Can't Obtain GPU WU

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: Can't Obtain GPU WU

Postby rpalri » Wed May 06, 2020 4:24 am

Alright! Thanks a lot. I shall update here if that doesn't happen. :)
rpalri
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 05, 2020 12:40 pm

Re: Can't Obtain GPU WU

Postby JimboPalmer » Wed May 06, 2020 9:10 am

Some of the 'slowdowns' I see.

02:44:52: Memory: 2.00GiB
2 gig of RAM is not very much in this day and age. 8 gig would be way better. (your OS can only use 4 gig)

02:44:52: OS Arch: X86

a 64 bit OS would allow more memory, if you do nothing else on this PC it might not be an issue to only have 4 gig.

02:44:52: CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4600 @ 2.40GHz
02:44:59:WU01:FS01:0xa7: SIMD: sse2
This Core 2 Duo is limited to sse2 floating point math, newer CPUs would be twice as fast per clock cycle. They can do avx_256 instructions.

I am not sure i would invest money on this PC, but the only good investment would be 4 gig of RAM

I would download Speccy to see what RAM i had so as to get as similar a form factor. (desktop/laptop, etc.)
https://www.ccleaner.com/speccy

800 Mhz DDR2 should be the right buzzword.

On Ebay that is $11 USD https://www.ebay.com/itm/4GB-Set-2GBx2-240-PIN-DDR2-PC2-6400U-800MHz-CL6-Desktop-DIMM-For-Dell-HP/283429613811
Tsar of all the Rushers
I tried to remain childlike, all I achieved was childish.
A friend to those who want no friends
JimboPalmer
 
Posts: 1957
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 5:12 am
Location: Greenwood MS USA

Re: Can't Obtain GPU WU

Postby BenjaminC » Thu May 07, 2020 7:37 am

I am seeing a similar issue using a GTX 550 Ti under Centos 8. This card was working properly under Windows with the 7.6.9 client, I upgraded my desktop PC with a new card and moved this card to a Linux server with the 4.9.13 client. The client is recognizing the card okay, but it is getting punted to 192.0.2.1. Is this card too old and limited to be used any more?

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2020-05-07T04:47:48Z ***********************
04:47:48:Trying to access database...
04:47:48:Successfully acquired database lock
04:47:48:Read GPUs.txt
04:47:48:Enabled folding slot 00: READY cpu:6
04:47:48:Enabled folding slot 01: READY gpu:0:GF116 [GeForce GTX 550 Ti] 691
04:47:48:****************************** FAHClient ******************************
04:47:48:        Version: 7.6.13
04:47:48:         Author: Joseph Coffland <joseph@cauldrondevelopment.com>
04:47:48:      Copyright: 2020 foldingathome.org
04:47:48:       Homepage: https://foldingathome.org/
04:47:48:           Date: Apr 28 2020
04:47:48:           Time: 04:20:27
04:47:48:       Revision: 5a652817f46116b6e135503af97f18e094414e3b
04:47:48:         Branch: master
04:47:48:       Compiler: GNU 4.9.4
04:47:48:        Options: -std=c++11 -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -O3
04:47:48:                 -funroll-loops
04:47:48:       Platform: linux2 4.19.0-5-amd64
04:47:48:           Bits: 64
04:47:48:           Mode: Release
04:47:48:           Args: --child /etc/fahclient/config.xml --run-as fahclient
04:47:48:                 --pid-file=/var/run/fahclient.pid --daemon
04:47:48:         Config: /etc/fahclient/config.xml
04:47:48:******************************** CBang ********************************
04:47:48:           Date: Apr 25 2020
04:47:48:           Time: 00:07:55
04:47:48:       Revision: ea081a3b3b0f4a37c4d0440b4f1bc184197c7797
04:47:48:         Branch: master
04:47:48:       Compiler: GNU 4.9.4
04:47:48:        Options: -std=c++11 -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -O3
04:47:48:                 -funroll-loops -fPIC
04:47:48:       Platform: linux2 4.19.0-5-amd64
04:47:48:           Bits: 64
04:47:48:           Mode: Release
04:47:48:******************************* System ********************************
04:47:48:            CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz
04:47:48:         CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
04:47:48:           CPUs: 8
04:47:48:         Memory: 23.29GiB
04:47:48:    Free Memory: 21.84GiB
04:47:48:        Threads: POSIX_THREADS
04:47:48:     OS Version: 4.18
04:47:48:    Has Battery: false
04:47:48:     On Battery: false
04:47:48:     UTC Offset: 0
04:47:48:            PID: 4349
04:47:48:            CWD: /var/lib/fahclient
04:47:48:             OS: Linux 4.18.0-147.8.1.el8_1.x86_64 x86_64
04:47:48:        OS Arch: AMD64
04:47:48:           GPUs: 1
04:47:48:          GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:2 GF116 [GeForce GTX 550 Ti] 691
04:47:48:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:2.1 Driver:9.1
04:47:48:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.1 Driver:390.132
04:47:48:******************************* libFAH ********************************
04:47:48:           Date: Apr 15 2020
04:47:48:           Time: 21:43:27
04:47:48:       Revision: 216968bc7025029c841ed6e36e81a03a316890d3
04:47:48:         Branch: master
04:47:48:       Compiler: GNU 4.9.4
04:47:48:        Options: -std=c++11 -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -O3
04:47:48:                 -funroll-loops
04:47:48:       Platform: linux2 4.19.0-5-amd64
04:47:48:           Bits: 64
04:47:48:           Mode: Release
04:47:48:***********************************************************************
BenjaminC
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 6:53 am

Re: Can't Obtain GPU WU

Postby HaloJones » Thu May 07, 2020 10:57 am

550ti is too old to fold I believe.
1x Titan X, 5x 1070, 1x 970, 1 x Ryzen 3600

Image
HaloJones
 
Posts: 813
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 11:16 am

Re: Can't Obtain GPU WU

Postby PantherX » Thu May 07, 2020 11:53 am

Welcome to the F@H Forum BenjaminC,

GTX 550 Ti doesn't have support for OpenCL 1.2 but it does support Double Precision. I would say that it is no longer supported: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/g ... 50-ti.c274 :(
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6327
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: Can't Obtain GPU WU

Postby eyLrageCohorT » Thu May 07, 2020 1:15 pm

PantherX wrote:Welcome to the F@H Forum BenjaminC,

GTX 550 Ti doesn't have support for OpenCL 1.2 but it does support Double Precision. I would say that it is no longer supported (


I've had more or less continuous work for my GTX 550 Ti since I started folding in March, but the last WU received for this was Started 2020-05-05T20:21:18 and returned 2020-05-07 00:09:33. But after that the GPU have been doing the following log:
Code: Select all
00:10:04:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 65.254.110.245:80
00:10:05:WU01:FS01:Assigned to work server 192.0.2.1
00:10:05:WU01:FS01:Requesting new work unit for slot 01: READY gpu:0:GF116 [GeForce GTX 550 Ti] 691 from 192.0.2.1
00:10:05:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 192.0.2.1:8080
00:10:26:WARNING:WU01:FS01:WorkServer connection failed on port 8080 trying 80
00:10:26:WU01:FS01:Connecting to 192.0.2.1:80
00:10:48:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Exception: Failed to connect to 192.0.2.1:80: Et tilkoblingsforsøk mislyktes fordi den tilkoblede parten ikke svarte på riktig måte etter en tidsperiode, eller den etablerte tilkoblingen mislyktes fordi den tilkoblede verten ikke svarte.


I tried upgrading from version 7.6.9 to version 7.6.13, but it didn't seem to help.
Could it just be the servers out of work for this type of GPU?
eyLrageCohorT
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 1:02 pm

Re: Can't Obtain GPU WU

Postby Joe_H » Thu May 07, 2020 2:57 pm

As I have posted elsewhere based on various reports, the early Fermi based GT 400 and GT 500 series cards are listed as supporting OpenCL 1.1, but most if not all also support DP. They have been working on most projects up until recently. Some of the more recent projects that use other features of the OpenMM code however have failed to run. The guess has been that these cards have most of what is needed to support being used on the GPU projects, but are missing some hardware or driver support item that causes them to not work when that is called for.

Since the WU request was directed to the non-server address 192.0.2.1, it appears that someone has updated the GPUs.txt entry to no longer assign to this GPU. They need to have made an announcement about this, I will follow up and see if one is going to be made.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6442
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA

Re: Can't Obtain GPU WU

Postby bruce » Thu May 07, 2020 5:53 pm

There's a difference of opinion at OpenMM about whether the FAHCore can support OpenCL 1.1 or if it requires 1.2. This GPU was temporarily disabled and I think you've demonstrated that it has been working with 1.1. I'll get it re-enabled.
bruce
 
Posts: 19656
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Can't Obtain GPU WU

Postby BenjaminC » Thu May 07, 2020 8:14 pm

bruce wrote:There's a difference of opinion at OpenMM about whether the FAHCore can support OpenCL 1.1 or if it requires 1.2. This GPU was temporarily disabled and I think you've demonstrated that it has been working with 1.1. I'll get it re-enabled.


Thank you. I see my system connected at 18:04 (UTC) today, successfully downloaded a work unit and FahCore 22, and is now grinding away!
BenjaminC
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 07, 2020 6:53 am

Previous

Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron