On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has no

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has no

Postby kylar182 » Tue May 17, 2016 11:26 am

On client "local" 127.0.0.1:*****: Option 'gpu-index' has no default and is not set.

The Folding@home software on your computer has most likely stopped.

Please first restart it, then reload this page.

Client gets hung at "Updating Inactive"

This has been 3 weeks and it still keeps hanging...

System Specs

i7-5960x
4x Titan X
W10

I really want to help fold considering I have a multi million PPD system but I don't know what I'm doing wrong.
kylar182
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:12 pm

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby ChristianVirtual » Tue May 17, 2016 12:03 pm

Can you share more info like log file with the upper part of system info and config ?

Make sure to have driver from nV installed.

Could it be that you installed the cards after the software ? In that case just try and reinstall. That will leave the card detection and sorting with the FAH software stack. It does a good job when get fresh installed.
ImageImage
Please contribute your logs to http://ppd.fahmm.net
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1538
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby kylar182 » Tue May 17, 2016 12:58 pm

I can't do a log file if the system is stuck
kylar182
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:12 pm

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby ChristianVirtual » Tue May 17, 2016 1:29 pm

You can find the log file also in file system

C:/Users/<your username in W10>/AppData/FAHClient/
Then log.txt or in folder logs
User avatar
ChristianVirtual
 
Posts: 1538
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: 日本 東京

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby davidcoton » Tue May 17, 2016 3:11 pm

See this thread. Does it fit your symptoms?
This seems to be a spreading problem, still with no definitive cause or solution.
Image
davidcoton
 
Posts: 940
Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2008 3:19 pm
Location: Cambridge, UK

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby bruce » Tue May 17, 2016 6:55 pm

There's a open ticket saying that FAFClient has problems if a log file contains "non-English" characters. (That's a pretty poor term, since it does handle many non-English characters. I probably would have said "unprintable")

Anyway, my current (unproven!) theory is that one or more FAHCores is putting inprintable characters in it's log but can only be proven if somebody can find them. I don't know if they have to be in (fah datafile)/log.txt or in (fah-datafile)/work/NN/logfile_01.txt and I don't know if the problem is the same for Linux and WIndows.

I'll donate the points from one WU to the first person that documents the problem in a reproducible way.
(...whether my theory connecting it with unprintable characters is correct or not.)
bruce
 
Posts: 21880
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby kylar182 » Wed May 18, 2016 11:45 am

ChristianVirtual wrote:You can find the log file also in file system

C:/Users/<your username in W10>/AppData/FAHClient/
Then log.txt or in folder logs


I got everything working by reinstalling the client... BUT, it went through 9 hours without counting points. Considering I have a 3 million PPD machine, that really sucks. It's counting now. Don't know what changed but it's a mute point. I'm doing this for Cancer as that is what my father Passed of last year so Points are not that important. Would have been nice to have though.
kylar182
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:12 pm

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby Ricky » Wed May 18, 2016 12:15 pm

When you reinstalled, did you enter your key? Bonus points are not awarded without the key.
Ricky
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 1:34 am
Location: New Mexico

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby kylar182 » Wed May 18, 2016 1:06 pm

Ricky wrote:When you reinstalled, did you enter your key? Bonus points are not awarded without the key.


Yes, entered key immediately after it started. Still not sure what happened.
kylar182
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:12 pm

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby bruce » Wed May 18, 2016 7:33 pm

Did the spelling of the key or the user name change in any way?
bruce
 
Posts: 21880
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby bollix47 » Wed May 18, 2016 7:54 pm

FYI

If you used copy/paste I have seen the double-click copy add a space to the end of my passkey and unless I catch and remove it I would have to qualify that key again.
bollix47
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby kylar182 » Thu May 19, 2016 8:50 am

bollix47 wrote:FYI

If you used copy/paste I have seen the double-click copy add a space to the end of my passkey and unless I catch and remove it I would have to qualify that key again.


If that were the case I would have never gained points. I did gain a few million points yesterday. It got stuck at 14.9 though and has stayed there for 12 hours. I have 18 active units including this one. So, again. No points counted. If my points are not getting counted I'm assuming the machines are not sending the finished work. If that's the case I think I've had it wit FAH. I have nothing but problems anymore.
kylar182
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2016 12:12 pm

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby bollix47 » Thu May 19, 2016 12:16 pm

It would appear the stats system stopped working properly last night and that will be fixed today when the staff arrives on the west coast:

viewtopic.php?f=18&t=28836
bollix47
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:04 am
Location: Canada

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby bruce » Thu May 19, 2016 11:28 pm

Yes, the Stats system was down and then was fixed. It's possible that your missing points were queued and have now been entered, but it's also possible that they still need to be added. I 'd like to help you but cannot. Since you've refused to post your log.txt file, I can't look up those WUs that you completed which may or may not have been credited.

The current log file is in the FAH data directory as log.txt but if you've restarted FAH, it probably does not contain information from the applicable period of time. Copies of previous logs are found in the "logs" subdirectory with names containing the date and time, such as log-20160212-213103.txt.
bruce
 
Posts: 21880
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: On client "local" 127.0.0.1:***** Option 'gpu-index' has

Postby Aurum » Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:35 pm

I had this problem stop FAH 7.4.15 beta after doing Windows updates and updating another program on a couple of my PCs. I tried in vain to uninstall FAH and data several times but it did not correct the problem. I finally got it to work after uninstalling FAH I deleted the C:\Users\Aurum\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient folder and then reinstalling 7.4.15.
User avatar
Aurum
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 3:15 pm
Location: The Great Basin


Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron