It doesn't even seem to be using my GPU as the temps are still in idle range.

I have the Gigabyte AMD Radeon HD 7950, and it seems to be detecting correctly (labeled as Tahiti Pro 7950), but it isn't actually doing anything. I have included the logs for the GPU task below (note that I just restarted FAH so the timestamps are off, but in the hours before it was also on the same logs). I'm running the control panel (since I remember reading something about if it's a service, GPU folding doesn't work. I am on Windows 7 x64.

Any idea why my GPU isn't being used?

If you need any further information, I'd be glad to provide it.

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2012-10-19T20:04:41Z ***********************
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:Starting
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Username/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_16.fah/FahCore_16.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 701 -lifeline 5160 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 6700
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:Core PID:4520
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0x16 started
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:*------------------------------*
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:Folding@Home GPU Core
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:Version 2.11 (Thu Dec 9 15:00:14 PST 2010)
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:Compiler  : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 15.00.30729.01 for 80x86
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:Build host: user-f6d030f24f
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:Board Type: AMD/OpenCL
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:Core      : x=16
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16: Window's signal control handler registered.
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:Preparing to commence simulation
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:- Looking at optimizations...
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:- Files status OK
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:sizeof(CORE_PACKET_HDR) = 512 file=<>
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:- Expanded 45100 -> 171163 (decompressed 379.5 percent)
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=45100 data_size=171163, decompressed_data_size=171163 diff=0
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:- Digital signature verified
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:Project: 11293 (Run 13, Clone 64, Gen 34)
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:Assembly optimizations on if available.
20:04:42:WU00:FS00:0x16:Entering M.D.
20:04:44:WU00:FS00:0x16:Tpr hash 00/wudata_01.tpr:  1887978487 2483075916 194876550 2006148763 1887439579
20:04:44:WU00:FS00:0x16:Working on ALZHEIMER DISEASE AMYLOID
20:04:44:WU00:FS00:0x16:Client config unavailable.
20:04:44:WU00:FS00:0x16:Starting GUI Server

nasaboy007
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:07 pm

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby bollix47 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:26 pm

Please supply the System Info and Config sections of your log.

If you're not sure how to do that see: viewtopic.php?p=225958#p225958
bollix47
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby Joe_H » Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:29 pm

Also, which version of the drivers are you using? You also need to have OpenCL support installed for folding to proceed.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6683
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby nasaboy007 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:50 pm

I've included the requested information below. I'm not sure if I have OpenCL installed, how can I check?

Code: Select all
20:04:41:******************************* System ********************************
20:04:41:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3570K CPU @ 3.40GHz
20:04:41:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
20:04:41:         CPUs: 4
20:04:41:       Memory: 7.90GiB
20:04:41:  Free Memory: 5.00GiB
20:04:41:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
20:04:41:   On Battery: false
20:04:41:   UTC offset: -4
20:04:41:          PID: 5160
20:04:41:          CWD: C:/Users/Username/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
20:04:41:           OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
20:04:41:      OS Arch: AMD64
20:04:41:         GPUs: 1
20:04:41:        GPU 0: ATI:5 Tahiti PRO [Radeon HD 7950]
20:04:41:         CUDA: Not detected
20:04:41:Win32 Service: false
20:04:41:***********************************************************************


Code: Select all
20:04:42:<config>
20:04:42:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
20:04:42:  <gpu v='true'/>
20:04:42:
20:04:42:  <!-- Network -->
20:04:42:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
20:04:42:
20:04:42:  <!-- User Information -->
20:04:42:  <user v='nasaboy007'/>
20:04:42:
20:04:42:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
20:04:42:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'/>
20:04:42:  <slot id='1' type='SMP'/>
20:04:42:</config>


Code: Select all
Driver Packaging Version   8.982-120727a-145524C-ATI
Catalyst Version      12.8
Provider         Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
2D Driver Version      8.01.01.1253
Direct3D Version      9.14.10.0924
OpenGL Version         6.14.10.11762
Catalyst Control Center Version   2012.0806.1213.19931
nasaboy007
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:07 pm

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby bollix47 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:00 pm

To test your opencl see: viewtopic.php?p=225354#p225354

Also, it looks like you're using all 4 cores for your SMP but the ATI GPUs require a core unto themselves so you need to change your configuration for the SMP slot so that it only uses 3 cores. Otherwise the slots will be 'fighting' for CPU access and the slow down for the SMP projects can be quite significant.
bollix47
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby nasaboy007 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:13 pm

OpenCL is already installed (brought up the "Modify, Remove, Repair" screen when I ran the MSI).

As for changing the SMP slot to use 3 cores: is that just a matter of changing the field in config for "The number of CPU threads this slot should use" from -1 to 2 (since it has to be a multiple of 2)?
I changed that from -1 to 2, but the GPU task still doesn't seem to be running.
nasaboy007
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:07 pm

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby bollix47 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:18 pm

Not exactly. You want to change that number of cores to 3. I realize the GUI says to use even numbers but that's more for the higher numbers ... 3 works fine. Any prime number over 5 can have problems with some projects.

Also, you could try upgrading to 7.2.9 viewtopic.php?f=85&t=22657
bollix47
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby nasaboy007 » Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:23 pm

OK I've changed it to 3.

As for getting the GPU to work, could there be some sort of weird conflict with the Intel HD 4000? I have the ivybridge 3750k.
nasaboy007
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:07 pm

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby 7im » Fri Oct 19, 2012 10:48 pm

If this said more than one, it could be conflicting. So not likely.

20:04:41: GPUs: 1
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby nasaboy007 » Sat Oct 20, 2012 4:14 am

Hm, any other suggestions/ideas?
nasaboy007
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:07 pm

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby bollix47 » Sat Oct 20, 2012 10:00 am

Did you upgrade to 7.2.9 viewtopic.php?f=85&t=22657
bollix47
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby nasaboy007 » Sat Oct 20, 2012 3:41 pm

Yes, I did that last night to see if it would work. No change (GPU slot completion still at 0%).
nasaboy007
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:07 pm

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby bollix47 » Sat Oct 20, 2012 3:55 pm

I can't see anything obvious so try the following:

1. Try the opencl installer again and this time click on the Repair option.
2. If 1 didn't help try pausing the client and deleting work/00 ... then restart the client
3. If neither 1 or 2 help install 12.1 Catalyst drivers
bollix47
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby bollix47 » Sat Oct 20, 2012 4:06 pm

One more thing you could try is changing the GPU slot config from -1 to 1 and the opencl index from -1 to 1 but as 7im said that's highly unlikely since the client is only seeing 1 GPU and it's being identified properly. If you do try this and it doesn't help remember to change them both back to -1.
bollix47
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 6:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: GPU Not Making Progress (But Detected)

Postby nasaboy007 » Sat Oct 20, 2012 8:53 pm

Nope, tried all 4 of those suggestions, no dice...
nasaboy007
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 9:07 pm

Next

Return to V7.1.52 Windows/Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron