V6 SMP client problem

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

V6 SMP client problem

Postby Kittyhawk » Mon Nov 02, 2015 1:32 pm

It has been unable to get any work. What is wrong?
The following gets displayed:
Code: Select all
...
[13:26:05] + Attempting to get work packet
[13:26:05] - Connecting to assignment server
[13:26:06] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[13:26:06] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[13:26:06] - Attempt #1  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
[13:26:18] + Attempting to get work packet
[13:26:19] - Connecting to assignment server
[13:26:20] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[13:26:20] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[13:26:20] - Attempt #2  to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
...
Kittyhawk
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 7:01 am

Re: V6 SMP client problem

Postby toTOW » Mon Nov 02, 2015 4:56 pm

I'm not sure there are still work for v6 SMP clients ... I updated to v7 the last one I had months ago because it was too hard for it to get work ...
Folding@Home beta tester since 2002. Folding Forum moderator since July 2008.

FAH-Addict : latest news, tests and reviews about Folding@Home project.

Image
User avatar
toTOW
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 8931
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:38 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: V6 SMP client problem

Postby bruce » Mon Nov 02, 2015 7:12 pm

There may be intermittent periods of WU shortages / assignments. Upgrading to V7 is a good idea.

The projects that V6 can run will continue to gradually decrease in number over time.
bruce
 
Posts: 21407
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: V6 SMP client problem

Postby Nathan_P » Mon Nov 02, 2015 8:12 pm

v6 probably only really works with the large core a5 wu, I haven't seen an SMP unit on Linux for weeks now and I haven't had time to test either v7 on this distro or keep trying v6 SMP
Image
Nathan_P
 
Posts: 1715
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel islands

Re: V6 SMP client problem

Postby Kittyhawk » Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:27 pm

I didn't know there were limits as to which projects V6 could do.
Looks like I'll carry on using V7 for SMP folding.

After the V6 SMP client couldn't get new work, I tried Boinc Rosetta@Home for a few days, then tried Folding@Home V7.
From my experience so far, the RAM requirements for the latter are so much smaller. :D
~700MB per Rosetta@Home thread :shock: versus less than 100MB for SMP folding on 2 cores.
Kittyhawk
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2015 7:01 am

Re: V6 SMP client problem

Postby Nathan_P » Tue Nov 03, 2015 6:07 pm

Its not a question of limits, v6 can handle all the cpu cores, it struggles on the GPU cores as AFAIK it only works upto core 17.. The problem is the work server software has been upgraded and it doesn't like the v6 client for some reason.
Nathan_P
 
Posts: 1715
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel islands

Re: V6 SMP client problem

Postby 7im » Tue Nov 03, 2015 10:17 pm

Newer servers that support newer features for error reporting and such, that are not supported in the older client, have a Minimum Client Version setting. Most newer servers have a Min Ver setting of 7.0 or higher to prevent any compatibility issues. So newer projects tend to run on V7 client only, while older projects can run on both v6 and V7 clients. But as older projects are completed, no new projects with v6 support are added. Only new projects with V7 support. So the projects (and their work units) will diminish over time as already noted. The v6 client will eventually be deprecated by eventual attrition.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 15237
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: V6 SMP client problem

Postby bruce » Wed Nov 04, 2015 1:43 am

7im wrote:... as older projects are completed, no new projects with v6 support are added


False.

From time to time, Kasson adds new projects designed to use FahCore_a5 on V6 and to support Kraken.
bruce
 
Posts: 21407
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.


Return to CPU Projects - released FAHCores _a4 & _a7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron