GPU-status: failed, bad work units

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

GPU-status: failed, bad work units

Postby Tullball » Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:56 pm

I installed a Nvidia GTX 970 on my Arch Linux computer, but all the work units are "bad". Sample output:

Code: Select all
14:45:40:WU02:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.52
14:45:40:WU02:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:GM204 [GeForce GTX 970] from 171.67.108.52
14:45:40:WU02:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.52:8080
14:45:41:WU02:FS00:Downloading 1.52MiB
14:45:45:WU02:FS00:Download complete
14:45:45:WU02:FS00:Received Unit: id:02 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:9201 run:81 clone:1 gen:449 core:0x17 unit:0x000002816652edc45399d9359ca761c6
14:45:45:WU02:FS00:Starting
14:45:45:WU02:FS00:Running FahCore: /opt/fah/FAHCoreWrapper /opt/fah/cores/web.stanford.edu/~pande/Linux/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17 -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 1799 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor nvidia
14:45:45:WU02:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 3997
14:45:45:WU02:FS00:Core PID:4001
14:45:45:WU02:FS00:FahCore 0x17 started
14:45:46:WARNING:WU02:FS00:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
14:45:46:WU02:FS00:Sending unit results: id:02 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:9201 run:81 clone:1 gen:449 core:0x17 unit:0x000002816652edc45399d9359ca761c6
14:45:46:WU02:FS00:Uploading 1.81KiB to 171.67.108.52
14:45:46:WU02:FS00:Connecting to 171.67.108.52:8080
14:45:46:WU02:FS00:Upload complete
14:45:46:WU02:FS00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
14:45:46:WU02:FS00:Cleaning up


This happens with all the work im getting. Now the status are "failed" in fah control...

So I wondered if someone knew what to do...
Tullball
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: GPU-status: failed, bad work units

Postby 7im » Mon Mar 30, 2015 3:11 pm

V346.xx or newer drivers from NV, not from the oem?
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 14648
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: GPU-status: failed, bad work units

Postby bruce » Mon Mar 30, 2015 4:38 pm

7im wrote:V346.xx or newer drivers from NV, not from the oem?
Exactly. Unless you install the latest NV Proprietary drivers (346 or greater) your GPU does not support folding.

Warning: if your distro is a server version, the NV drivers will probably install without difficulty. If your distro run a GUI window manager, the installation will fail without special procedures which shut down that screen manager during the installation. Two such installation guides are
Everyman's Guide to Nvidia GPU Folding on Ubuntu Server and
Tips for installing Nvidia .run files in Linux
.
bruce
 
Posts: 22738
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU-status: failed, bad work units

Postby ChristianVirtual » Tue Mar 31, 2015 1:21 am

346.35 works well on CentOS 7; I remember one version newer caused also some trouble for a different fellow folder. I suggest download that version .35 direct from nV and follow the guide as mentioed above.

It fold everything the AS throws at you ...
ImageImage
Please contribute your logs to http://ppd.fahmm.net
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京

Re: GPU-status: failed, bad work units

Postby Tullball » Wed Apr 01, 2015 2:17 pm

I used drivers from "AUR"... but I have solved the problem by switching OS. Thanks. :)
Tullball
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 2:49 pm

Re: GPU-status: failed, bad work units

Postby ChristianVirtual » Wed Apr 01, 2015 3:28 pm

Which OS you use now ?
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京


Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron