Page 1 of 1

GPU Slot error

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 7:02 pm
by AnClar
I upgraded my wife's laptop from W10 Home to W10 Pro by a license key change. Prior to the upgrade, I paused the WUs I had, for both CPU and GPU, and exited the FAH client. After what looked to be a successful upgrade, I restarted the FAH client. Everything looked OK until I noticed that the GPU slot would not resume. I checked the log and got this:

17:53:54:ERROR:WU01:FS01:Failed to start core: OpenCL device matching slot 1 not found, make sure the OpenCL driver is installed or try setting 'opencl-index' manually

That slot was working fine before the upgrade to W10 Pro. I tried uninstalling the client (keeping the data) and reinstalling the client. Same issue on startup. The slot shows "ready" in Advanced Control, but if I try to start it and resume the WU, that's the error I get. GPU is nVidia GTX1060M. The CPU slot is working fine, but the WU in the GPU slot is stuck at 13%. Any ideas? Thanks.

Re: GPU Slot error

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 7:10 pm
by Neil-B
The upgrade to pro may have installed window nvidia drivers ... you may need to reinstall the latest ones from nvidia as these will have the OpenCL driver that may be missing ... if this doesn't work please post your log making sure to include the top 100 lines or so of the log that include the system configuration details.

Re: GPU Slot error

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 8:42 pm
by AnClar
Neil-B wrote:The upgrade to pro may have installed window nvidia drivers ... you may need to reinstall the latest ones from nvidia as these will have the OpenCL driver that may be missing ... if this doesn't work please post your log making sure to include the top 100 lines or so of the log that include the system configuration details.


Thank you! That was the issue. I didn't think that an upgrade from W10 home to W10 pro would mess with the GPU drivers. Silly me. :shock:

Re: GPU Slot error

PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 10:00 pm
by Neil-B
Glad I could assist … and by the way imo (as a veteran windows user/fanboy) it is Windows that is "Silly" not yourself !!

Re: GPU Slot error

PostPosted: Wed Jun 10, 2020 6:32 am
by bruce
AnClar wrote:I didn't think that an upgrade from W10 home to W10 pro would mess with the GPU drivers. Silly me. :shock:


You don't have to do a version upgrade to have that happen. Even when Windows decides you need a simple driver update ....
https://github.com/FoldingAtHome/fah-issues/issues/1212