I can't seem to get my GTX 1080 Ti to process WUs!

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

I can't seem to get my GTX 1080 Ti to process WUs!

Postby GlueFactoryBJJ » Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:20 pm

Hey everyone!

I've been folding, off and on, since sometime in 2001, not too long after this project started up (when it took DAYS to finish a WU :shock: ). Unfortunately, I haven't been very active for the last 10 years or so and I'm not at all familiar with this client.

After about 6 years with an I7-3770K-based system, I was able to upgrade to my new (for the next 5+ years) AMD R9-3950x and GTX 1080 Ti based system about a month ago. Since I have a relative with Parkinson's and COVID-19 has hit the world so hard, I thought I'd fire up FAH again.

I've been beating my head against the wall trying to get my GTX 1080 Ti working with this client. It just won't load WUs. What is interesting (i.e. frustrating) is that the folding slot for the GPU looks like this:

01 Paused:waiting for idle gpu:0:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 --> The "Paused:waiting for idle" is highlighted in yellow

I have the "On Idle" check box unchecked (right-click the "01" Folding Slot and it is the 4th item on that list). So I don't understand why it is waiting for idle to do something. Or am I misunderstanding what the message/check box are doing?

Here is my log file info: (what appears to be commonly requested in other posts)

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2020-04-22T06:40:57Z ***********************
06:40:57:************************* Folding@home Client *************************
06:40:57:        Website: https://foldingathome.org/
06:40:57:      Copyright: (c) 2009-2018 foldingathome.org
06:40:57:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
06:40:57:           Args: --open-web-control
06:40:57:         Config: C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\config.xml
06:40:57:******************************** Build ********************************
06:40:57:        Version: 7.5.1
06:40:57:           Date: May 11 2018
06:40:57:           Time: 13:06:32
06:40:57:     Repository: Git
06:40:57:       Revision: 4705bf53c635f88b8fe85af7675557e15d491ff0
06:40:57:         Branch: master
06:40:57:       Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
06:40:57:        Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
06:40:57:       Platform: win32 10
06:40:57:           Bits: 32
06:40:57:           Mode: Release
06:40:57:******************************* System ********************************
06:40:57:            CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16-Core Processor
06:40:57:         CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 23 Model 113 Stepping 0
06:40:57:           CPUs: 32
06:40:57:         Memory: 63.92GiB
06:40:57:    Free Memory: 52.38GiB
06:40:57:        Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
06:40:57:     OS Version: 6.2
06:40:57:    Has Battery: false
06:40:57:     On Battery: false
06:40:57:     UTC Offset: -5
06:40:57:            PID: 16380
06:40:57:            CWD: C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient
06:40:57:             OS: Windows 10 Enterprise
06:40:57:        OS Arch: AMD64
06:40:57:           GPUs: 1
06:40:57:          GPU 0: Bus:10 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:8 GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
06:40:57:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:10 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:10.2
06:40:57:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:10 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:442.92
06:40:57:  Win32 Service: false
06:40:57:***********************************************************************
06:40:57:<config>
06:40:57:  <!-- Network -->
06:40:57:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
06:40:57:
06:40:57:  <!-- Slot Control -->
06:40:57:  <power v='light'/>
06:40:57:
06:40:57:  <!-- User Information -->
06:40:57:  <passkey v='********************************'/>
06:40:57:  <team v='12077'/>
06:40:57:  <user v='stsurbrook'/>
06:40:57:
06:40:57:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
06:40:57:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'/>
06:40:57:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
06:40:57:</config>
06:40:57:Trying to access database...
06:40:57:Successfully acquired database lock
06:40:57:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:15
06:40:57:Enabled folding slot 01: PAUSED gpu:0:GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380 (waiting for idle)
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:Starting
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\cores/cores.foldingathome.org/v7/win/64bit/avx/Core_a7.fah/FahCore_a7.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 16380 -checkpoint 15 -np 15
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 7420
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:Core PID:16316
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:FahCore 0xa7 started
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:*********************** Log Started 2020-04-22T06:40:58Z ***********************
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:************************** Gromacs Folding@home Core ***************************
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Type: 0xa7
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Core: Gromacs
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Args: -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 705 -lifeline 7420 -checkpoint 15 -np
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:             15
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:************************************ CBang *************************************
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Oct 26 2019
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 01:38:25
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: c46a1a011a24143739ac7218c5a435f66777f62f
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:************************************ System ************************************
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:        CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 3950X 16-Core Processor
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     CPU ID: AuthenticAMD Family 23 Model 113 Stepping 0
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       CPUs: 32
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Memory: 63.92GiB
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Free Memory: 52.36GiB
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7: OS Version: 6.2
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Has Battery: false
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7: On Battery: false
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7: UTC Offset: -5
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:        PID: 16316
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:        CWD: C:\Users\Scott\AppData\Roaming\FAHClient\work
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:******************************** Build - libFAH ********************************
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Version: 0.0.18
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:  Copyright: 2019 foldingathome.org
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Date: Oct 26 2019
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Time: 01:52:30
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Revision: c1e3513b1bc0c16013668f2173ee969e5995b38e
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:     Branch: master
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Compiler: Visual C++ 2008
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:    Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /wd4297 /wd4103 /Ox /MT
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:   Platform: win32 10
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Bits: 64
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       Mode: Release
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:************************************ Build *************************************
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:       SIMD: avx_256
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:********************************************************************************
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Project: 16420 (Run 1810, Clone 4, Gen 30)
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Unit: 0x00000026a8f5c67d5e8a5fef6d44338f
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Digital signatures verified
06:40:58:WU01:FS00:0xa7:Calling: mdrun -s frame30.tpr -o frame30.trr -x frame30.xtc -cpi state.cpt -cpt 15 -nt 15


Anyway, I'd appreciate any help I can get with this problem!

Scott
GlueFactoryBJJ
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:22 pm
Location: Memphis, TN

Re: I can't seem to get my GTX 1080 Ti to process WUs!

Postby HaloJones » Sat Apr 25, 2020 11:59 pm

On Idle means when the screensaver would otherwise work. Try putting it to Fold instead of "On Idle" and let us know what it does.
1x Titan X, 5x 1070, 1x 970, 1 x Ryzen 3600

Image
HaloJones
 
Posts: 816
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:16 am

Re: I can't seem to get my GTX 1080 Ti to process WUs!

Postby PantherX » Sun Apr 26, 2020 12:39 am

Welcome to the F@H Forum GlueFactoryBJJ,

For setting up a Windows screensaver, here's an article: https://www.howtogeek.com/225305/how-to ... indows-10/

With Light, the GPU is configured to only fold when idle state is detected. When you unticked the box, I believe that the system might be "stuck" as I have never tested that particular configuration. If you want your GPU to fold even when you're using the system, just select Medium and it will automatically start folding.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6345
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: I can't seem to get my GTX 1080 Ti to process WUs!

Postby GlueFactoryBJJ » Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:38 am

HaloJones,

Thanks for the quick reply! I have tried pressing Fold with no change, unfortunately.

Thanks again.

Scott
GlueFactoryBJJ
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:22 pm
Location: Memphis, TN

Re: I can't seem to get my GTX 1080 Ti to process WUs!

Postby GlueFactoryBJJ » Mon Apr 27, 2020 7:47 am

PantherX,

Thanks for the quick reply!

I run a dual monitor setup and, unfortunately, I have not had the screen saver work for years. I've been in IT (including PC support) and after double checking the article link you posted, can confirm that I have the screen saver set correctly. It just won't run as set. I assume I have a background process that is running and stopping the screen saver from working, but I have tried (and failed) to figure out which one with no luck. A clean install would take days to get this production system back up and running and I just do not have the time.

What is the performance impact of setting the FAH client to medium vs light? I like light because it basically doesn't have any impact on my workflow.

In the meantime I'll give it a try at medium.

BTW, can both the CPU and GPU clients run simultaneously?

Thanks again for your help.

Scott
GlueFactoryBJJ
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:22 pm
Location: Memphis, TN

Re: I can't seem to get my GTX 1080 Ti to process WUs!

Postby GlueFactoryBJJ » Mon Apr 27, 2020 8:01 am

PantherX,

Ok, got an answer to my question about both running at same time. Wow! ~500W power draw from the wall with GPU running (~50-55 degrees C, ~410W GPU only) vs about 300W when only using CPU (~75-80 degrees C and about 200W idle).

Jumped from ~200K points per day (CPU only) to a current estimate of about 1,111K points per day (CPU and GPU combined). Woof! GPUs and the coding for them have come a long way since I last ran FAH with a GPU!

Thanks for your help!

Scott
GlueFactoryBJJ
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:22 pm
Location: Memphis, TN

Re: I can't seem to get my GTX 1080 Ti to process WUs!

Postby PantherX » Mon Apr 27, 2020 8:45 am

While you can fold on both your CPU and GPU, since you have a Nvidia GPU, you will need to keep at least 1 CPU free to feed the GPU. This is because the implementation of OpenCL by Nvidia uses a spin-wait (polling) implementation so will use 1 CPU.

While the GPU is folding, have you noticed any impact on your workflow? Since you have a powerful GPU, it might not be noticeable. I too have a GTX 1080 Ti and leave it folding 24/7 and while I have seen a drop in points, my workflow isn't really impacted... it might be a few seconds longer to finish the task but I can manage it.

You can choose to modify how many CPUs you would like to use in order to limit heat and power if those are your concerns. Good CPU values are 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10 (occasional issues), 12, 16, 24 and 27 (occasional issues I think).
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6345
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: I can't seem to get my GTX 1080 Ti to process WUs!

Postby JimboPalmer » Mon Apr 27, 2020 8:51 am

Welcome to Folding@Home! .

Your GPU is either folding or not folding, so I cannot offer ways to reduce the power draw of the GPU from inside F@H.

Your 32 thread (F@H calls them CPUs) CPU can however be set to fewer active threads. That would reduce power draw some what. When you ran on light, you used 16 threads.

In the taskbar to the lower right of the screen, you should see a F@H molecule icon, click it (you may need to click an Up Arrow to see it ^)

The second item in this menu is Advanced Control, click it

On this screen to the left is a Configure button, click it

Now you get a screen with a Slots tab, click it

On this white field should be a cpu item, click it and then click edit

By default F@H set the number of CPUs to -1 meaning let the software decide.
You can enter any number from 1 to the number of threads your CPU supports.
If you have GPUs, F@H reserves one CPU per GPU to feed it data across the PCIE bus.

F@H has difficulty with large primes and their multiples number of CPUs.
7 is always large, 5 is sometimes large, and 3 is never large. Try to choose a number that is a multiple of 2 and/or 3.
2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 16, 18, 20, 21, 24, 27, 30, 32 are good numbers of CPUs to choose. (_r2w_ben has advised me of more good numbers)
5. 10. 15, 20, 25, 28 may work most of the time. Other numbers will bite you

Type the number you want, and click save. (You can reduce the number of threads at any time, but increases only take effect with the next WU)
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 1965
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: I can't seem to get my GTX 1080 Ti to process WUs!

Postby GlueFactoryBJJ » Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:39 pm

Hey!

Thanks for the pointers! I wasn't complaining about the power draw, I kinda figured it would jump up a bit, I guess I was still surprised to see it jump that high. I've see power draws that high when compositing or rendering in Blender or running benchmarks, but not outside those situations.

FAH DOES do a great job backing off its processes when other apps need to do something. Even with all 16 cores/32 threads and the GPU running, I haven't really noticed any slow downs in most day-to-day things (web, email, etc.). Much better than when I first started.

I have to admit that, until I started running FAH with my upgraded system, I had not realized how much more power computers have now compared to when I first started back in the early 2000s. Just a couple weeks ago, my total points were about 2.2 million. Now I am at about 6.5 million points, almost 3x where I was only 2 weeks ago. And the 2.2. million score was after running up to 50 PCs full time for months on end. Back then each WU took up to a week to process (and would sometimes timeout/fail if they were used a lot). My CPU alone is processing about 1 per hour now. I can see why the total FAH system is processing at about 2.5 Exaflops now.

Still, it's mind boggling!

Just out of curiosity, is there any way to see my contributions in something like a bar chart? Or would I have to do that manually on my own?

Thanks again!

Scott
GlueFactoryBJJ
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2020 9:22 pm
Location: Memphis, TN

Re: I can't seem to get my GTX 1080 Ti to process WUs!

Postby PantherX » Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:48 pm

You can use EOC Stats: https://folding.extremeoverclocking.com ... ary.php?s= but anything further, you can either use EOC API or the Official API.
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6345
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud


Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron