AMD R9 270X NOT work!!!!!!!!!

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though AMD has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

AMD R9 270X NOT work!!!!!!!!!

Postby angus63631 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:39 pm

i am using Msi r9 270x gaming 2g and Client ver.7.3.6

I5-4670K
16gRam
Windwos 7 64bit


Help!
angus63631
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:32 pm

Re: AMD R9 270X NOT work!!!!!!!!!

Postby P5-133XL » Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:44 pm

Need more information: The v7.3.6 client log would be helpful.
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: AMD R9 270X NOT work!!!!!!!!!

Postby angus63631 » Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:49 pm

Code: Select all
11:46:28:Saving configuration to config.xml
11:46:28:<config>
11:46:28:  <!-- Folding Core -->
11:46:28:  <cpu-usage v='45'/>
11:46:28:
11:46:28:  <!-- Folding Slot Configuration -->
11:46:28:  <power v='MEDIUM'/>
11:46:28:
11:46:28:  <!-- Network -->
11:46:28:  <proxy v=':8080'/>
11:46:28:
11:46:28:  <!-- User Information -->
11:46:28:  <user v='Angus'/>
11:46:28:
11:46:28:  <!-- Folding Slots -->
11:46:28:  <slot id='0' type='CPU'>
11:46:28:    <cpus v='-1'/>
11:46:28:  </slot>
11:46:28:  <slot id='1' type='GPU'/>
11:46:28:</config>






R9 270x just stuck at Paused:waiting for idle!!!!!!!
i wait for long long time but it still stuck there!

GPU usage only 1-2%!!!

Mod Edit: Added Code Tags - PantherX
angus63631
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 12:32 pm

Re: AMD R9 270X NOT work!!!!!!!!!

Postby PantherX » Sat Jan 04, 2014 2:08 pm

Welcome to the F@H Forum angus63631,

Please note that in addition to the F@H settings that you have posted above, we wold also need the system configuration which is printed before the F@H settings (viewtopic.php?p=225958#p225958).

Regarding the cpu-usage, if you are using 2 or more CPUs to fold, then this setting doesn't apply to you. You can change the cpu-usage back to 100%

When the power level is set to medium, the GPU will only fold when the system is idle (http://folding.stanford.edu/home/faq/fa ... ion/#ntoc3). This is because we would like to avoid screen-lag. However, you can test if you face the screen-lag or not by moving the slider to Full and observing your daily applications and system response. If you don't encounter any screen-lag, then you may want to consider leaving the slider on the Full position instead of the Medium one.

Please note that you require a passkey to get bonus points. Thus, I would recommend that you get it and use it (http://folding.stanford.edu/home/faq/faq-passkey/).

Finally, it is possible that you were assigned FahCore_16 WU which may not fold on your system but is a temporary situation (viewtopic.php?f=19&t=25506). We need the log file to confirm if that is the case or not.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6850
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud

Re: AMD R9 270X NOT work!!!!!!!!!

Postby P5-133XL » Sat Jan 04, 2014 2:13 pm

The default for the client (medium) is to wait till the machine is idle (screen saver turns on or the monitor powers down) before GPU folding. This is so that the lag induced by GPU folding does not interfere with your use of your machine. You can bypass this behavior by simply moving the slider to full or clicking on the folding icon in the systray and choosing full.

P.S.

Your config indicates that you have set the %CPU usage to 45%. This setting does not work as expected for multi-core CPU's like your i5. Please put it back to 100%. If you want to control your CPU usage then configure the CPU slot using the advanced control to explicitly specify the number of cores/threads it uses. It works much better than %CPU usage which was designed for only older uni-processor WU's running on a single-core CPU.
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA


Return to Problems with AMD/ATI drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron