FAH Core 21 stops working

If you think it might be a driver problem, see viewforum.php?f=79

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

FAH Core 21 stops working

Postby rickoic » Thu Jul 28, 2016 9:33 pm

Windows 10 gives me the message that Fah Core 21 has stopped running and that it will contact me when a solution is available.

Been having this problem for several days and have tried the following:
1. Deleted the Core directory and made it download a new core. (Didn't work)
2. Deleted all of FAH and reinstalled after a reboot. (Didn't work)
3. Reseated all RAM sticks and GPU. (Didn't work)
4. Removed GPU and replaced it with another from another machine that it was working in. (Didn't Work)

Just saw the bad platform size line but I have no Idea what that means.

Below is the log entry from the last remove of FAH, reboot and then reinstall. Any ideas would be helpful.

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2016-07-28T21:11:57Z ***********************
21:11:57:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
21:11:57:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
21:11:57:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
21:11:57:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
21:11:57:         Args:
21:11:57:       Config: C:/Users/Main/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
21:11:57:******************************** Build ********************************
21:11:57:      Version: 7.4.4
21:11:57:         Date: Mar 4 2014
21:11:57:         Time: 20:26:54
21:11:57:      SVN Rev: 4130
21:11:57:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
21:11:57:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
21:11:57:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
21:11:57:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
21:11:57:     Platform: win32 XP
21:11:57:         Bits: 32
21:11:57:         Mode: Release
21:11:57:******************************* System ********************************
21:11:57:          CPU: AMD Opteron(TM) Processor 6238
21:11:57:       CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 21 Model 1 Stepping 2
21:11:57:         CPUs: 12
21:11:57:       Memory: 4.00GiB
21:11:57:  Free Memory: 2.80GiB
21:11:57:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
21:11:57:   OS Version: 6.2
21:11:57:  Has Battery: false
21:11:57:   On Battery: false
21:11:57:   UTC Offset: -5
21:11:57:          PID: 5980
21:11:57:          CWD: C:/Users/Main/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
21:11:57:           OS: Windows 10 Pro
21:11:57:      OS Arch: AMD64
21:11:57:         GPUs: 1
21:11:57:        GPU 0: NVIDIA:5 GM206 [GeForce GTX 960]
21:11:57:         CUDA: Not detected
21:11:57:Win32 Service: false
21:11:57:***********************************************************************
21:11:57:<config>
21:11:57:  <!-- Network -->
21:11:57:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
21:11:57:
21:11:57:  <!-- Slot Control -->
21:11:57:  <power v='FULL'/>
21:11:57:
21:11:57:  <!-- User Information -->
21:11:57:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
21:11:57:  <team v='15'/>
21:11:57:  <user v='rickoic'/>
21:11:57:
21:11:57:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
21:11:57:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
21:11:57:    <client-type v='beta'/>
21:11:57:    <max-packet-size v='big'/>
21:11:57:  </slot>
21:11:57:</config>
21:11:57:Trying to access database...
21:12:02:Successfully acquired database lock
21:12:02:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:GM206 [GeForce GTX 960]
21:12:03:WU00:FS01:Starting
21:12:03:WU00:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Main/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/beta/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 5980 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
21:12:03:WU00:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 6696
21:12:04:WU00:FS01:Core PID:6716
21:12:04:WU00:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
21:12:04:WU00:FS01:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2016-07-28T21:12:04Z ***********************
21:12:04:WU00:FS01:0x21:Project: 13200 (Run 0, Clone 32, Gen 174)
21:12:04:WU00:FS01:0x21:Unit: 0x000000c2ab404144570e96ab9359f9e3
21:12:04:WU00:FS01:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
21:12:04:WU00:FS01:0x21:Machine: 1
21:12:04:WU00:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file core.xml
21:12:04:WU00:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file system.xml
21:12:14:WU00:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file integrator.xml
21:12:14:WU00:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file state.xml
21:12:21:WU00:FS01:0x21:Digital signatures verified
21:12:22:WU00:FS01:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
21:12:22:WU00:FS01:0x21:Version 0.0.17

21:12:22:WU00:FS01:0x21:ERROR:Bad platformId size.

21:12:22:WU00:FS01:0x21:Saving result file logfile_01.txt
21:12:22:WU00:FS01:0x21:Saving result file log.txt
21:12:22:WU00:FS01:0x21:Folding@home Core Shutdown: BAD_WORK_UNIT
21:12:23:WARNING:WU00:FS01:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
21:12:24:WU00:FS01:Sending unit results: id:00 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:13200 run:0 clone:32 gen:174 core:0x21 unit:0x000000c2ab404144570e96ab9359f9e3
21:12:24:WU00:FS01:Uploading 2.46KiB to 171.64.65.68
21:12:24:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.68:8080
21:12:25:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
21:12:25:WU00:FS01:Upload complete
21:12:26:WU00:FS01:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
21:12:26:WU00:FS01:Cleaning up
21:12:27:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.68
21:12:27:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GM206 [GeForce GTX 960] from 171.64.65.68
21:12:27:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.68:8080
21:12:29:WU01:FS01:Downloading 20.53MiB
21:12:35:WU01:FS01:Download 52.05%
21:12:40:WU01:FS01:Download complete
21:12:40:WU01:FS01:Received Unit: id:01 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:13200 run:0 clone:29 gen:163 core:0x21 unit:0x000000b8ab404144570e96bdde52ec4e
21:12:40:WU01:FS01:Starting
21:12:40:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Main/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/beta/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 5980 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
21:12:40:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 1212
21:12:40:WU01:FS01:Core PID:828
21:12:40:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
21:12:41:WU01:FS01:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2016-07-28T21:12:40Z ***********************
21:12:41:WU01:FS01:0x21:Project: 13200 (Run 0, Clone 29, Gen 163)
21:12:41:WU01:FS01:0x21:Unit: 0x000000b8ab404144570e96bdde52ec4e
21:12:41:WU01:FS01:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
21:12:41:WU01:FS01:0x21:Machine: 1
21:12:41:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file core.xml
21:12:41:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file system.xml
21:12:48:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file integrator.xml
21:12:48:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file state.xml
21:12:52:WU01:FS01:0x21:Digital signatures verified
21:12:52:WU01:FS01:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
21:12:52:WU01:FS01:0x21:Version 0.0.17
21:13:27:WARNING:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned an unknown error code which probably indicates that it crashed
21:13:27:WARNING:WU01:FS01:FahCore returned: UNKNOWN_ENUM (-1073741819 = 0xc0000005)
21:13:27:WU01:FS01:Starting
21:13:27:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Main/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/beta/Core_21.fah/FahCore_21.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 5980 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
21:13:27:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 6452
21:13:27:WU01:FS01:Core PID:5864
21:13:27:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x21 started
21:13:28:WU01:FS01:0x21:*********************** Log Started 2016-07-28T21:13:27Z ***********************
21:13:28:WU01:FS01:0x21:Project: 13200 (Run 0, Clone 29, Gen 163)
21:13:28:WU01:FS01:0x21:Unit: 0x000000b8ab404144570e96bdde52ec4e
21:13:28:WU01:FS01:0x21:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
21:13:28:WU01:FS01:0x21:Machine: 1
21:13:28:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file core.xml
21:13:28:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file system.xml
21:13:34:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file integrator.xml
21:13:34:WU01:FS01:0x21:Reading tar file state.xml
21:13:39:WU01:FS01:0x21:Digital signatures verified
21:13:39:WU01:FS01:0x21:Folding@home GPU Core21 Folding@home Core
21:13:39:WU01:FS01:0x21:Version 0.0.17
Duel 2.8 3 250's Quad 2.4 285. 260, Quad 2.4 3 250 , i7 2.27 2 250 GPU's, i7 2.24 2 250 GPU's, i7 3.06 bigadv, duel Xeon 2.27 bigadv, AMD Phenom ][ 3 250 GPU's, Laptop GT 130M.
I'm folding because Dec 2005 I had radical prostrate surgery.
rickoic
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:49 pm
Location: Mississippi near Memphis, Tn

Re: FAH Core 21 stops working

Postby Joe_H » Thu Jul 28, 2016 9:43 pm

Did Windows download and install a video driver update on your system? If it did, the updates from MS are often missing key components needed for folding such as OpenCL support. If that is what happened, then you will need to download the driver appropriate for your GPU from nVidia and install that. That is the usual reason for the "Bad platformId size" error message.

You may need to reinstall the folding client after reinstalling the drivers. It is recommended that updates to drivers be disabled in Windows Update on machines that are used for folding and driver updates be obtained directly from nVidia.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4188
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: FAH Core 21 stops working

Postby rickoic » Thu Jul 28, 2016 10:13 pm

Checked with my NVIDIA GeForce Experience and it said that a new driver was available a couple of weeks ago. Notice apparently flew right past me. Installing it now to see if that fixes the problem. (fingers crossed)\Tks\
rickoic
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:49 pm
Location: Mississippi near Memphis, Tn

Re: FAH Core 21 stops working

Postby rickoic » Fri Jul 29, 2016 5:40 pm

That fixed the problem. Been running over 12 hours without the error popping up.

Tks

Rick
rickoic
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 4:49 pm
Location: Mississippi near Memphis, Tn


Return to GPU Projects and FahCores

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron