Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby nid-de-corbeau » Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:20 pm

7im wrote:...
As far as I know, you should not be getting fahcore_a1. I will sent a message to Pande Group to inquire about that problem.

There is also an option to help with work units not uploading. The v5 fah client added a feature where a completed work unit can upload to a backup (collection) server if the original work server is offline. With the v4 client, the client has to wait for the original server to be repaired. As you have seen on a slower system, there is little time to spare before the deadline expires if the work server is not repaired quickly.

I know the v5 console client will run in Windows 98, as long as you do not use the service installation, and do not enable Large Workunits. I don't recall if the v5 GUI client will run in Win 98. Maybe someone helpful will post about the GUI.


OK. Since it seems I have nothing to lose, as the advice is to delete the work queue and waste two work units anyway, before I do that I'm trying to run Win FAH 5.04 as suggested above to see if that can upload the work units.

I have been able to run the Win FAH 5.04 in console mode quite successfully, and the results are absolutely identical to those originally reported in my first post with Win FAH 4.01 - all messages are identical, upload is attempted to the same server that 4.01 tries unsuccessfully to upload to, with identical results, and 5.04 also downloads Core_a1 which cannot possibly run on my machine and give the same .DLL missing error.

By the way, 7im says "There is also an option to help with work units not uploading." but I cannot find any such option in Win FAH 5.04.


Here is the log produced with maximum verbosity from an attempt to upload the queue. I have also tried to individually upload the two work units, with the same result ...


Note: Please read the license agreement (FAH504-C.EXE -license). Further
use of this software requires that you have read and accepted this agreement.

----- QUOTE

--- Opening Log file [February 2 12:11:50]
# Windows Console Edition #####################################################
###############################################################################
Folding@Home Client Version 5.04beta
http://folding.stanford.edu
###############################################################################
###############################################################################
Launch directory: C:\Program Files\Folding@Home
Executable: C:\PROGRA~1\FOLDIN~1\FAH504-C.EXE
Arguments: -verbosity 9 -send all

[12:11:50] - Ask before connecting: No
[12:11:50] - User name: XXXX (Team 24)
[12:11:50] - User ID: 127D3010D667E9A
[12:11:50] - Machine ID: 1
[12:11:50]
[12:11:50] Loaded queue successfully.
[12:11:50] Attempting to return result(s) to server...
[12:11:50] Trying to send all finished work units

[12:11:50] + Attempting to send results
[12:11:50] - Reading file work/wuresults_09.dat from core
[12:11:50] (Read 440834 bytes from disk)
Microsoft Windows 98 [12:11:50] Connecting to http://171.64.122.136:80/
[12:11:52] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[12:11:52] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[12:11:52] (171.64.122.136:80)
[12:11:52] - Error: Could not transmit unit 09 (completed January 9) to work server.
[12:11:52] - 10 failed uploads of this unit.

[12:11:52] + Attempting to send results
[12:11:52] - Reading file work/wuresults_09.dat from core
[12:11:52] (Read 440834 bytes from disk)
[12:11:52] Connecting to http://171.64.122.76:80/
[12:11:54] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
[12:11:54] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[12:11:54] (171.64.122.76:80)
[12:11:54] Could not transmit unit 09 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
[12:11:54] + Sent 0 of 1 completed units to the server
[12:11:54] - Failed to send all units to server
[12:11:54] ***** Got a SIGTERM signal (2)
[12:11:54] Killing all core threads

Folding@Home Client Shutdown.

----- UNQUOTE

Any more ideas before I finally delete the work queue ?

I am quite disappointed by this - it is such a waste. I have a a number of machines running FAH 4.01, and I'm wondering if they are all going to fail in the same way.
nid-de-corbeau
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby bruce » Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:18 pm

nid-de-corbeau wrote:


Any more ideas before I finally delete the work queue ?

I am quite disappointed by this - it is such a waste. I have a a number of machines running FAH 4.01, and I'm wondering if they are all going to fail in the same way.


Yes. I can see a problem with those two servers. I'll see if I can get somebody to fix it.


Restart your client with the parameter string -delete 01 and then restart it again normally. It should proceed to download a new WU and go back to work. It will continue to try to upload unit 09 again, but we can deal with that later.
bruce
 
Posts: 21273
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby anandhanju » Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:23 pm

Edit: The long winded response cost me! Bruce, you beat me to it :mrgreen:

Mods~ An observation- It appears that sending the result to http://171.64.122.136:80/ is failing. I see that the server is up and accepting. However, when I try this link in my browser, it does NOT say OK while http://171.64.122.136:8080/ does. I see that the column labeled '80' in the stats page does not have a flag set for this server. Does that mean this server isn't accepting on port 80 anymore? The collection server (.76) is not reachable on either of the two ports. Is there a problem in the port assignments? If yes, can the OP send the archived FAH directory to PandeGroup for submission/points?

Also, the question remains, why was Project 2605 (SMP-core_a1) sent to this machine? Will the queue info posted by the OP be useful/sufficient for the PandeGroup to find this out?

nid-de-corbeau~ As 7im said, the helpful chap has asked PG to find out about the incorrect assignment. Also, I'm pretty sure they'll investigate if my observation is valid or hogwash.

Edit: Bruce's solution is much simpler! Makes my approach here look like using a tank to kill an ant :oops:

You can either wait for their replies (please do, these folks are helpful and knowledgeable!) or create a new v5 console Folding instance with a different machine id (in a different location). I do not know if you comfortable doing this but its fairly simple. It involved placing the console client in a new directory like C:\Program Files\Folding@Home2, starting it and while configuring, say yes to advanced options and set the machine id to 2. This way, one can retain the completed work in the old instance and attempt to send it at a later date and you can have a new queue file (and hopefully, useful work) in the new instance as well.

The following Wiki article may be helpful: http://fahwiki.net/index.php/FAH_%26_SM ... le_Clients

Please note, you cannot run both these clients simultaneously. I'd recommend that you add the -local flag to both client shortcuts so that it doesn't mess things up. Also, its better to retain the existing client as send only so that it doesn't download new work.
anandhanju
 
Posts: 659
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 4:33 am

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby nid-de-corbeau » Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:56 am

Whatever someone did at the server end seems to have fixed the problem.
Using FAH 5.04 in console mode (and I don't know if that helped; maybe FAH 4.01 would have worked as well) I got this result ..

----- QUOTE
...
[02:49:18] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
[02:49:18] (171.64.122.136:80)
[02:49:18] - Error: Could not transmit unit 09 (completed January 9) to work ser
ver.
[02:49:18] - 36 failed uploads of this unit.


[02:49:18] + Attempting to send results
[02:49:18] - Reading file work/wuresults_09.dat from core
[02:49:18] (Read 440834 bytes from disk)
[02:49:18] Connecting to http://171.64.122.76:80/
[02:49:31] Posted data.
[02:49:31] Initial: 0000; - Uploaded at ~33 kB/s
[02:49:31] - Averaged speed for that direction ~27 kB/s
[02:49:31] + Results successfully sent
[02:49:31] Thank you for your contribution to Folding@Home.
[02:49:31] + Number of Units Completed: 6

[02:49:31] Successfully sent unit 09 to Collection server.
[02:49:31] ***** Got a SIGTERM signal (2)
[02:49:31] Killing all core threads

Folding@Home Client Shutdown.
----- UNQUOTE

So the work is now uploaded, and, if necessary, I can blow away the now-empty queue and start again.

Thank you to those who posted replies and to those who did things behind the scenes.
nid-de-corbeau
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby bruce » Sun Feb 03, 2008 8:45 am

anandhanju wrote:Mods~ An observation- It appears that sending the result to http://171.64.122.136:80/ is failing. I see that the server is up and accepting. However, when I try this link in my browser, it does NOT say OK while http://171.64.122.136:8080/ does. I see that the column labeled '80' in the stats page does not have a flag set for this server. Does that mean this server isn't accepting on port 80 anymore?

That's correct. I've asked the appropriate people to get port 80 working again.

The collection server (.76) is not reachable on either of the two ports. Is there a problem in the port assignments? If yes, can the OP send the archived FAH directory to PandeGroup for submission/points?

The CS (.76) was down entirely That shows on the ServerStatus page, too. It has been rebooted (or whatever it needed) and that's why the OP's WU did upload. The WS (.136) is still not listening on port 80 but that's no longer an issue for the OP.

The upgrade from v4.01 to V5.04 was also responsible for the upload. Version 4 would still be waiting for http://171.64.122.136:80/ Version 5 included several new features which are not usable in Windows 98, but the main feature that is useful is the ability to upload to a Collection Server, which is what happened here == specifically to http://171.64.122.76:80/. 7im did mention this earlier.

nid-de-corbeau wrote:Whatever someone did at the server end seems to have fixed the problem.
Using FAH 5.04 in console mode (and I don't know if that helped; maybe FAH 4.01 would have worked as well) I got this result ..


No, FAH 4.01 would still be trying to upload to the primary server. See my last comment (above).
bruce
 
Posts: 21273
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby nid-de-corbeau » Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:22 am

Thanks again bruce for your efforts. I now know how to fix this particular problem using FAH 5.04 to upload should it occur again.

Following a queue deletion and restart, 4.01 has now downloaded a compatible new work unit and is again grinding away.
nid-de-corbeau
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby MstrBlstr » Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:28 pm

Why not just continue to use the FAH 5.04 version of the client? That way you should not have this issue in the future.
-=MB=-
User avatar
MstrBlstr
 
Posts: 791
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 7:03 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby nid-de-corbeau » Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:15 pm

MstrBlstr wrote:Why not just continue to use the FAH 5.04 version of the client? That way you should not have this issue in the future.


How can I install that as a service under Windows 98 ? I don't think that's possible.

A previous post said that the graphical version of 5.04 does not work under Windows 98.

So I need to run the console version of 5.04 under Windows 98. When i used it to do the upload, I ran it manually in a shell window.

Please tell me how I can run the console version automatically at startup under Windows 98.

Thanks.
nid-de-corbeau
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby ChelseaOilman » Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:34 pm

nid-de-corbeau wrote:Please tell me how I can run the console version automatically at startup under Windows 98.

The option to run the client as a service is in the configuration. I'm not sure if it works under Win98. Did you try it?
User avatar
ChelseaOilman
 
Posts: 1742
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 3:47 pm
Location: Colorado @ 10,000 feet

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby nid-de-corbeau » Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:14 pm

ChelseaOilman wrote: The option to run the client as a service is in the configuration. I'm not sure if it works under Win98. Did you try it?


I didn't.
There is no such thing as a service under Windows 98 and, as the FAH 4 client is specifically stated for being for older Windows versions and FAH 5 for being for Windows 2000 onwards (which do have services), I didn't want to run counter to the specific advice as to which version to run on which platform and also possibly risk blowing up either the Windows 98 operating system or the Folding.
nid-de-corbeau
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby bruce » Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:33 pm

nid-de-corbeau wrote:Please tell me how I can run the console version automatically at startup under Windows 98.

ChelseaOilman wrote:The option to run the client as a service is in the configuration. I'm not sure if it works under Win98. Did you try it?


In computer years, I must be one of the really old-timers here because I remember the answers.

The V5 client contains a service install option but it does not work in Win98.

The client can be started automatically by putting a shortcut to it in the startup program group. You can edit the shortcut properties to start the DOS window minimized but it will remain on the taskbar.

If the window on the taskbar bothers you, you can download utilities like Hideit or hideitx or trayit or . . . which will get it out of your way. I believe they all have a way to un-hide the DOS window which you'll need because Win98 will not do a shutdown if the DOS window is still active. There was a way to override that behavior of the DOS window keeping Windows from shutting down but I'll have to search for that information.

Quite independent of that, many folks were able to install a real service on Win98. The tools to create a service were on the Win98 Resource Disk but I can be fairly sure that you don't have one of them. There were also 3rd-party tools that allowed building a Win98 service but they probably are hard to find now. Either method of building a service was not simple but we did have a how-to written on the old forum. I don't know if it's worth trying to retrieve it. [Strange but true:] We didn't get the Console program to install as a service, but the GUI client could be a service.
bruce
 
Posts: 21273
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Folding 4 broken-multiple problems

Postby nid-de-corbeau » Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:06 am

Bruce,

Thanks for the that. Without intimately knowing all the details, I knew it wasn't that simple, and that's why I asked the person suggesting it for details on how to do it.

There seems to be a surplus of throwaway one-liner advice in this forum from people who don't consider who is going to bear the cost of implementing the advice and whether that cost is likely worth the benefit. Often the simplest solutions which have already worked most of the time for years are best left in place, with rare exceptions handled on an ad-hoc basis.

I'll leave the FAH 4 running. It's been working for a long time.
Thanks.
nid-de-corbeau
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 8:40 am

Previous

Return to Older Windows (98,ME only) client v4.x

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron