Added an NVIDIA FX3700 to my rig...hurt PPD of CPU and both

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Added an NVIDIA FX3700 to my rig...hurt PPD of CPU and both

Postby mike44njdevils » Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:27 am

Hi, first post, sorry to sound so discombobulated:

My rig consists of the following: 2500k @ 4.2 ghz, AsRock p67 Extreme6 board (3 full size PCIe lanes, running 8x, 8x, 4x), GTS 450 in top and middle slot OC'd to 939 mhz, FX 3700 in bottom.

Up until last night, I had been getting a steady 30-32kPPD on the rig: 8k each on the GPU's and up to 16k on the 2500k.

I added the FX and a lot of shenanigans happened...PPD is down to approx. 6500-6600 PPD and the CPU has effectively been halved. Frankly I like what the FX is doing folding wise (4200 PPD, I'm impressed, lol) but I didn't expect it to cripple the rest of my folding. Also, upon restarting the computer after installing the FX, the FX because GPU0, and the 450's were bumped down (according to FAH).

How do I post the log file? (I tried using "[code]" tags, but I was given an error for having 90k+ in my post) :oops:
mike44njdevils
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:08 pm

Re: Added an NVIDIA FX3700 to my rig...hurt PPD of CPU and b

Postby PantherX » Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:34 am

I suggest that you restart your system and once done, start F@H, wait for an hour or so and then post the entire log. The limit per post is 60K characters. Just make sure that the default verbosity level of 3 is being used and not any higher. The reason is with higher verbosity level, it will print default values which makes it hard to see the changed values.

I hope that your PSU can handle 3 GPUs and 1 CPU all folding simultaneously.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Chrome Folding App (Beta) Ӂ Troubleshooting "Bad WUs" Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: Added an NVIDIA FX3700 to my rig...hurt PPD of CPU and b

Postby mike44njdevils » Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:35 am

PantherX wrote:I hope that your PSU can handle 3 GPUs and 1 CPU all folding simultaneously.



It's a 1000w Ultra x3 ;) It's fine for these three cards :)
mike44njdevils
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:08 pm

Re: Added an NVIDIA FX3700 to my rig...hurt PPD of CPU and b

Postby mike44njdevils » Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:43 am

Just restarted...and as expected, lost a slot, in this case the CPU slot. I've noticed this with this new client. I haven't added the slot again manually because maybe I have something all screwy that someone can diagnose. Here's the current log:

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2013-12-18T03:36:54Z ***********************
03:36:54:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
03:36:54:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
03:36:54:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2013 Stanford University
03:36:54:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
03:36:54:         Args:
03:36:54:       Config: C:/FAH/FAHData/config.xml
03:36:54:******************************** Build ********************************
03:36:54:      Version: 7.3.6
03:36:54:         Date: Feb 18 2013
03:36:54:         Time: 15:25:17
03:36:54:      SVN Rev: 3923
03:36:54:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
03:36:54:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
03:36:54:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
03:36:54:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
03:36:54:     Platform: win32 XP
03:36:54:         Bits: 32
03:36:54:         Mode: Release
03:36:54:******************************* System ********************************
03:36:54:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz
03:36:54:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
03:36:54:         CPUs: 4
03:36:54:       Memory: 3.98GiB
03:36:54:  Free Memory: 3.08GiB
03:36:54:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
03:36:54:  Has Battery: false
03:36:54:   On Battery: false
03:36:54:   UTC offset: -8
03:36:54:          PID: 1408
03:36:54:          CWD: C:/FAH/FAHData
03:36:54:           OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
03:36:54:      OS Arch: AMD64
03:36:54:         GPUs: 3
03:36:54:        GPU 0: NVIDIA:1 G92 [Quadro FX 3700]
03:36:54:        GPU 1: NVIDIA:2 GF106 [GeForce GTS 450]
03:36:54:        GPU 2: NVIDIA:2 GF106 [GeForce GTS 450]
03:36:54:         CUDA: 1.1
03:36:54:  CUDA Driver: 5050
03:36:54:Win32 Service: false
03:36:54:***********************************************************************
03:36:54:<config>
03:36:54:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
03:36:54:  <power v='full'/>
03:36:54:
03:36:54:  <!-- Network -->
03:36:54:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
03:36:54:
03:36:54:  <!-- User Information -->
03:36:54:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
03:36:54:  <team v='37726'/>
03:36:54:  <user v='mike44njdevils'/>
03:36:54:
03:36:54:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
03:36:54:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
03:36:54:    <client-type v='normal'/>
03:36:54:    <gpu-index v='2'/>
03:36:54:  </slot>
03:36:54:  <slot id='3' type='GPU'/>
03:36:54:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
03:36:54:    <cpus v='-1'/>
03:36:54:  </slot>
03:36:54:  <slot id='2' type='GPU'>
03:36:54:    <client-type v='normal'/>
03:36:54:  </slot>
03:36:54:</config>
03:36:54:Trying to access database...
03:36:54:Successfully acquired database lock
03:36:54:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:2:GF106 [GeForce GTS 450]
03:36:54:Enabled folding slot 03: READY gpu:0:G92 [Quadro FX 3700]
03:36:54:Enabled folding slot
03:36:54:ERROR:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
03:36:54:Enabled folding slot 02: READY gpu:1:GF106 [GeForce GTS 450]
03:36:54:WARNING:WU03:Slot ID 0 no longer exists and there are no other matching slots, dumping
03:36:54:WU02:FS02:Starting
03:36:54:WU02:FS02:Running FahCore: C:\FAH\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe C:/FAH/FAHData/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_15.fah/FahCore_15.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 1408 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 1 -gpu-vendor nvidia
03:36:55:WU02:FS02:Started FahCore on PID 1244
03:36:57:WU02:FS02:Core PID:2108
03:36:57:WU02:FS02:FahCore 0x15 started
03:36:58:WU03:FS00:Sending unit results: id:03 state:SEND error:DUMPED project:7083 run:0 clone:667 gen:21 core:0xa4 unit:0x0000009c0001329c4fe0eafe0cfb3575
03:36:58:WU03:FS00:Connecting to 129.74.246.143:8080
03:36:58:WU00:FS03:Starting
03:36:58:WU00:FS03:Running FahCore: C:\FAH\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe C:/FAH/FAHData/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/G80/Core_11.fah/FahCore_11.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 1408 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
03:36:58:WU00:FS03:Started FahCore on PID 2116
03:36:58:WU00:FS03:Core PID:2128
03:36:58:WU00:FS03:FahCore 0x11 started
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:*------------------------------*
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:Folding@Home GPU Core
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:Version                2.25 (Wed May 9 17:03:01 EDT 2012)
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:Build host             AmoebaRemote
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:Board Type             NVIDIA/CUDA
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:Core                   15
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:GPU device info vendor=0 device=0 name=NA match=0 deviceId=1
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:Window's signal control handler registered.
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:Preparing to commence simulation
03:36:58:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Ensuring status. Please wait.
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:Starting
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: C:\FAH\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe C:/FAH/FAHData/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_15.fah/FahCore_15.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 1408 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 2 -gpu-vendor nvidia
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 2136
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:Core PID:2148
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0x15 started
03:36:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:
03:36:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:*------------------------------*
03:36:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:Folding@Home GPU Core
03:36:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:Version 1.31 (Tue Sep 15 10:57:42 PDT 2009)
03:36:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:
03:36:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:Compiler  : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 14.00.50727.762 for 80x86
03:36:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:Build host: amoeba
03:36:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:Board Type: Nvidia
03:36:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:Core      :
03:36:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:Preparing to commence simulation
03:36:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:- Ensuring status. Please wait.
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:*------------------------------*
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:Folding@Home GPU Core
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:Version                2.25 (Wed May 9 17:03:01 EDT 2012)
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:Build host             AmoebaRemote
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:Board Type             NVIDIA/CUDA
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:Core                   15
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:GPU device info vendor=0 device=0 name=NA match=0 deviceId=2
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:Window's signal control handler registered.
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:Preparing to commence simulation
03:36:59:WU01:FS01:0x15:- Ensuring status. Please wait.
03:37:00:WU03:FS00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
03:37:00:WU03:FS00:Cleaning up
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Looking at optimizations...
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Working with standard loops on this execution.
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Previous termination of core was improper.
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Files status OK
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:sizeof(CORE_PACKET_HDR) = 512 file=<>
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Expanded 145601 -> 660986 (decompressed 453.9 percent)
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=145601 data_size=660986, decompressed_data_size=660986 diff=0
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:- Digital signature verified
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:Project: 8018 (Run 465, Clone 2, Gen 18)
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:
03:37:08:WU02:FS02:0x15:Entering M.D.
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:- Looking at optimizations...
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:- Working with standard loops on this execution.
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:- Previous termination of core was improper.
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:- Files status OK
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:sizeof(CORE_PACKET_HDR) = 512 file=<>
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:- Expanded 145639 -> 660986 (decompressed 453.8 percent)
03:37:08:WU00:FS03:0x11:- Looking at optimizations...
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=145639 data_size=660986, decompressed_data_size=660986 diff=0
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:- Digital signature verified
03:37:08:WU00:FS03:0x11:- Working with standard loops on this execution.
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:
03:37:08:WU00:FS03:0x11:- Previous termination of core was improper.
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:Project: 8018 (Run 765, Clone 0, Gen 221)
03:37:08:WU00:FS03:0x11:- Files status OK
03:37:08:WU00:FS03:0x11:- Expanded 46712 -> 252912 (decompressed 541.4 percent)
03:37:08:WU00:FS03:0x11:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=46712 data_size=252912, decompressed_data_size=252912 diff=0
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:
03:37:08:WU00:FS03:0x11:- Digital signature verified
03:37:08:WU01:FS01:0x15:Entering M.D.
03:37:08:WU00:FS03:0x11:
03:37:08:WU00:FS03:0x11:Project: 5765 (Run 7, Clone 438, Gen 4957)
03:37:08:WU00:FS03:0x11:
03:37:08:WU00:FS03:0x11:Entering M.D.
03:37:10:WU02:FS02:0x15:Will resume from checkpoint file 02/wudata_01.ckp
03:37:10:WU02:FS02:0x15:Tpr hash 02/wudata_01.tpr:  398562526 1725680418 4232488293 3941011689 1371377861
03:37:10:WU02:FS02:0x15:GPU device id=1
03:37:10:WU02:FS02:0x15:Working on GRowing Old MAkes el Chrono Sweat
03:37:10:WU02:FS02:0x15:Client config unavailable.
03:37:10:WU02:FS02:0x15:Starting GUI Server
03:37:10:WU01:FS01:0x15:Will resume from checkpoint file 01/wudata_01.ckp
03:37:10:WU01:FS01:0x15:Tpr hash 01/wudata_01.tpr:  1144646 2296025242 852499506 755008376 3983265415
03:37:10:WU01:FS01:0x15:GPU device id=2
03:37:10:WU01:FS01:0x15:Working on GRowing Old MAkes el Chrono Sweat
03:37:10:WU01:FS01:0x15:Client config unavailable.
03:37:11:WU01:FS01:0x15:Starting GUI Server
03:37:14:WU00:FS03:0x11:Will resume from checkpoint file
03:37:14:WU00:FS03:0x11:Tpr hash 00/wudata_01.tpr:  1772072157 875679989 487807583 1876581149 4147379470
03:37:14:WU00:FS03:0x11:
03:37:14:WU00:FS03:0x11:Calling fah_main args: 14 usage=100
03:37:14:WU00:FS03:0x11:
03:37:15:WU00:FS03:0x11:Working on Protein
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:Client config unavailable.
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:Resuming from checkpoint
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:Starting GUI Server
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:fcCheckPointResume: retreived and current tpr file hash:
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:   0   1772072157   1772072157
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:   1    875679989    875679989
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:   2    487807583    487807583
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:   3   1876581149   1876581149
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:   4   4147379470   4147379470
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:fcCheckPointResume: file hashes same.
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:fcCheckPointResume: state restored.
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:Verified 00/wudata_01.log
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:Verified 00/wudata_01.edr
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:Verified 00/wudata_01.xtc
03:37:16:WU00:FS03:0x11:Completed 11%
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:Resuming from checkpoint
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:Resuming from checkpoint
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: retreived and current tpr file hash:
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: retreived and current tpr file hash:
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:   0      1144646      1144646
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:   0    398562526    398562526
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:   1   2296025242   2296025242
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:   1   1725680418   1725680418
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:   2    852499506    852499506
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:   2   4232488293   4232488293
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:   3    755008376    755008376
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:   3   3941011689   3941011689
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:   4   3983265415   3983265415
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:   4   1371377861   1371377861
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: file hashes same.
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: file hashes same.
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: state restored.
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: state restored.
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: name 01/wudata_01.log Verified 01/wudata_01.log
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: name 02/wudata_01.log Verified 02/wudata_01.log
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: name 01/wudata_01.trr Verified 01/wudata_01.trr
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: name 02/wudata_01.trr Verified 02/wudata_01.trr
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: name 02/wudata_01.xtc Verified 02/wudata_01.xtc
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: name 01/wudata_01.xtc Verified 01/wudata_01.xtc
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: name 02/wudata_01.edr Verified 02/wudata_01.edr
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: name 01/wudata_01.edr Verified 01/wudata_01.edr
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: state restored 2
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:Resumed from checkpoint
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:fcCheckPointResume: state restored 2
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:Setting checkpoint frequency: 250000
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:Resumed from checkpoint
03:38:19:WU02:FS02:0x15:Completed  14250001 out of 25000000 steps (57%).
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:Setting checkpoint frequency: 250000
03:38:19:WU01:FS01:0x15:Completed  23500001 out of 25000000 steps (94%).
03:38:19:WARNING:WU02:FS02:Detected clock skew (1 mins 12 secs), adjusting time estimates
03:38:19:WARNING:WU01:FS01:Detected clock skew (1 mins 11 secs), adjusting time estimates
03:38:30:WU00:FS03:0x11:Completed 12%
03:39:10:Removing old file 'configs/config-20131217-072700.xml'
03:39:10:Saving configuration to config.xml
03:39:10:<config>
03:39:10:  <!-- Folding Core -->
03:39:10:  <checkpoint v='3'/>
03:39:10:
03:39:10:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
03:39:10:  <power v='full'/>
03:39:10:
03:39:10:  <!-- Network -->
03:39:10:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
03:39:10:
03:39:10:  <!-- User Information -->
03:39:10:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
03:39:10:  <team v='37726'/>
03:39:10:  <user v='mike44njdevils'/>
03:39:10:
03:39:10:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
03:39:10:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
03:39:10:    <client-type v='normal'/>
03:39:10:    <gpu-index v='2'/>
03:39:10:  </slot>
03:39:10:  <slot id='3' type='GPU'/>
03:39:10:  <slot id='2' type='GPU'>
03:39:10:    <client-type v='normal'/>
03:39:10:  </slot>
03:39:10:</config>
03:39:45:WU00:FS03:0x11:Completed 13%
03:40:59:WU00:FS03:0x11:Completed 14%
03:42:14:WU00:FS03:0x11:Completed 15%
03:43:29:WU00:FS03:0x11:Completed 16%
mike44njdevils
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:08 pm

Re: Added an NVIDIA FX3700 to my rig...hurt PPD of CPU and b

Postby PantherX » Wed Dec 18, 2013 3:55 am

Assuming that the PSU is from a branded and reputed company, it ought to be enough.

According to the log, you did have a CPU Slot when the client restarted. However, for some reason, the Slot ID changed and it caused the WU to be dumped. Later (03:39:10), the CPU Slot was removed. Since you are mixing Non-Fermi and Fermi GPUs in a single system, you have to check if the GPU Slots are mapped correctly to the physical GPUs. A simple test is to use GPU-Z (http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/SysInfo/GPU-Z/), start 3 instances of it, one for each GPU and then, pause your GPU Slots and see if GPU-Z reports a drop in GPU utilization:
GPU Slot 01 -> GeForce GTS 450
GPU Slot 03 -> Quadro FX 3700
GPU Slot 02 -> GeForce GTS 450

If the mapping is incorrect, you may need to manually configure your GPU Slots. You can read about it here (viewtopic.php?f=67&t=19989&p=199379#p199379) and here (viewtopic.php?f=61&t=24125#p241145).

I am unsure as to why this error was printed in your log:
03:36:54:ERROR:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: Added an NVIDIA FX3700 to my rig...hurt PPD of CPU and b

Postby mike44njdevils » Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:04 am

The mapping is correct inasmuch as pausing the slots correctly correspond the the "proper GPU-Z instances" (does that make sense?). I'm still non-plussed about FAH "putting" the FX in GPU0 (and losing the CPU lol) and the drop in PPD on the 450's.
mike44njdevils
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:08 pm

Re: Added an NVIDIA FX3700 to my rig...hurt PPD of CPU and b

Postby mike44njdevils » Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:10 am

I'm going to finish all WU's, then do a clean install of FAH. I have this feeling that it just may be changing the hardware while I still had pending WU's did this. Seems like it was my own fault :-\
mike44njdevils
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2011 8:08 pm

Re: Added an NVIDIA FX3700 to my rig...hurt PPD of CPU and b

Postby bruce » Wed Dec 18, 2013 4:31 am

mike44njdevils wrote: I'm still non-plussed about FAH "putting" the FX in GPU0 (and losing the CPU lol) and the drop in PPD on the 450's.

I would be, too. I've never had this happen when I used the Configure + Slots + Add function. It can certainly happen if one uses the Configure + Slots + Edit function.

Some of the critical messages are in the previous log (which can still be recovered) but the messages shown here say
Code: Select all
03:36:54:Enabled ...
03:36:54:ERROR:Exception: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.
03:36:54:Enabled ...
03:36:54:WARNING:WU03:Slot ID 0 no longer exists and there are no other matching slots, dumping


At restart time, somehow slot 0 had been changed from a CPU slot to a GPU slot but it was not correctly configured (no gpu-index setting) so the slot was deleted. The WU that had been downloaded could only be processed if the configuration had a CPU slot and at that point, there was none, so that WU was dumped.
bruce
 
Posts: 22623
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.


Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron