gtx 660 ti Failed to get assignment

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

gtx 660 ti Failed to get assignment

Postby a1111exe » Sat Aug 17, 2013 11:44 am

Hi.

I'm new to Folding@home. About a 2 weeks ago I installed FAHClient, FAHControl and FAHViewer:
dpkg -l | grep -i fah
Code: Select all
ii  fahclient                                      7.3.6                                      amd64        Folding@home Console Client
ii  fahcontrol                                     7.3.6-1                                    all          Folding@home Client Control
ii  fahviewer                                      7.3.6                                      amd64        Folding@home 3D Simulation Viewer

Here is my system's details:
uname -a
Code: Select all
Linux 3.8.0-19-generic #30-Ubuntu SMP Wed May 1 16:35:23 UTC 2013 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

cat /proc/version
Code: Select all
Linux version 3.8.0-19-generic (buildd@allspice) (gcc version 4.7.3 (Ubuntu/Linaro 4.7.3-1ubuntu1) ) #30-Ubuntu SMP Wed May 1 16:35:23 UTC 2013

cat /proc/driver/nvidia/version
Code: Select all
NVRM version: NVIDIA UNIX x86_64 Kernel Module  325.15  Wed Jul 31 18:50:56 PDT 2013
GCC version:  gcc version 4.7.3 (Ubuntu/Linaro 4.7.3-1ubuntu1)

cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep 'model name'
Code: Select all
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad  CPU   Q8200  @ 2.33GHz
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad  CPU   Q8200  @ 2.33GHz
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad  CPU   Q8200  @ 2.33GHz
model name   : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad  CPU   Q8200  @ 2.33GHz

So I have 2 slots - one for CPU and one for GPU. While CPU is running the GPU slot is in status 'Ready' only. The following are some screenshots and log records that provide far more detailed picture:
CPU is running
Image
GPU is ready (only)
Image
System info
Image
Log
Code: Select all
10:43:26:Adding folding slot 00: READY cpu:4
10:43:26:Saving configuration to /etc/fahclient/config.xml
10:43:26:<config>
10:43:26:  <!-- Client Control -->
10:43:26:  <fold-anon v='true'/>
10:43:26:
10:43:26:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
10:43:26:  <power v='full'/>
10:43:26:
10:43:26:  <!-- Network -->
10:43:26:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
10:43:26:
10:43:26:  <!-- User Information -->
10:43:26:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
10:43:26:  <user v='a1111exe'/>
10:43:26:
10:43:26:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
10:43:26:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
10:43:26:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
10:43:26:    <cpus v='-1'/>
10:43:26:  </slot>
10:43:26:</config>
10:43:26:WU01:FS00:Connecting to assign3.stanford.edu:8080
10:43:28:WU01:FS00:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
10:43:28:WU01:FS00:Assigned to work server 128.143.231.202
10:43:28:WU01:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY cpu:4 from 128.143.231.202
10:43:28:WU01:FS00:Connecting to 128.143.231.202:8080
10:43:29:WU01:FS00:Downloading 3.64MiB
10:43:33:WU01:FS00:Download complete
10:43:33:WU01:FS00:Received Unit: id:01 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:6099 run:8 clone:21 gen:430 core:0xa3 unit:0x0000023f0a3b1e594e88a0cd652e2c40
10:43:33:WU01:FS00:Downloading core from http://www.stanford.edu/~pande/Linux/AMD64/Core_a3.fah
10:43:33:WU01:FS00:Connecting to www.stanford.edu:80
10:43:34:WU01:FS00:FahCore a3: Downloading 2.56MiB
10:43:40:WU01:FS00:FahCore a3: 21.99%
10:43:46:WU01:FS00:FahCore a3: 46.42%
10:43:52:WU01:FS00:FahCore a3: 70.85%
10:43:58:WU01:FS00:FahCore a3: 97.72%
10:43:58:WU01:FS00:FahCore a3: Download complete
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:Valid core signature
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:Unpacked 5.98MiB to cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Linux/AMD64/Core_a3.fah/FahCore_a3
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:Starting
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:Running FahCore: /usr/bin/FAHCoreWrapper /var/lib/fahclient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Linux/AMD64/Core_a3.fah/FahCore_a3 -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 1607 -checkpoint 15 -np 4
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 2736
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:Core PID:2740
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:FahCore 0xa3 started
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:*------------------------------*
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Preparing to commence simulation
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:- Looking at optimizations...
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:- Created dyn
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:- Files status OK
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:- Expanded 3817536 -> 4169428 (decompressed 109.2 percent)
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=3817536 data_size=4169428, decompressed_data_size=4169428 diff=0
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:- Digital signature verified
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Project: 6099 (Run 8, Clone 21, Gen 430)
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Assembly optimizations on if available.
10:43:59:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Entering M.D.
10:44:05:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Mapping NT from 4 to 4
10:44:06:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Completed 0 out of 500000 steps  (0%)
10:45:46:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
10:45:47:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
10:45:47:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
10:45:47:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
10:45:48:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
10:45:48:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
10:45:48:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
10:50:01:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
10:50:02:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
10:50:02:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
10:50:02:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
10:50:03:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
10:50:03:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
10:50:03:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
10:56:52:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
10:56:54:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
10:56:54:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
10:56:54:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
10:56:55:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
10:56:55:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
10:56:55:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment
11:03:42:WU01:FS00:0xa3:Completed 5000 out of 500000 steps  (1%)
11:07:58:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
11:07:59:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:07:59:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80': Empty work server assignment
11:07:59:WU00:FS01:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080
11:08:00:WU00:FS01:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
11:08:00:WARNING:WU00:FS01:Failed to get assignment from 'assign-GPU.stanford.edu:8080': Empty work server assignment
11:08:00:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Could not get an assignment

So far I restarted my system, updated Nvidia drivers to the current version (from 304.88), restarted my system, looked into GPUs.txt (just to see that my card is listed). Googled the issue but didn't find any answer that could help me understand the resolving procedure. It is very frustrating that I can't get my GPU to work with Folding@home as it may perform significantly faster than my CPU.

Any help is appreciated.
a1111exe
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 10:54 am

Re: gtx 660 ti Failed to get assignment

Postby bollix47 » Sat Aug 17, 2013 12:21 pm

Welcome to the folding@home support forum a1111exe.

With your linux system only core 17 projects will work natively at this time. In order to get those work units you must add an option to your GPU slot:

Name: client-type
Value: advanced

First, right-click on your GPU slot and select Pause.
Second, click on Configure>Slots and double click on your GPU slot. Click on add and insert the values above. Click on OK and Save.
Third, right-click on your GPU slot and select Fold.

Because core 17 will require one of your CPU threads to 'feed' and offload the GPU you should pause and change your CPU slot to use 3 cores instead of -1.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3493
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: gtx 660 ti Failed to get assignment

Postby ChristianVirtual » Sat Aug 17, 2013 12:34 pm

The problem is that the relevant core 17 required for native GPU folding under Linux is not yet officially released. But if you want to have a sneak preview on how to get a little advantage have a look here. viewtopic.php?p=224392

Ok, seems bollix47 was faster ..
ImageImage
Please contribute your logs to http://ppd.fahmm.net
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京

Re: gtx 660 ti Failed to get assignment

Postby a1111exe » Sat Aug 17, 2013 2:02 pm

bollix47, ChristianVirtual, thanks a lot for your fast answer!

Compared to CPU 660ti performs so fast...
Finally my GPU will do something useful in its life. I'm happy :)
a1111exe
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 17, 2013 10:54 am


Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron