OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though NVidia has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby bruce » Tue Aug 18, 2020 7:41 pm

gunnarre wrote:For other Linux distributions, you might have to install the driver via the "run" option on the Nvidia website to get it to work.

Caution. The "run" version of the drivers can clobber your desktop if you`have onee (i.e. unless your are running the server version of the distro). Find the HOW-TO instructions and follow them carefully.
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby bruce » Tue Aug 18, 2020 7:46 pm

PantherX wrote:I noticed that your driver version is 27.20 but mine is 451.48 thus you might need a more recent version of the driver?

THat just demonstrates that you don't need "game ready" revisions of the drivers since you can't play a game on a device that doesn't have video. I looked around and didn't find drivers easily, so the zotac version may be the only option. I don't know if they include OpenCL.
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby JohnChodera » Tue Aug 18, 2020 8:51 pm

> This shows two Nvidia GPUs and an Intel GPU (we are again 'blessed' by completely unsupported Intel GPUs in Production, because F@H is unaware of the idea of a Test system)

@JimboPalmer: We're moving Intel GPUs to GPUSpecies=1 so that we can test these separately! The new beta client has a special flag that will allow configuration of the GPUSpecies=1 GPUs for use in testing/benchmarking projects!
Slowly but surely, we'll get there...
User avatar
JohnChodera
Pande Group Member
 
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 10:59 pm

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby CrimsonFKR » Wed Aug 19, 2020 4:48 am

not sure how people are not seeing the 451.67 driver i installed from the latest GPU-Z post.. but that notwithstanding; If i disable the intel GPU, i will have no display out. The P106-90 card is a mining variant with no display out. I can try the method described above..

1. Uninstall FAH incl. Data
2. Disable the Intel GPU (if necessary connect the monitor to one of the Nvidia cars)
3. DDU all present GPU drivers
4. Install the latest Nvidia drivers
5. Install FAH

..except not uninstalling the intel IGPU? or, perhaps use a generic driver and remove/install everything in safe mode? I may try a combination of things this evening, any additional suggestions are appreciated, along with the help ive received so far.
CrimsonFKR
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 2:26 am

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby bruce » Wed Aug 19, 2020 4:58 am

Intel and Microsoft have teamed up to provide a version of OpenCL that works on the Intel iGP. It DOES NOT work on NVidia/AMD hardware and is known to cause conflicts in a system containing both the Intel IGP and OpenCL drivers for "supported" hardware. This may or may not become a problem if FAH decides to call Intel iGPs supported. They may work with the NVidia or AMD version of OpenCL ... but that'll be resolved someday soon.

Since you don't currently have any supported GPU hardware, I'm not sure the best way to find a version of OpenCL that can support both the iGP and the P106 (or even just the P106).

If you uninstall the Intel OpenCL, it may actually help because OpenCL is not required to display a desktop ... and you can always reinstall it if you need to. I don't know how to the the OpenCL version that nVidia distributes without actually installing their divers. Maybe you can install the CUDA Developers package even if you don't have a CUDA device installed. (It will have lots of things you DON'T need.)

Please ask Zotac if they can recommend OpenCL for the P106 and report back.
bruce
 
Posts: 20009
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby ajm » Wed Aug 19, 2020 6:22 am

CrimsonFKR wrote:not sure how people are not seeing the 451.67 driver i installed from the latest GPU-Z post..

Their number must appear in the OpenCL line, like this:
Code: Select all
01:24:32:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:451.77
01:24:32:OpenCL Device 1: Platform:0 Device:1 Bus:78 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:451.77

In your setup, the system indicates 27.20 (instead of 451.67). It shows that the drivers were not installed correctly for what OpenCL is concerned.

but that notwithstanding; If i disable the intel GPU, i will have no display out. The P106-90 card is a mining variant with no display out. I can try the method described above..

1. Uninstall FAH incl. Data
2. Disable the Intel GPU (if necessary connect the monitor to one of the Nvidia cars)
3. DDU all present GPU drivers
4. Install the latest Nvidia drivers
5. Install FAH

..except not uninstalling the intel IGPU? or, perhaps use a generic driver and remove/install everything in safe mode? I may try a combination of things this evening, any additional suggestions are appreciated, along with the help ive received so far.

Maybe, who knows. In any case, you should prevent the installation of the version of OpenCL that comes with the Intel drivers. Maybe install another regular GPU on the kit for the duration of the installation?
ajm
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby ph0b » Wed Aug 19, 2020 10:05 am

OpenCL implementations from different vendors are supposed to play nice with each other. You can read more about how this works in OpenCL spec:
Code: Select all
https://khronos.org/registry/OpenCL/specs/2.2/html/OpenCL_ICD_Installation.html


What version of OpenCL.dll do you have in C:\Windows\System32 ? You should have something like 2.2.5.x from this year.
If not, removing all previous graphics drivers and this OpenCL.dll file and then reinstalling them should fix your issue.

A quicker solution to fix platform load issues, but not as clean, is to overwrite OpenCL.dll manually with Intel_OpenCL_ICD64.dll from latest Intel driver package (and Intel_OpenCL_ICD32.dll to C:\Windows\SysWOW64\OpenCL.dll for 32-bit programs).
ph0b
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:23 pm

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby PantherX » Wed Aug 19, 2020 10:30 am

CrimsonFKR wrote:not sure how people are not seeing the 451.67 driver i installed from the latest GPU-Z post...

Apologies for not elaborating it a bit more and for "falling back" to assumed knowledge :( While ajm provided an answer, I thought to elaborate on that a bit more.

The screenshot of GPU-Z was a quick sanity check to see if the GPU was functional and detected correctly or not. The Device ID is useful too since it must be present in the GPUs.txt file in order for the client to detect it. The screenshot also provides a quick view of the status OpenCL and CUDA. Both should be present (ticked) but in this case, OpenCL is not ticked.

The reason I skipped over the Driver version in GPU-Z is because the focus is on client which means that I will look at the log file to see what the client detects. If the client can't detect it, then we need to fix that so that the client can correctly configure itself. Thus, the important section would be comparing the log file and this is what your client has:
Code: Select all
06:21:11:           GPUs: 3
06:21:11:          GPU 0: Bus:4 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GP106 [P106-090]
06:21:11:          GPU 1: Bus:0 Slot:2 Func:0 INTEL:1 Gen9/GT2 [HD Graphics 530]
06:21:11:          GPU 2: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:7 GP106 [P106-090]
06:21:11:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:11.0
06:21:11:  CUDA Device 1: Platform:0 Device:1 Bus:4 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:11.0
06:21:11:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:NA Slot:NA Compute:2.1 Driver:27.20

Which I compared to mine as we both have Nvidia devices so makes it easy to see what the Driver information is:
Code: Select all
20:55:16:           GPUs: 1
20:55:16:          GPU 0: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 NVIDIA:8 GP102 [GeForce GTX 1080 Ti] 11380
20:55:16:  CUDA Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:6.1 Driver:11.0
20:55:16:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:451.48

So, we notice that your system doesn't have the Bus allocated no the correct Driver detected assuming that it is the Nvidia GPGPU. I think that might be the Intel iGPU since there's no OpenCL for your P106.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6756
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby CrimsonFKR » Wed Aug 19, 2020 10:57 am

Thank you all for the clarification and added troubleshooting guidance. I didn't have any luck this evening, but I do agree that the intel GPU is throwing a wrench in things for sure, here. I will have to educate myself further so i can be a little more precise. All I really did was try shuffling in the drivers in as many different orders as i could manage. I will get back at it later and report on my results.

Thanks for the reading material!
CrimsonFKR
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 2:26 am

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby ajm » Wed Aug 19, 2020 11:12 am

Maybe you could replace the monitor presently connected to this iGPU with an RDP connection to another computer of the network?
You would then have a "Microsoft Remote Display Adapter" in the Device Manager of the folding rig, which I know doesn't interfere with OpenCL, and you could disable the iPGU.
This app makes the process smoother: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/micro ... verviewtab
ajm
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby Neil-B » Wed Aug 19, 2020 11:16 am

I actually reckon your challenge may be to find nvidia drivers that support your GPUs and OpenCl and that may be part of the challenge you are having ... Someone probably has the same GPUs working sucessfully and may be able to advise what drivers they are using - at least then you are working towards a driver set you know should work.

With the correct drivers for the nvidias running the iGPU shouldn't be an issue - just let the client create its slot then pause and pause-on-start it ... once that is done delete and nvidia slots, install a set of nvidia drivers that you know works for your cards (if you can find a set), reboot system and you may find things work for you ... Hope you manage to get this sorted.
1: 2x Xeon E5-2697v3@2.60GHz, 512GB DDR4 LRDIMM, SSD Raid, Win10 Ent, Quadro K420 1GB, FAH 7.6.13
2: Xeon E3-1505Mv5@2.80GHz, 32GB DDR4, NVME, Win10 Pro, Quadro M1000M 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
3: i7-960@3.20GHz, 12GB DDR3, SSD, Win10 Pro, GTX 750Ti 2GB, FAH 7.6.13
Neil-B
 
Posts: 1409
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2020 6:52 pm
Location: UK

Re: OpenCL not present, or is configured incorrectly

Postby ajm » Wed Aug 19, 2020 11:50 am

A possible solution seems to be drivers for a 1050/1060. People at LTT (here the first message about that card: https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/10 ... t-13508536 )
could get a screenshot of GPU-Z with OpenCL active for a P106-090
ajm
 
Posts: 616
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 6:22 am
Location: Lucerne, Switzerland

Previous

Return to Problems with NVidia drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron