HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though AMD has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby Om_Audio » Sun Nov 24, 2013 1:50 pm

Win7 HP x64, i3, 6GB RAM, Crucial M500 SSD, HD 5450 PCIe
Using latest client- never folds just fails. Brand new OS install.
GPU temp stays low showing no usage.
Image
Image
Image
Image

Any help appreciated.

Log from start until just after FAH reports GPU fails:

Code: Select all
00:44:24:      Version: 7.3.6
00:44:24:         Date: Feb 18 2013
00:44:24:         Time: 15:25:17
00:44:24:      SVN Rev: 3923
00:44:24:       Branch: fah/trunk/client
00:44:24:     Compiler: Intel(R) C++ MSVC 1500 mode 1200
00:44:24:      Options: /TP /nologo /EHa /Qdiag-disable:4297,4103,1786,279 /Ox -arch:SSE
00:44:24:               /QaxSSE2,SSE3,SSSE3,SSE4.1,SSE4.2 /Qopenmp /Qrestrict /MT /Qmkl
00:44:24:     Platform: win32 XP
00:44:24:         Bits: 32
00:44:24:         Mode: Release
00:44:24:******************************* System ********************************
00:44:24:          CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2120 CPU @ 3.30GHz
00:44:24:       CPU ID: GenuineIntel Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
00:44:24:         CPUs: 4
00:44:24:       Memory: 5.87GiB
00:44:24:  Free Memory: 2.04GiB
00:44:24:      Threads: WINDOWS_THREADS
00:44:24:  Has Battery: false
00:44:24:   On Battery: false
00:44:24:   UTC offset: -8
00:44:24:          PID: 5684
00:44:24:          CWD: C:/Users/Clifford/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient
00:44:24:           OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
00:44:24:      OS Arch: AMD64
00:44:24:         GPUs: 1
00:44:24:        GPU 0: ATI:4 Cedar PRO [Radeon HD 5450]
00:44:24:         CUDA: Not detected
00:44:24:Win32 Service: false
00:44:24:***********************************************************************
00:44:24:<config>
00:44:24:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
00:44:24:  <power v='full'/>
00:44:24:
00:44:24:  <!-- Network -->
00:44:24:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
00:44:24:
00:44:24:  <!-- User Information -->
00:44:24:  <team v='40051'/>
00:44:24:  <user v='Om_Audio'/>
00:44:24:
00:44:24:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
00:44:24:  <slot id='0' type='GPU'/>
00:44:24:  <slot id='1' type='CPU'>
00:44:24:    <cpus v='4'/>
00:44:24:  </slot>
00:44:24:</config>
00:44:24:Trying to access database...
00:44:24:Successfully acquired database lock
00:44:24:Enabled folding slot 00: READY gpu:0:Cedar PRO [Radeon HD 5450]
00:44:24:Enabled folding slot 01: READY cpu:4
00:44:24:WU01:FS01:Starting
00:44:24:WU01:FS01:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Clifford/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/Core_a3.fah/FahCore_a3.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 5684 -checkpoint 15 -np 4
00:44:24:WU01:FS01:Started FahCore on PID 7424
00:44:24:WU01:FS01:Core PID:4384
00:44:24:WU01:FS01:FahCore 0xa3 started
00:44:25:WU00:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:*------------------------------*
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Folding@Home Gromacs SMP Core
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Version 2.27 (Dec. 15, 2010)
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Preparing to commence simulation
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:- Looking at optimizations...
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:- Files status OK
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:- Expanded 3847936 -> 4383072 (decompressed 113.9 percent)
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=3847936 data_size=4383072, decompressed_data_size=4383072 diff=0
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:- Digital signature verified
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Project: 8567 (Run 1, Clone 3, Gen 108)
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Assembly optimizations on if available.
00:44:25:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Entering M.D.
00:44:25:WU00:FS00:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
00:44:25:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.69
00:44:25:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:Cedar PRO [Radeon HD 5450] from 171.64.65.69
00:44:25:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.69:8080
00:44:26:WU00:FS00:Downloading 4.17MiB
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:Download complete
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:Received Unit: id:00 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:8900 run:438 clone:6 gen:17 core:0x17 unit:0x0000001b028c126651a6882f8d2e44e8
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:Starting
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Clifford/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 5684 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 5756
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:Core PID:5752
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0x17 started
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:0x17:*********************** Log Started 2013-11-24T00:44:28Z ***********************
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:0x17:Project: 8900 (Run 438, Clone 6, Gen 17)
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:0x17:Unit: 0x0000001b028c126651a6882f8d2e44e8
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:0x17:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:0x17:Machine: 0
00:44:28:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file state.xml
00:44:29:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file system.xml
00:44:29:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file integrator.xml
00:44:29:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file core.xml
00:44:29:WU00:FS00:0x17:Digital signatures verified
00:44:29:WU00:FS00:0x17:Folding@home GPU core17
00:44:29:WU00:FS00:0x17:Version 0.0.52
00:44:31:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Using Gromacs checkpoints
00:44:31:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Mapping NT from 4 to 4
00:44:32:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Resuming from checkpoint
00:44:32:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Verified 01/wudata_01.log
00:44:32:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Verified 01/wudata_01.trr
00:44:32:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Verified 01/wudata_01.edr
00:44:40:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Completed 105145 out of 500000 steps  (21%)
00:44:45:3:127.0.0.1:New Web connection
00:47:26:WU00:FS00:0x17:ERROR:exception: Error invoking kernel execFFT: clEnqueueNDRangeKernel (-55)
00:47:26:WU00:FS00:0x17:Saving result file logfile_01.txt
00:47:26:WU00:FS00:0x17:Saving result file log.txt
00:47:26:WU00:FS00:0x17:Folding@home Core Shutdown: BAD_WORK_UNIT
00:47:27:WARNING:WU00:FS00:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
00:47:27:WU00:FS00:Sending unit results: id:00 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:8900 run:438 clone:6 gen:17 core:0x17 unit:0x0000001b028c126651a6882f8d2e44e8
00:47:27:WU00:FS00:Uploading 2.41KiB to 171.64.65.69
00:47:27:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.69:8080
00:47:27:WU00:FS00:Upload complete
00:47:27:WU00:FS00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
00:47:27:WU00:FS00:Cleaning up
00:47:27:WU02:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
00:47:27:WU02:FS00:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
00:47:27:WU02:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.69
00:47:27:WU02:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:Cedar PRO [Radeon HD 5450] from 171.64.65.69
00:47:27:WU02:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.69:8080
00:47:27:WU02:FS00:Downloading 4.17MiB
00:47:30:WU02:FS00:Download complete
00:47:30:WU02:FS00:Received Unit: id:02 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:8900 run:44 clone:5 gen:23 core:0x17 unit:0x00000025028c126651a6304b22626930
00:47:30:WU02:FS00:Starting
00:47:30:WU02:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Clifford/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 5684 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
00:47:30:WU02:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 6436
00:47:30:WU02:FS00:Core PID:6196
00:47:30:WU02:FS00:FahCore 0x17 started
00:47:31:WU02:FS00:0x17:*********************** Log Started 2013-11-24T00:47:30Z ***********************
00:47:31:WU02:FS00:0x17:Project: 8900 (Run 44, Clone 5, Gen 23)
00:47:31:WU02:FS00:0x17:Unit: 0x00000025028c126651a6304b22626930
00:47:31:WU02:FS00:0x17:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
00:47:31:WU02:FS00:0x17:Machine: 0
00:47:31:WU02:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file state.xml
00:47:31:WU02:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file system.xml
00:47:32:WU02:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file integrator.xml
00:47:32:WU02:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file core.xml
00:47:32:WU02:FS00:0x17:Digital signatures verified
00:47:32:WU02:FS00:0x17:Folding@home GPU core17
00:47:32:WU02:FS00:0x17:Version 0.0.52
00:50:12:WU02:FS00:0x17:ERROR:exception: Error invoking kernel execFFT: clEnqueueNDRangeKernel (-55)
00:50:12:WU02:FS00:0x17:Saving result file logfile_01.txt
00:50:12:WU02:FS00:0x17:Saving result file log.txt
00:50:12:WU02:FS00:0x17:Folding@home Core Shutdown: BAD_WORK_UNIT
00:50:13:WARNING:WU02:FS00:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
00:50:13:WU02:FS00:Sending unit results: id:02 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:8900 run:44 clone:5 gen:23 core:0x17 unit:0x00000025028c126651a6304b22626930
00:50:13:WU02:FS00:Uploading 2.40KiB to 171.64.65.69
00:50:13:WU02:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.69:8080
00:50:13:WU02:FS00:Upload complete
00:50:13:WU02:FS00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
00:50:13:WU02:FS00:Cleaning up
00:50:13:WU00:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
00:50:13:WU00:FS00:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
00:50:13:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.69
00:50:13:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:Cedar PRO [Radeon HD 5450] from 171.64.65.69
00:50:13:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.69:8080
00:50:13:WU00:FS00:Downloading 4.18MiB
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:Download complete
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:Received Unit: id:00 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:8900 run:531 clone:6 gen:13 core:0x17 unit:0x0000001a028c126651a69cea400aa17c
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:Starting
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Clifford/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 5684 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 7008
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:Core PID:3848
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0x17 started
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:0x17:*********************** Log Started 2013-11-24T00:50:16Z ***********************
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:0x17:Project: 8900 (Run 531, Clone 6, Gen 13)
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:0x17:Unit: 0x0000001a028c126651a69cea400aa17c
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:0x17:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:0x17:Machine: 0
00:50:16:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file state.xml
00:50:17:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file system.xml
00:50:18:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file integrator.xml
00:50:18:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file core.xml
00:50:18:WU00:FS00:0x17:Digital signatures verified
00:50:18:WU00:FS00:0x17:Folding@home GPU core17
00:50:18:WU00:FS00:0x17:Version 0.0.52
00:52:58:WU00:FS00:0x17:ERROR:exception: Error invoking kernel execFFT: clEnqueueNDRangeKernel (-55)
00:52:58:WU00:FS00:0x17:Saving result file logfile_01.txt
00:52:58:WU00:FS00:0x17:Saving result file log.txt
00:52:58:WU00:FS00:0x17:Folding@home Core Shutdown: BAD_WORK_UNIT
00:52:59:WARNING:WU00:FS00:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
00:52:59:WU00:FS00:Sending unit results: id:00 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:8900 run:531 clone:6 gen:13 core:0x17 unit:0x0000001a028c126651a69cea400aa17c
00:52:59:WU00:FS00:Uploading 2.40KiB to 171.64.65.69
00:52:59:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.69:8080
00:52:59:WU00:FS00:Upload complete
00:52:59:WU00:FS00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
00:52:59:WU00:FS00:Cleaning up
00:52:59:WU02:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
00:52:59:WU02:FS00:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
00:52:59:WU02:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.69
00:52:59:WU02:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:Cedar PRO [Radeon HD 5450] from 171.64.65.69
00:52:59:WU02:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.69:8080
00:52:59:WU02:FS00:Downloading 4.17MiB
00:53:02:WU02:FS00:Download complete
00:53:02:WU02:FS00:Received Unit: id:02 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:8900 run:380 clone:5 gen:9 core:0x17 unit:0x0000000e028c126651a67b35506327ef
00:53:02:WU02:FS00:Starting
00:53:02:WU02:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Clifford/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17.exe -dir 02 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 5684 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
00:53:02:WU02:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 7004
00:53:02:WU02:FS00:Core PID:8140
00:53:02:WU02:FS00:FahCore 0x17 started
00:53:03:WU02:FS00:0x17:*********************** Log Started 2013-11-24T00:53:02Z ***********************
00:53:03:WU02:FS00:0x17:Project: 8900 (Run 380, Clone 5, Gen 9)
00:53:03:WU02:FS00:0x17:Unit: 0x0000000e028c126651a67b35506327ef
00:53:03:WU02:FS00:0x17:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
00:53:03:WU02:FS00:0x17:Machine: 0
00:53:03:WU02:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file state.xml
00:53:03:WU02:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file system.xml
00:53:04:WU02:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file integrator.xml
00:53:04:WU02:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file core.xml
00:53:04:WU02:FS00:0x17:Digital signatures verified
00:53:04:WU02:FS00:0x17:Folding@home GPU core17
00:53:04:WU02:FS00:0x17:Version 0.0.52
00:55:44:WU02:FS00:0x17:ERROR:exception: Error invoking kernel execFFT: clEnqueueNDRangeKernel (-55)
00:55:44:WU02:FS00:0x17:Saving result file logfile_01.txt
00:55:44:WU02:FS00:0x17:Saving result file log.txt
00:55:44:WU02:FS00:0x17:Folding@home Core Shutdown: BAD_WORK_UNIT
00:55:45:WARNING:WU02:FS00:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
00:55:45:WU02:FS00:Sending unit results: id:02 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:8900 run:380 clone:5 gen:9 core:0x17 unit:0x0000000e028c126651a67b35506327ef
00:55:45:WU02:FS00:Uploading 2.40KiB to 171.64.65.69
00:55:45:WU02:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.69:8080
00:55:45:WU00:FS00:Connecting to assign-GPU.stanford.edu:80
00:55:45:WU00:FS00:News: Welcome to Folding@Home
00:55:45:WU00:FS00:Assigned to work server 171.64.65.69
00:55:45:WU00:FS00:Requesting new work unit for slot 00: READY gpu:0:Cedar PRO [Radeon HD 5450] from 171.64.65.69
00:55:45:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.69:8080
00:55:46:WU02:FS00:Upload complete
00:55:46:WU02:FS00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
00:55:46:WU02:FS00:Cleaning up
00:55:46:WU00:FS00:Downloading 4.17MiB
00:55:49:WU00:FS00:Download complete
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:Received Unit: id:00 state:DOWNLOAD error:NO_ERROR project:8900 run:212 clone:2 gen:40 core:0x17 unit:0x00000040028c126651a655b9abf27069
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:Starting
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:Running FahCore: "C:\Program Files (x86)\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe" C:/Users/Clifford/AppData/Roaming/FAHClient/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17.exe -dir 00 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 5684 -checkpoint 15 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 2304
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:Core PID:816
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:FahCore 0x17 started
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:0x17:*********************** Log Started 2013-11-24T00:55:50Z ***********************
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:0x17:Project: 8900 (Run 212, Clone 2, Gen 40)
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:0x17:Unit: 0x00000040028c126651a655b9abf27069
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:0x17:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:0x17:Machine: 0
00:55:50:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file state.xml
00:55:51:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file system.xml
00:55:51:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file integrator.xml
00:55:51:WU00:FS00:0x17:Reading tar file core.xml
00:55:51:WU00:FS00:0x17:Digital signatures verified
00:55:51:WU00:FS00:0x17:Folding@home GPU core17
00:55:51:WU00:FS00:0x17:Version 0.0.52
00:58:32:WU00:FS00:0x17:ERROR:exception: Error invoking kernel execFFT: clEnqueueNDRangeKernel (-55)
00:58:32:WU00:FS00:0x17:Saving result file logfile_01.txt
00:58:32:WU00:FS00:0x17:Saving result file log.txt
00:58:32:WU00:FS00:0x17:Folding@home Core Shutdown: BAD_WORK_UNIT
00:58:32:WARNING:WU00:FS00:FahCore returned: BAD_WORK_UNIT (114 = 0x72)
00:58:32:WU00:FS00:Sending unit results: id:00 state:SEND error:FAULTY project:8900 run:212 clone:2 gen:40 core:0x17 unit:0x00000040028c126651a655b9abf27069
00:58:32:WU00:FS00:Uploading 2.41KiB to 171.64.65.69
00:58:32:WU00:FS00:Connecting to 171.64.65.69:8080
00:58:32:WU00:FS00:Upload complete
00:58:32:WU00:FS00:Server responded WORK_ACK (400)
00:58:32:WU00:FS00:Cleaning up
01:18:18:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Completed 110000 out of 500000 steps  (22%)
01:42:42:WU01:FS01:0xa3:Completed 115000 out of 500000 steps  (23%)
01:43:22:WARNING:Exception: 13:127.0.0.1: Send error: 10053: An established connection was aborted by the software in your host machine.
Om_Audio
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:23 pm

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby X1900AIW » Sun Nov 24, 2013 6:22 pm

Did you try FAHBench first ?
User avatar
X1900AIW
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:50 am
Location: Germany

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby Om_Audio » Sun Nov 24, 2013 9:31 pm

Never heard of it. Installed it- ran it- crashed my display driver. What is it supposed to offer?
Image
thx
C
Om_Audio
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:23 pm

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby 7im » Mon Nov 25, 2013 12:07 am

It's an easy way to confirm if the necessary software and drivers are loaded and working without burning through live work units. But its primary function is to do benchmarks for performance comparisons.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby Om_Audio » Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:03 am

Ok thanks, can you help me determine if I have the necessary software and drivers loaded?
C
Om_Audio
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:23 pm

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby Om_Audio » Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:12 am

PS- Answer me these questions three....
:)
Om_Audio
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:23 pm

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby 7im » Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:18 am

New OS install. Fully patched?

13.9 cat driver should be good enough.

Might need to set the CPU client to use 3 cores so the GPU can use one.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby Om_Audio » Mon Nov 25, 2013 9:18 am

Yup brand new install, fully patched. I will try the 3 and 1 suggestion but is that normal to have to give up a core to use a gpu?
C
Om_Audio
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:23 pm

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby 7im » Mon Nov 25, 2013 2:32 pm

Yes, with core 17 work units, that's normal.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby Om_Audio » Mon Nov 25, 2013 9:46 pm

I tried 3 slots for the cpu, still had failure on gpu.
C
Om_Audio
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:23 pm

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby 7im » Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:39 pm

When nothing else works, eliminate the most obvious alternatives.

Please describe the power supply unit. Brand, watts, amps on 12v rail. Thanks.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby Om_Audio » Mon Nov 25, 2013 10:47 pm

Will have to get back you with details. It is a stock Dell Inspiron 660s with a smaller compact PSU and the GPU is an Asus fanless HD5450 without any external PS connection required.
C

EDIT- looks like the PSU is a 220W model. I have played Portal without issues or excessive temps. Seems ok and based on the following thread it seems the 5450 only uses 10W and I have an i3 and a single M500 SSD so my power requirements should be quite low.
http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/31085 ... -draw-htpc
Om_Audio
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:23 pm

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby PantherX » Sun Dec 01, 2013 2:06 pm

I read the linked thread and the articles mentioned. It seems that when the GPU is stressed, it can use anywhere from 23 Watts (http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/ra ... iew,6.html) to 32 Watts (http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/3120/s ... dex13.html). Moreover, AMD itself suggests a typical load of 19.1 Watts (http://www.amd.com/US/PRODUCTS/DESKTOP/ ... iew.aspx#2). Furthermore, Watts is only part of the picture, you also need Amps which the PSU can deliver. Thus, I wouldn't want to fold (folding is more intensive than gaming) with that PSU since it falls under the category of generic PSU instead of a branded ones (Thermaltake, Zalman, Corsair, etc).
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6850
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby Om_Audio » Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:21 am

I played a game last night that had the gpu temp at 80 degrees C for hours- I am certain the PSU can handle it,
there is clearly something else going on since the gpu folding never even starts. It is not an issue of it erroring
or failing after it folds stressed for awhile. Thanks.
Also that test system is using an i7 while I only have an i3 which are diff in power consumption. They also use a dual fan cooler etc. My system has an M500 SSD, single cpu fan, etc. Seems pretty low power compared to other systems I have owned. At 30W idle it is almost in laptop territory at idle anyway.
C

Total comp usage at the outlet:
comp at idle- 30W
all 4 cores at 100% from FAH (gpu temp 53 deg C- unused essentially)= 63W
all 4 cores at 100% from FAH and in game (gpu temp 53 deg C)= 74W
gaming only- gpu 80 deg C= 60W
Om_Audio
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 11, 2013 10:23 pm

Re: HD 5450 never starts folding- fails

Postby bruce » Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:38 am

The answer to your questions has not yet been determined.

There have been several reports of troubles when folding with the HD 5000 series (including one from me). What I do NOT know is whether there have been any successes.

Certainly overclocking, bad drivers, bad power and/or too much heat can cause instability, but they're not the only possibilities. I've seen at least three theories.
1) The HD 5000 becomes unstable when given "too much work"
2) FahCore_17 uses one or two double-precision operations, which are not supported by the HD 5000.
3) GPU memory is filling up.

Personally, I don't like theory 1. The drivers should never accept new work until the GPU is able to handle it. Theory 3 is similar but problems with VRAM allocation may not be properly managed. Theory 2 isn't supposed to be true.

Additional beta testing is certainly warranted but I have not seen volunteers signing up for it or additional reports suggesting details of what can/should be changed. Have you used the "BUG" reporting feature of Web Control? If so, what was the URL of your report?
bruce
 
Posts: 20125
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:13 pm
Location: So. Cal.

Next

Return to Problems with AMD/ATI drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron