Client-type advanced?

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Client-type advanced?

Postby billford » Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:30 am

Re the FahCore_17 - Information & Unresolved Issues post, it says:

Officially Supported Platforms
Windows 32-bit -> AMD, Nvidia
Windows 64-bit -> AMD, Nvidia
Debian/*buntu/Mint 64-bit -> Nvidia (client-type needs to be set to advanced)

I'm running an NVidia GTX-650 Ti, Mint 16, 319.32 drivers (cos that's what the Driver Manager recommended), client-type is at default and it seems to be working fine at ~30,000 PPD. Although it's only ever picked up 8900 WUs so far.

Should I change it? I'm slightly reluctant to, if I'm honest, but will if there's good reason.

Log extract, as someone is bound to ask for it :wink:

Code: Select all
13:52:13:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
13:52:13:    Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
13:52:13:  Copyright: (c) 2009-2013 Stanford University
13:52:13:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
13:52:13:       Args: --child --lifeline 1087 /etc/fahclient/config.xml --run-as
13:52:13:             fahclient --pid-file=/var/run/fahclient.pid --daemon
13:52:13:     Config: /etc/fahclient/config.xml
13:52:13:******************************** Build ********************************
13:52:13:    Version: 7.3.6
13:52:13:       Date: Feb 18 2013
13:52:13:       Time: 07:24:08
13:52:13:    SVN Rev: 3923
13:52:13:     Branch: fah/trunk/client
13:52:13:   Compiler: GNU 4.4.7
13:52:13:    Options: -std=gnu++98 -O3 -funroll-loops -mfpmath=sse -ffast-math
13:52:13:             -fno-unsafe-math-optimizations -msse2
13:52:13:   Platform: linux2 3.2.0-1-amd64
13:52:13:       Bits: 64
13:52:13:       Mode: Release
13:52:13:******************************* System ********************************
13:52:13:        CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4430 CPU @ 3.00GHz
13:52:13:     CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 60 Stepping 3
13:52:13:       CPUs: 4
13:52:13:     Memory: 3.82GiB
13:52:13:Free Memory: 3.57GiB
13:52:13:    Threads: POSIX_THREADS
13:52:13:Has Battery: false
13:52:13: On Battery: false
13:52:13: UTC offset: 0
13:52:13:        PID: 1146
13:52:13:        CWD: /var/lib/fahclient
13:52:13:         OS: Linux 3.11.0-12-generic x86_64
13:52:13:    OS Arch: AMD64
13:52:13:       GPUs: 1
13:52:13:      GPU 0: NVIDIA:3 GK106 [GeForce GTX 650 Ti]
13:52:13:       CUDA: 3.0
13:52:13:CUDA Driver: 5050
13:52:13:***********************************************************************
13:52:13:<config>
13:52:13:  <!-- Client Control -->
13:52:13:  <fold-anon v='true'/>
13:52:13:
13:52:13:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
13:52:13:  <power v='full'/>
13:52:13:
13:52:13:  <!-- HTTP Server -->
13:52:13:  <allow v='127.0.0.1 192.168.1.24 192.168.1.18'/>
13:52:13:
13:52:13:  <!-- Network -->
13:52:13:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
13:52:13:
13:52:13:  <!-- Remote Command Server -->
13:52:13:  <command-allow-no-pass v='127.0.0.1 192.168.1.24 192.168.1.18'/>
13:52:13:
13:52:13:  <!-- Slot Control -->
13:52:13:  <pause-on-start v='true'/>
13:52:13:
13:52:13:  <!-- User Information -->
13:52:13:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
13:52:13:  <user v=[removed]/>
13:52:13:
13:52:13:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
13:52:13:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
13:52:13:    <cpus v='3'/>
13:52:13:    <next-unit-percentage v='100'/>
13:52:13:  </slot>
13:52:13:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
13:52:13:</config>
Image
billford
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 8:46 pm
Location: Near Oxford, United Kingdom

Re: Client-type advanced?

Postby bollix47 » Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:52 am

AFAIK there is no need to set the client-type to advanced at this time. P8900 is currently the only project available but there have been indications that more are on the way.

Have a look at this blog entry.

... we’re rolling out core 17 to full fah (not just adv).
Image
bollix47
 
Posts: 3493
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: Client-type advanced?

Postby billford » Wed Jan 22, 2014 10:59 am

Thanks, I'll leave it alone.
billford
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 8:46 pm
Location: Near Oxford, United Kingdom

Re: Client-type advanced?

Postby EXT64 » Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:43 am

I had heard that they originally left P8900 on advanced for Linux when the rest went to full (because Linux required 64-bit or something like that), but as you are getting work without the flag at some point they must have switched it over to full. If you ever fail to get work on the card you can try adding the flag, but if you are getting work there is no reason to.
EXT64
 
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 11:54 pm

Re: Client-type advanced?

Postby billford » Wed Jan 22, 2014 11:53 am

EXT64 wrote:I had heard that they originally left P8900 on advanced for Linux when the rest went to full (because Linux required 64-bit or something like that), but as you are getting work without the flag at some point they must have switched it over to full.

That makes sense.

If you ever fail to get work on the card you can try adding the flag, but if you are getting work there is no reason to.


A succession of P8900's is getting a bit monotonous, but while they keep coming I'll put up with it rather than set the advanced flag!
billford
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 8:46 pm
Location: Near Oxford, United Kingdom

Re: Client-type advanced?

Postby PantherX » Wed Jan 22, 2014 3:16 pm

The original issue was that 32-bit versions were getting FahCore_17 WUs but FahCore_17 couldn't run on 32-bit OS, it required 64-bit OS. Thus the requirement to have advanced client-type. It might have changed during the GPU Server issues hence why you are now getting it with default settings. Nonetheless, I have updated the information in the post.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Chrome Folding App (Beta) Ӂ Troubleshooting "Bad WUs" Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6321
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 9:33 am

Re: Client-type advanced?

Postby bruce » Thu Jan 23, 2014 2:25 am

billford wrote:A succession of P8900's is getting a bit monotonous, but while they keep coming I'll put up with it rather than set the advanced flag!


GPU support on Linux is still what I would call "new" and with all new processes, it starts small and grows. P8900 is a nice big project with (most of the time) plenty of work for everybody so that's what you're getting. It takes time to create newer projects that (A) do important research and (B) work reliably on everybody's GPU. There are a number of new projects in the pipeline which will probably be released soon, but at the present time, monotony is a GOOD thing. Have patience and it will certainly change.
bruce
 
Posts: 22623
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Client-type advanced?

Postby billford » Thu Jan 23, 2014 6:07 am

bruce wrote:Have patience and it will certainly change.

The comment was made with tongue firmly planted in cheek- when it comes to labels I'm a lot more interested in PPD than PRCG, and if the GPU is getting bored then tough :D

It's simply that, when I was asking for advice on installing the GPU, it was suggested that I might need to enable the fan control for some projects, I said that I'd see how it goes- NVidia firmly advise against messing with it, so I don't want to do it unless I have to.

P8900 doesn't seem to need it, but so far I've got no other information on which to base a decision! There's no real hurry.

(As an aside, I really can't see why temperature control via the fan speed isn't built into the hardware, but c'est la vie)
billford
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 8:46 pm
Location: Near Oxford, United Kingdom


Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron