Missing NVcuda error but running AMD GPUs !?

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though AMD has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, PandeGroup

Missing NVcuda error but running AMD GPUs !?

Postby ablainey » Fri May 10, 2019 7:22 pm

I have 3x RX 570's running fine but added an RX 470 and got an error.
One of the 570's failed to start folding and has the error 'failed to open NVCUDA.dll which is really odd considering all the gpus are AMD, and there has never been any Nvidia cards on the system. The 470 that was added works fine.
I physically reordered the GPU's and now all 3 570's work again and the 470 doesn't and gives the same nvcuda error.

Is there a limit to how many GPU's can be run simultaneously?
ablainey
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 7:08 pm

Re: Missing NVcuda error but running AMD GPUs !?

Postby bruce » Sat May 11, 2019 12:42 am

As you suggest, the "missing nvcuda.dll message simply means you don't have the NVidia drivers. It normally appears on the first page of the log on a system with AMD GPUs when it is restarted. It has nothng to do with adding another GPU.
bruce
 
Posts: 22236
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Re: Missing NVcuda error but running AMD GPUs !?

Postby ablainey » Sat May 11, 2019 10:19 am

Thanks Bruce.
But any idea why there is a limit on number of GPU's being used? Or ways to get round it?
Clearly there isnt an actual problem with folding using the GPU's as it happily runs them and it only seems to be an issue with how the are ordered. The last card doesn't get used.
Is there a device limit? or does this look like soem manual setup is required?

Anyone else running a mining rig for folding?
ablainey
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri May 10, 2019 7:08 pm

Re: Missing NVcuda error but running AMD GPUs !?

Postby foldy » Sat May 11, 2019 11:03 am

You need to post your logfile so we can see what is going on.
foldy
 
Posts: 1419
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:43 pm

Re: Missing NVcuda error but running AMD GPUs !?

Postby bruce » Sat May 11, 2019 3:05 pm

ablainey wrote:But any idea why there is a limit on number of GPU's being used? Or ways to get round it?Anyone else running a mining rig for folding?


See foldy's discussion here: viewtopic.php?f=38&t=31597
bruce
 
Posts: 22236
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.


Return to Problems with AMD/ATI drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron