Run both graphics subsystems at the same time

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: Run both graphics subsystems at the same time

Postby lje » Tue Jul 07, 2020 2:08 pm

Hi!

I'm interested in a similar topic. Namely, I am running Ubuntu 18.4.4 on a computer with both iGPU (Intel Core i5) and dGPU (GeForce GTX 1050). I believe I have it configured the right way, i.e., on Full it uses the dGPU and 3 CPUs, on Medium the dGPU and 2 CPUs, and on Light only a single CPU. My issue is that while the dGPU is in use, the graphics are extremely slow, especially scrolling, making it impossible to work. I had no such issues on a similar machine without a dGPU, where no lags were noticeable even on Full. Hence the question: is it possible to have the dGPU handle FAH only and use the iGPU for rendering graphics? As far as I can tell, both are enabled and producing video output, but currently both suffer from these lags. Thanks in advance!
lje
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 6:12 pm

Re: Run both graphics subsystems at the same time

Postby bruce » Tue Jul 07, 2020 7:09 pm

As I understand it, the graphics software chooses a single GPU to render the desktop. FAH, on the other hand, creates a slot for each device and loads a WU for each slot. If the GPU that's rendering your desktop, happens to be the same GPU that is heavily loaded by FAH, the desktop may seem sluggish.

On Windows, I can select "accelerated" rendering (i.e.-GPU) or software rendering. Maybe there's a similar setting in LInux. There's a separate setting for each browser, so manually setting them can be a bit of a hassle. If I have a slow GPU, I get better desktop response with software rendering.
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Run both graphics subsystems at the same time

Postby gunnarre » Sat Aug 15, 2020 3:41 pm

There is hardware graphics acceleration in Linux based browsers, yes. As of writing, in Firefox you have to explicitly enable it in the advanced settings, while it Chromium it came enabled by default. I found that while folding on the GPU (GTX 1660S), the browser was more responsive with hardware acceleration switched on than with software rendering. I can even play some games (like NieR:Automata) while GPU folding, but the framerate drops.
Image
gunnarre
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 8:23 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Run both graphics subsystems at the same time

Postby JimboPalmer » Sat Aug 15, 2020 5:26 pm

17:50:49: Version: 7.4.4
is a 6 year old client, current is 7 .6.13. your diagnostics would be better with a newer client.

17:51:36:WU02:FS00:FahCore 0xa4 started
I had thought Core_a4 had been retired years ago.

17:50:49:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:GP106 [GeForce GTX 1060 6GB] 4372 (by user)
I get between 400,000 and 500,000 Points Per Day with a GTX 1060 on Win 10. Linux should be slightly faster.

For slightly more points, you could use 6 out of 8 CPU threads, instead of 3 out of 8.
17:50:49:Enabled folding slot 00: PAUSED cpu:3 (by user)
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 2040
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Run both graphics subsystems at the same time

Postby Joe_H » Sat Aug 15, 2020 6:05 pm

Person who revived topic, 1st post on 2nd page, did not provide log file or any followup. The OP is from 2017.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6600
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Run both graphics subsystems at the same time

Postby bruce » Sun Aug 16, 2020 7:38 am

@Jimbo Palmer FYI, I have upgraded my FAHClient to v7.6.15 (beta) and I'm pretty happy with it.

Version: 7.4.4 is truly old but it probably still works.
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Run both graphics subsystems at the same time

Postby PantherX » Mon Aug 17, 2020 9:10 am

JimboPalmer wrote:...17:51:36:WU02:FS00:FahCore 0xa4 started
I had thought Core_a4 had been retired years ago...

Generally speaking, a "retirement" of FahCore_X is a very long process that takes few years because existing research doesn't get "ported over" to the new FahCore unless it provides some significant scientific value to the researcher. This is very rare. Moreover, if the initial research uses FahCore_X, and a follow-up is required, FahCore_X would generally be used to ensure that there's consistency between the results. In other words, as long as there's available hardware that can run FahCore_X, it may appear even though more recent Projects are using a different FahCore.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6752
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Run both graphics subsystems at the same time

Postby Joe_H » Mon Aug 17, 2020 4:45 pm

Locking this topic.

The original post dates from 3 years ago, the person who revived the topic posted once, never followed up. The rest of the responses are to old questions and information that do not pertain to the person's issue which revived this topic over a month ago.
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6600
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Previous

Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron