GPU not folding

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

GPU not folding

Postby MrScavenge » Sat Apr 08, 2017 7:01 am

my GPU never connects properly to a WU it keeps failing and i getting a failure to disconnect message. I have and EVGA gtx 680 any help would be appreciated.

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2017-04-08T06:53:39Z ***********************
06:53:39:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
06:53:39:      Website: http://folding.stanford.edu/
06:53:39:    Copyright: (c) 2009-2014 Stanford University
06:53:39:       Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
06:53:39:         Args:
06:53:39:       Config: C:/Users/Brook C MIlls/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/config.xml
06:53:39:******************************** Build ********************************
06:53:39:      Version: 7.4.4
06:53:39:         Date: Mar 4 2014
06:53:39:         Time: 20:26:54
06:53:39:      SVN Rev: 4130
06:53:39:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
06:53:39:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
06:53:39:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
06:53:39:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
06:53:39:     Platform: win32 XP
06:53:39:         Bits: 32
06:53:39:         Mode: Release
06:53:39:******************************* System ********************************
06:53:39:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-6600K CPU @ 3.50GHz
06:53:39:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 94 Stepping 3
06:53:39:         CPUs: 4
06:53:39:       Memory: 7.94GiB
06:53:39:  Free Memory: 6.28GiB
06:53:39:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
06:53:39:   OS Version: 6.2
06:53:39:  Has Battery: false
06:53:39:   On Battery: false
06:53:39:   UTC Offset: 10
06:53:39:          PID: 3576
06:53:39:          CWD: C:/Users/Brook C MIlls/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
06:53:39:           OS: Windows 10 Pro
06:53:39:      OS Arch: AMD64
06:53:39:         GPUs: 1
06:53:39:        GPU 0: NVIDIA:3 GK104 [GeForce GTX 680]
06:53:39:         CUDA: 3.0
06:53:39:  CUDA Driver: 8000
06:53:39:Win32 Service: false
06:53:39:***********************************************************************
06:53:39:<config>
06:53:39:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
06:53:39:  <cause v='PARKINSONS'/>
06:53:39:
06:53:39:  <!-- Network -->
06:53:39:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
06:53:39:
06:53:39:  <!-- Slot Control -->
06:53:39:  <pause-on-battery v='false'/>
06:53:39:  <power v='full'/>
06:53:39:
06:53:39:  <!-- User Information -->
06:53:39:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
06:53:39:  <team v='111065'/>
06:53:39:  <user v='MrScavenge'/>
06:53:39:
06:53:39:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
06:53:39:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
06:53:39:    <paused v='true'/>
06:53:39:  </slot>
06:53:39:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'>
06:53:39:    <paused v='true'/>
06:53:39:  </slot>
06:53:39:</config>
06:53:39:Trying to access database...
06:53:42:Successfully acquired database lock
06:53:42:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:3 (by user)
06:53:42:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:GK104 [GeForce GTX 680] (by user)
06:54:21:FS00:Unpaused
06:54:21:FS01:Unpaused
06:54:21:WU01:FS00:Starting
06:54:21:WU01:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" "C:/Users/Brook C MIlls/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/fahwebx.stanford.edu/cores/Win32/AMD64/Core_a4.fah/FahCore_a4.exe" -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 704 -lifeline 3576 -checkpoint 15 -np 3
06:54:23:WU01:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 7652
06:54:23:WU01:FS00:Core PID:7696
06:54:23:WU01:FS00:FahCore 0xa4 started
06:54:24:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:*------------------------------*
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Folding@Home Gromacs GB Core
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Preparing to commence simulation
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Looking at optimizations...
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Files status OK
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Expanded 1949506 -> 6261824 (decompressed 321.2 percent)
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=1949506 data_size=6261824, decompressed_data_size=6261824 diff=0
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:- Digital signature verified
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Project: 11660 (Run 102, Clone 1, Gen 117)
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Assembly optimizations on if available.
06:54:24:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Entering M.D.
06:54:26:WU00:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.245
06:54:26:WU00:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GK104 [GeForce GTX 680] from 140.163.4.245
06:54:26:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.245:8080
06:54:31:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Using Gromacs checkpoints
06:54:31:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Mapping NT from 3 to 3
06:54:33:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Resuming from checkpoint
06:54:33:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.log
06:54:34:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.trr
06:54:36:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.xtc
06:54:36:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Verified 01/wudata_01.edr
06:54:36:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Completed 495310 out of 1250000 steps  (39%)
06:54:43:Removing old file 'configs/config-20170406-135537.xml'
06:54:43:Saving configuration to config.xml
06:54:43:<config>
06:54:43:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
06:54:43:  <cause v='PARKINSONS'/>
06:54:43:
06:54:43:  <!-- Network -->
06:54:43:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
06:54:43:
06:54:43:  <!-- Slot Control -->
06:54:43:  <pause-on-battery v='false'/>
06:54:43:  <power v='full'/>
06:54:43:
06:54:43:  <!-- User Information -->
06:54:43:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
06:54:43:  <team v='111065'/>
06:54:43:  <user v='MrScavenge'/>
06:54:43:
06:54:43:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
06:54:43:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
06:54:43:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
06:54:43:</config>
06:54:47:WARNING:WU00:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
06:54:47:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.245:80
06:54:49:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 140.163.4.245:80: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.
06:54:49:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
06:54:50:WU00:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.67.108.157
06:54:50:WU00:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GK104 [GeForce GTX 680] from 171.67.108.157
06:54:50:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080
06:55:11:WARNING:WU00:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
06:55:11:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:80
06:55:13:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 171.67.108.157:80: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.
06:55:49:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
06:55:50:WU00:FS01:Assigned to work server 140.163.4.241
06:55:50:WU00:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GK104 [GeForce GTX 680] from 140.163.4.241
06:55:50:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.241:8080
06:56:11:WARNING:WU00:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
06:56:11:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 140.163.4.241:80
06:56:13:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 140.163.4.241:80: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it.
06:56:49:43:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
06:57:26:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.45:80
06:57:27:WU00:FS01:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.84
06:57:27:WU00:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GK104 [GeForce GTX 680] from 171.64.65.84
06:57:27:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.84:8080
06:57:46:Removing old file 'configs/config-20170406-135545.xml'
06:57:46:Saving configuration to config.xml
06:57:46:<config>
06:57:46:  <!-- Network -->
06:57:46:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
06:57:46:
06:57:46:  <!-- Slot Control -->
06:57:46:  <pause-on-battery v='false'/>
06:57:46:  <power v='full'/>
06:57:46:
06:57:46:  <!-- User Information -->
06:57:46:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
06:57:46:  <team v='111065'/>
06:57:46:  <user v='MrScavenge'/>
06:57:46:
06:57:46:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
06:57:46:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
06:57:46:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
06:57:46:</config>
06:57:48:WARNING:WU00:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
06:57:48:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 171.64.65.84:80
06:57:49:ERROR:WU00:FS01:Exception: Server did not assign work unit
06:58:47:WU01:FS00:0xa4:Completed 500000 out of 1250000 steps  (40%)
MrScavenge
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: GPU not folding

Postby bruce » Sat Apr 08, 2017 6:02 pm

Welcome to foldingforum.org, MrScavenge.

06:54:50:WU00:FS01:Connecting to 171.67.108.157:8080

Are you able to open http://171.67.108.157:8080/ in your browser?

It looks like (A) Your security software (or maybe a proxy if you're trying from a computer at work) is blocking specific connections by FAHClient. (B) it also looks like something strange is going on with some of the Stanford servers. I'll check into B, but fixing A is between you and your security software supplier ... potentially with some help from folks here on foldingforum.org
bruce
 
Posts: 21410
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU not folding

Postby MrScavenge » Sun Apr 09, 2017 1:09 am

i am unable to access http://171.67.108.157:8080/, it tells me it cant be reached. i have tried disabling my firewall as well and tried again but no luck there either.
MrScavenge
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: GPU not folding

Postby bruce » Sun Apr 09, 2017 1:34 am

OK. That's the problem. What security software are you running?

I can open it with my browser (Windows10, using either FireFox or MS Edge) and your FAHClient is attempting to download from that Work Server.
bruce
 
Posts: 21410
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU not folding

Postby MrScavenge » Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:20 am

im just using the basic windows firewall, nothing else i can think off
MrScavenge
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: GPU not folding

Postby bruce » Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:52 am

In Windows Firewall Advanced Security screen, are outbound connections allowed? (I presume there is no outbound rule associated with FAHClient, so if they're not allowed, the need to be allowed ).
bruce
 
Posts: 21410
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU not folding

Postby bruce » Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:52 am

bruce wrote:In Windows Firewall Advanced Security screen, are outbound connections allowed? (I presume there is no outbound rule associated with FAHClient, so if they're not allowed, the need to be allowed or a suitable rule established.)
bruce
 
Posts: 21410
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: GPU not folding

Postby MrScavenge » Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:22 am

i have allowed F@H Client to do outbound connections but it is still not working, think i am doing something wrong in my process so ill just run through what i did.
1. Went to windows firewall with advanced security
2. created a new outbound rule for a program and selected my F@Hclient.exe and F@Hcontrol.exe to allow outbound connections

also just wanted to say my cpu is folding perfectly fine only the gpu is having the connection issues
MrScavenge
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: GPU not folding

Postby foldy » Sun Apr 09, 2017 9:12 am

Maybe also Windows Defender could make a problem, so try to disable that just for testing.
I had the same problem yesterday but it worked again later.
foldy
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: GPU not folding

Postby MrScavenge » Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:56 am

ok i tried that and it didnt work either damn this is annoying
MrScavenge
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2017 9:37 pm

Re: GPU not folding

Postby SteveWillis » Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:29 pm

MrScavenge wrote:im just using the basic windows firewall, nothing else i can think off


You might have something installed that you don't remember, especially if you upgraded from an earlier Windows version. You might consider going to add or remove programs and just have a look. When I upgraded a Windows 7 machine I had problems until I uninstalled some programs that got carried over.
Image
folding as DarthMouse_ALL_1GD5nCZbh7gNo1SESPLT24xEd2Jsu4rTP9
Currently folding on 14 GPUs on Linux Mint
If you wish to discuss a comment or post I've made feel free to PM me.
SteveWillis
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:42 am

Re: GPU not folding

Postby foldy » Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:53 pm

Maybe your internet router blocks access to http://171.67.108.157:8080 ?
Do you have another PC to check if it works from that to access this website in web browser?
foldy
 
Posts: 1130
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm


Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron