GPU is on the whitelist, but v7.3.6 isn't seeing it

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Post Reply
Paddon
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 1:34 am

GPU is on the whitelist, but v7.3.6 isn't seeing it

Post by Paddon »

First, system specs:

Code: Select all

00:56:34:******************************** Build ********************************
00:56:34:      Version: 7.3.6
00:56:34:         Date: Feb 18 2013
00:56:34:         Time: 15:25:17
00:56:34:      SVN Rev: 3923
00:56:34:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
00:56:34:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
00:56:34:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
00:56:34:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
00:56:34:     Platform: win32 XP
00:56:34:         Bits: 32
00:56:34:         Mode: Release
00:56:34:******************************* System ********************************
00:56:34:          CPU: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+
00:56:34:       CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 15 Model 107 Stepping 1
00:56:34:         CPUs: 2
00:56:34:       Memory: 4.00GiB
00:56:34:  Free Memory: 2.53GiB
00:56:34:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
00:56:34:  Has Battery: false
00:56:34:   On Battery: false
00:56:34:   UTC offset: -4
00:56:34:          PID: 4224
00:56:34:          CWD: C:/Documents and Settings/All Users/Application Data/FAHClient
00:56:34:           OS: Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 2
00:56:34:      OS Arch: AMD64
00:56:34:         GPUs: 1
00:56:34:        GPU 0: UNSUPPORTED: G84 [GeForce 8400 GS]
00:56:34:         CUDA: 1.1
00:56:34:  CUDA Driver: 5000
00:56:34:Win32 Service: false
It's that 4th from last line that is irking me, that it sees the GPU as Unsupported. I checked the whitelist, and wouldn't you know it, there was my card: "0x10de:0x0404:::G84 [GeForce 8400 GS]"

I ran "fahclient --lspci" to grab the device id and so on, and sure enough that was it. So, I downloaded the whitelist, put it into the data directory, restarted the client, and told it to add a GPU slot. It comes back and says there are no more GPU slots. What gives?

Mod - edited to add code tags
Image
compdewd
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2012 6:56 am
Hardware configuration: [1] Debian 8 64-bit: EVGA NVIDIA GTX 650 Ti, MSI NVIDIA GTX 460, AMD FX-8120
[2] Windows 7 64-bit: MSI NVIDIA GTX 460, AMD Phenom II X4
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Contact:

Re: GPU is on the whitelist, but v7.3.6 isn't seeing it

Post by compdewd »

I learned this a while ago with the same GPU: the list to which you are referring is not only GPUs that are whitelisted, but rather all recognized GPUs, even blacklisted (unsupported) ones. I own the same GPU and I worked around the blacklisting by running the GPU with FAH GPU Tracker, but that was a while ago. I had a lot of UNSTABLE_MACHINE errors with the GPU even though it was at stock clocks. It didn't seem like a reliable GPU and it's probably blacklisted for a reason.

If you want to contribute with a GPU, my advice is to upgrade. There are cheap (<$100) GPUs that will work for FAH if you would like to upgrade :)

EDIT: This is the thread where I asked for help with my 8400 GS: viewtopic.php?f=83&t=21783
bruce
Posts: 20910
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU is on the whitelist, but v7.3.6 isn't seeing it

Post by bruce »

As you surmise, the 8400 GS has been explicitly blacklisted because it was missing some feature or turned out to be unreliable. Completing (X)% of the assignments and causing errors for (100-X)% was found to produce a negative amount of science.
Paddon
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 1:34 am

Re: GPU is on the whitelist, but v7.3.6 isn't seeing it

Post by Paddon »

Folding! FOR SCIENCE!!
bruce wrote:As you surmise, the 8400 GS ... was found to produce a negative amount of science.
Or, not so much.

Thank you for the reply.
Image
7im
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Hardware configuration: Intel i7-4770K @ 4.5 GHz, 16 GB DDR3-2133 Corsair Vengence (black/red), EVGA GTX 760 @ 1200 MHz, on an Asus Maximus VI Hero MB (black/red), in a blacked out Antec P280 Tower, with a Xigmatek Night Hawk (black) HSF, Seasonic 760w Platinum (black case, sleeves, wires), 4 SilenX 120mm Case fans with silicon fan gaskets and silicon mounts (all black), a 512GB Samsung SSD (black), and a 2TB Black Western Digital HD (silver/black).
Location: Arizona
Contact:

Re: GPU is on the whitelist, but v7.3.6 isn't seeing it

Post by 7im »

Every entry for "whitelist" needs to change to WL/BL!
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
Paddon
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 1:34 am

Re: GPU is on the whitelist, but v7.3.6 isn't seeing it

Post by Paddon »

7im wrote:Every entry for "whitelist" needs to change to WL/BL!
Seconded!
Image
Post Reply