Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby Nathan_P » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:34 pm

There are posts on Microsoft.com saying that 22c/44t is supported in Win 10 as one person states that his cpu's, 2699v4's, are showing all cores
Image
Nathan_P
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: Wed Apr 01, 2009 9:22 pm
Location: Jersey, Channel islands

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby Ricky » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:44 pm

Bruce,

I believe that the processors are hyper-theaded. With the right OS, there would be 80 threads total to use.
Ricky
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 1:34 am
Location: New Mexico

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby Kevincav » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:55 pm

msinfo32 shows 40 cores and 80 threads (split between the 2). The reason I keep mentioning 32 threads is that F@H isn't letting me run more than 32 threads per slot.

So what is the optimal setup for a slot to get the most work? I know when I was using cpu:20 For some reason, 20 * 4 (-2 for the gpu) is working now though. No clue why it's different than last time. Although I did do an update on everything, so that might have helped.
Kevincav
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:12 am

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby Kevincav » Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:57 pm

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... 23f?auth=1 For the max number of cores allowed.
Kevincav
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:12 am

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby Kevincav » Wed Sep 21, 2016 6:01 pm

ChristianVirtual wrote:Are those chips from eBay or similar and potentially "extra spicy" ? Any screenshot from CPU-Z ? Wonder if the steppings from both CPU support multi processing.

CPUs correct in socket ? Power cable for second CPU attached ? Does the BIOS show both CPUs ?


Yep, bought from ebay. Reading this made me go back and look up with ES really meant. I'm glad they have a good return policy. Time to send those back and not cheap out on OEM.
Kevincav
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:12 am

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby 7im » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:24 pm

A3 FAHCore (Windows 32 bit) is limited to 32 cores by default.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby Joe_H » Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:45 pm

ES could explain why the CPU's looked to the system like two 8-core i7's. That was the closest thing I could find based on the Family, Stepping, etc numbers shown in the log. And the clock speed was off for any of the production 20-core chips.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4344
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby Kevincav » Wed Sep 21, 2016 11:53 pm

Yeah ES makes sense now. Although, the weird thing is that when I restart it hits all 80 threads and decays over the day. We'll see if it gets fixed for the non ES versions.
Kevincav
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:12 am

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby jplacava » Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:21 am

Hi there, trying to determine if this thread is relevant to me.

I am running a dual Xeon E5-2680 v2 + NVIDIA GTX 1080 + 128 GB RAM on Windows 10 Pro - as is my habit, I am seeing how to squeeze the most juice out.

I expected FAH to register 40 CPUs (each has 10 cores + hyper-threading = 40 logical units)... but, oddly, it only registers 32... which is why I think the thread above may apply to me.

I did a little digging, and Windows 10 Pro (which is x64 - and I confirmed mine is), should not suffer the 32 thread limitation described above...(my understanding is that 256 cores are permitted). Nevertheless, FAH is reporting 32. And, as I have a GPU, one core is used for that... so that leaves 31 cores assigned to 1 slot (which above is stated as "unstable").

Note, I used a hardware monitor - all 40 threads appear to be firing... and other software I use that is multi-thread appears to hit all 40 threads (or at least more than 32) when specified.

(1) I don't think this 32 limitation is a "windows thing," it might be a FAH thing... but either way, do I need to take action?

(2) should I slot my cores differently so that I don't end up with the 'unstable' 31 core situation (useful to leave a core free for system/background stuff anyway).

Please advise.

Kind thanks,
John
jplacava
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby jplacava » Fri Dec 28, 2018 5:25 am

Ah - sorry, I missed a few messages in this thread because I had done a search and read only those hitting my query terms. So, please excuse if I have asked something that has been answered (in whole or in part). In short... is there an action I should take to increase CPU thread usage and make sure the numbers of threads per slot are 'good.' Cheers.
jplacava
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby Joe_H » Fri Dec 28, 2018 6:38 am

1. The 32 core limitation from prior research into this is a Windows thing and depends on which version of it you are running - Home, Pro, Server; and also depends on compiler flags used when compiling software to run on Windows. The OS itself may be able to schedule processes to use all available CPU threads, but without the appropriate settings in place a process will be limited to a number of threads determined by the Windows licensing limits.

I don't happen to know the compiler settings used for Windows, but this 32 thread limit has popped up before in connection with F@h. Under Linux and OS X it does not appear to be an issue.

2. If you are using the current version of the folding client it will get WU's that do not have problems with odd CPU thread settings. The current client version has code included to negotiate with the Assignment and Work Servers for WU's that will use as many threads as possible and will set the count to appropriate values. You might need to run more than one CPU slot to use all available CPU threads.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4344
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby JimboPalmer » Fri Dec 28, 2018 10:48 am

jplacava wrote:Hi there, trying to determine if this thread is relevant to me.


Yes. You can use it to notice that the OP got generic half hearted help until he posted the configuration portion of his log, then he got specific pointed help to focus on his issue.

Post the log, then the help get better.
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 736
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 4:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby jplacava » Fri Dec 28, 2018 2:21 pm

^^ Cheers -- indeed.
I didn't see a way to attach the .txt here (please hand me the pro tip to avoid this annoyance in the future), so, this is a copy/paste operation - hope that doesn't make an insanely long thread response. I truncated this significantly in order to try to avoid that, since, after a point, the info seemed all mostly repetitive... although one can find minor variations on closer inspection but all seemed related to the job being executed.

My System Info reports x64 but FAH says 32-bit/32-CPUs... but then is later in the log specified at 64-bit and 40-CPUs are noted.

-- much appreciated for all insight and assistance.

Note:

03:58:04: Platform: win32 10
03:58:04: Bits: 32
03:58:04: Mode: Release
...
03:58:04: CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2680 v2 @ 2.80GHz
03:58:04: CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 62 Stepping 4
03:58:04: CPUs: 32

THEN

Code: Select all
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       SIMD: avx_256
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ System ************************************
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CPU: Unknown
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     CPU ID:
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       CPUs: 40



Truncated log:
*********************** Log Started 2018-12-28T03:58:04Z ***********************
03:58:04:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
03:58:04:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
03:58:04:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
03:58:04:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
03:58:04:           Args: --open-web-control
03:58:04:         Config: <none>
03:58:04:******************************** Build ********************************
03:58:04:        Version: 7.5.1
03:58:04:           Date: May 11 2018
03:58:04:           Time: 13:06:32
03:58:04:     Repository: Git
03:58:04:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
03:58:04:         Branch: master
03:58:04:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
03:58:04:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
03:58:04:       Platform: win32 10
03:58:04:           Bits: 32
03:58:04:           Mode: Release
03:58:04:******************************* System ********************************
03:58:04:            CPU: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2680 v2 @ 2.80GHz
03:58:04:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 62 Stepping 4
03:58:04:           CPUs: 32
03:58:04:         Memory: 127.93GiB
03:58:04:    Free Memory: 112.49GiB
03:58:04:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
03:58:04:     OS Version: 6.2
03:58:04:    Has Battery: false
03:58:04:     On Battery: false
03:58:04:     UTC Offset: -5
03:58:04:            PID: 7740
03:58:04:            CWD: C:\Users\ProteHomics\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
03:58:04:             OS: Windows 10 Enterprise
03:58:04:        OS Arch: AMD64
03:58:04:           GPUs: 0
03:58:04:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:5 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:9.1
03:58:04:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:5 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:388.13
03:58:04:  Win32 Service: false
03:58:04:***********************************************************************
03:58:04:<config>
03:58:04:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
03:58:04:</config>
03:58:04:Connecting to assign1.foldingathome.org:8080
03:58:04:Updated GPUs.txt
03:58:04:Read GPUs.txt
03:58:04:Trying to access database...
03:58:04:Successfully acquired database lock
03:58:04:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:30 (not configured)
03:58:04:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1080] 8873 (not configured)
03:58:07:10:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
03:58:46:Set client configured
03:58:47:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
03:58:47:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
03:58:47:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
03:58:47:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 155.247.166.220
03:58:47:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY cpu:30 from 155.247.166.220
03:58:47:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 155.247.166.220
03:58:47:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 155.247.166.220:8080
03:58:47:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1080] 8873 from 155.247.166.220
03:58:47:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 155.247.166.220:8080
03:58:54:WU00:FS00:Downloading 795.89KiB
03:58:54:WU01:FS01:Downloading 1.02MiB
03:58:54:WU01:FS01:Download complete
03:58:54:WU00:FS00:Download complete
03:58:54:WU01:FS01:Received Unit: id:01 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:14124 run:15 clone:35 gen:28 core:0x21 unit:0x000000250002894c5c0ae6bd5f1041cc
03:58:54:WU01:FS01:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah
03:58:54:WU01:FS01:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
03:58:54:WU00:FS00:Received Unit: id:00 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:14111 run:0 clone:15 gen:25 core:0xa7 unit:0x0000001f0002894c5b840181250e3b91
03:58:54:WU00:FS00:Downloading core from http://cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah
03:58:54:WU00:FS00:Connecting to cores.foldingathome.org:80
03:58:55:WU01:FS01:FahCore 21: Downloading 3.47MiB
03:58:55:WU00:FS00:FahCore a7: Downloading 6.82MiB
03:58:55:WU01:FS01:FahCore 21: Download complete
03:58:55:WU01:FS01:Valid core signature
03:58:55:WU01:FS01:Unpacked 11.80MiB to cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe
03:58:56:WU01:FS01:Starting
03:58:56:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\ProteHomics\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 7740 -checkpoint 15 -gpu-vendor nvidia -opencl-platform 0 -opencl-device 0 -cuda-device 0 -gpu 0
03:58:56:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 14784
03:58:56:WU01:FS01:Core PID:9656
03:58:56:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
03:58:56:WU00:FS00:FahCore a7: Download complete
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2018-12-28T03:58:56Z ***********************
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:Project: 14124 (Run 15, Clone 35, Gen 28)
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:Unit: 0x000000250002894c5c0ae6bd5f1041cc
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:Machine: 1
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file core.xml
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file integrator.xml
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file state.xml
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file system.xml
03:58:57:WU00:FS00:Valid core signature
03:58:57:WU00:FS00:Unpacked 20.16MiB to cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:Digital signatures verified
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
03:58:57:WU00:FS00:Unpacked 2.64MiB to cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah/libfftw3f-3.dll
03:58:57:WU01:FS01:0x21:Version 0.0.18
03:58:57:WU00:FS00:Starting
03:58:57:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\ProteHomics\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 7740 -checkpoint 15 -np 30
03:58:57:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 14284
03:58:57:WU00:FS00:Core PID:18220
03:58:57:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0xa7 started
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:*********************** Log Started 2018-12-28T03:58:57Z ***********************
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************** Gromacs Folding@home Core ***************************
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Type: 0xa7
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Core: Gromacs
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Website: https://foldingathome.org/
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:  Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Args: -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 14284 -checkpoint 15 -np
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:             30
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Config: <none>
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ Build *************************************
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Version: 0.0.17
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Apr 27 2018
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 16:19:36
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7: Repository: Git
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: 21359963583d09ec2063ef946399441c4df4ccd7
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       SIMD: avx_256
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ System ************************************
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CPU: Unknown
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     CPU ID:
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       CPUs: 40
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Memory: 127.93GiB
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Free Memory: 112.49GiB
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7: OS Version: 6.2
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Has Battery: false
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7: On Battery: false
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7: UTC Offset: -5
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        PID: 18220
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CWD: C:\Users\ProteHomics\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\work
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:         OS: Windows 10 Pro
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    OS Arch: AMD64
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:********************************************************************************
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Project: 14111 (Run 0, Clone 15, Gen 25)
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Unit: 0x0000001f0002894c5b840181250e3b91
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Reading tar file core.xml
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Reading tar file frame25.tpr
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Digital signatures verified
03:58:58:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Calling: mdrun -s frame25.tpr -o frame25.trr -cpt 15 -nt 30
03:59:05:Saving configuration to config.xml
03:59:05:<config>
03:59:05:  <!-- User Information -->
03:59:05:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
03:59:05:  <user v='JLaCava'/>
03:59:05:
03:59:05:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
03:59:05:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
03:59:05:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
03:59:05:</config>
03:59:21:WU01:FS01:0x21:ERROR:exception: Error initializing context: clCreateContext (-5)
03:59:21:WU01:FS01:0x21:Saving result file logfile_01.txt
03:59:21:WU01:FS01:0x21:Saving result file log.txt
03:59:21:WU01:FS01:0x21:Folding@home Core Shutdown: BAD_WORK_UNIT
03:59:22:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Steps: first=62500000 total=2500000
03:59:22:WARNING:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
03:59:22:WU01:FS01:Sending unit results: id:01 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:14124 run:15 clone:35 gen:28 core:0x21 unit:0x000000250002894c5c0ae6bd5f1041cc
03:59:22:WU01:FS01:Uploading 2.25KiB to 155.247.166.220
03:59:22:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 155.247.166.220:8080
03:59:22:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:8080
03:59:23:WU02:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.231
03:59:23:WU02:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GP104 [GeForce GTX 1080] 8873 from 140.163.4.231
03:59:23:WU02:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.231:8080
03:59:23:WU02:FS01:Downloading 25.28MiB
03:59:23:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 1 out of 2500000 steps (0%)
03:59:25:WU01:FS01:Upload complete
03:59:25:WU01:FS01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
03:59:25:WU01:FS01:Cleaning up
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:Download complete
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:Received Unit: id:02 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:11718 run:0 clone:1601 gen:196 core:0x21 unit:0x0000010b8ca304e75b89900cd39d3f1a
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:Starting
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\ProteHomics\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 7740 -checkpoint 15 -gpu-vendor nvidia -opencl-platform 0 -opencl-device 0 -cuda-device 0 -gpu 0
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 8620
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:Core PID:17716
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2018-12-28T03:59:26Z ***********************
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:0x21:Project: 11718 (Run 0, Clone 1601, Gen 196)
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:0x21:Unit: 0x0000010b8ca304e75b89900cd39d3f1a
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:0x21:Machine: 1
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file core.xml
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file integrator.xml
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file state.xml
03:59:26:WU02:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file system.xml
03:59:28:WU02:FS01:0x21:Digital signatures verified
03:59:32:WU02:FS01:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
03:59:32:WU02:FS01:0x21:Version 0.0.18
03:59:51:FS00:Shutting core down
03:59:51:WU00:FS00:0xa7:WARNING:Console control signal 1 on PID 18220
03:59:51:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Exiting, please wait. . .
03:59:52:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Folding@home Core Shutdown: INTERRUPTED
03:59:52:WU00:FS00:FahCore returned: INTERRUPTED (102 = 0x66)
03:59:52:WU00:FS00:Starting
03:59:52:WARNING:WU00:FS00:Changed SMP threads from 30 to 31 this can cause some work units to fail
03:59:52:WARNING:WU00:FS00:AS lowered CPUs from 31 to 30
03:59:52:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\ProteHomics\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 7740 -checkpoint 15 -np 30
03:59:52:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 19844
03:59:52:WU00:FS00:Core PID:12032
03:59:52:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0xa7 started
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:*********************** Log Started 2018-12-28T03:59:52Z ***********************
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************** Gromacs Folding@home Core ***************************
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Type: 0xa7
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Core: Gromacs
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Website: https://foldingathome.org/
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:  Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Args: -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 19844 -checkpoint 15 -np
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:             30
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Config: <none>
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ Build *************************************
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Version: 0.0.17
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Apr 27 2018
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 16:19:36
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7: Repository: Git
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: 21359963583d09ec2063ef946399441c4df4ccd7
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       SIMD: avx_256
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ System ************************************
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CPU: Unknown
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     CPU ID:
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       CPUs: 40
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Memory: 127.93GiB
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Free Memory: 114.09GiB
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7: OS Version: 6.2
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Has Battery: false
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7: On Battery: false
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7: UTC Offset: -5
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        PID: 12032
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CWD: C:\Users\ProteHomics\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\work
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:         OS: Windows 10 Pro
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    OS Arch: AMD64
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:********************************************************************************
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Project: 14111 (Run 0, Clone 15, Gen 25)
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Unit: 0x0000001f0002894c5b840181250e3b91
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Digital signatures verified
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Calling: mdrun -s frame25.tpr -o frame25.trr -cpi state.cpt -cpt 15 -nt 30
03:59:53:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Steps: first=62500000 total=2500000
03:59:54:WU02:FS01:0x21:Completed 0 out of 5000000 steps (0%)
03:59:54:WU02:FS01:0x21:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900
03:59:55:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 1942 out of 2500000 steps (0%)
04:00:06:Saving configuration to config.xml
04:00:06:<config>
04:00:06:  <!-- Slot Control -->
04:00:06:  <power v='FULL'/>
04:00:06:
04:00:06:  <!-- User Information -->
04:00:06:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
04:00:06:  <user v='JLaCava'/>
04:00:06:
04:00:06:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
04:00:06:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
04:00:06:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
04:00:06:</config>
04:02:07:WU02:FS01:0x21:Completed 50000 out of 5000000 steps (1%)
04:03:24:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Completed 25000 out of 2500000 steps (1%)
04:04:21:WU02:FS01:0x21:Completed 100000 out of 5000000 steps (2%)
04:06:35:WU02:FS01:0x21:Completed 150000 out of 5000000 steps (3%)
04:06:37:FS00:Shutting core down
04:06:37:FS01:Shutting core down
04:06:37:WU02:FS01:0x21:WARNING:Console control signal 1 on PID 17716
04:06:37:WU00:FS00:0xa7:WARNING:Console control signal 1 on PID 12032
04:06:37:WU02:FS01:0x21:Exiting, please wait. . .
04:06:37:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Exiting, please wait. . .
04:06:38:WU02:FS01:FahCore returned: INTERRUPTED (102 = 0x66)
04:06:38:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Folding@home Core Shutdown: INTERRUPTED
04:06:38:WU00:FS00:FahCore returned: INTERRUPTED (102 = 0x66)
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:Starting
04:06:49:WARNING:WU00:FS00:AS lowered CPUs from 31 to 30
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\ProteHomics\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/AVX/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 7740 -checkpoint 15 -np 30
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 11168
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:Core PID:19440
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0xa7 started
04:06:49:WU02:FS01:Starting
04:06:49:WU02:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\ProteHomics\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 7740 -checkpoint 15 -gpu-vendor nvidia -opencl-platform 0 -opencl-device 0 -cuda-device 0 -gpu 0
04:06:49:WU02:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 9548
04:06:49:WU02:FS01:Core PID:15600
04:06:49:WU02:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:*********************** Log Started 2018-12-28T04:06:49Z ***********************
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************** Gromacs Folding@home Core ***************************
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Type: 0xa7
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Core: Gromacs
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Website: https://foldingathome.org/
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:  Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Args: -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 11168 -checkpoint 15 -np
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:             30
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Config: <none>
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ Build *************************************
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Version: 0.0.17
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Apr 27 2018
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 16:19:36
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7: Repository: Git
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: 21359963583d09ec2063ef946399441c4df4ccd7
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       SIMD: avx_256
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:************************************ System ************************************
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CPU: Unknown
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     CPU ID:
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:       CPUs: 40
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:     Memory: 127.93GiB
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Free Memory: 114.38GiB
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7: OS Version: 6.2
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:Has Battery: false
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7: On Battery: false
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7: UTC Offset: -5
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        PID: 19440
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:        CWD: C:\Users\ProteHomics\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\work
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:         OS: Windows 10 Pro
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:    OS Arch: AMD64
04:06:49:WU00:FS00:0xa7:********************************************************************************
jplacava
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:29 pm

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby foldy » Fri Dec 28, 2018 3:40 pm

AS lowered CPUs from 31 to 30
Looks like your CPU slot was configured to use 30 cores automatically. You have 40 logical cores total and need one to feed your GPU and one for the OS = 38 max left for CPU slots. As your CPU slot only uses 30 cores it makes sense to create a second CPU slot.
foldy
 
Posts: 1305
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Dual 20 Core xeons only one being utilized.

Postby jplacava » Fri Dec 28, 2018 4:01 pm

Sweet. I will give that a shot, thanks a lot.
jplacava
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:29 pm

PreviousNext

Return to CPU Projects - released FAHCores _a4 & _a7

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron