HD 6850 - Nothing...

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though AMD has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

HD 6850 - Nothing...

Postby BaskB » Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:57 am

Any help here guys:-

Code: Select all
*********************** Log Started 2014-02-12T23:37:40Z ***********************
23:37:40:WU01:FS00:Starting
23:37:40:WU01:FS00:Running FahCore: D:\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe D:/Keep/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 1624 -checkpoint 5 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
23:37:41:WU01:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 4912
23:37:41:WU01:FS00:Core PID:4944
23:37:41:WU01:FS00:FahCore 0x17 started
23:37:42:WU01:FS00:0x17:*********************** Log Started 2014-02-12T23:37:42Z ***********************
23:37:42:WU01:FS00:0x17:Project: 8900 (Run 227, Clone 7, Gen 42)
23:37:42:WU01:FS00:0x17:Unit: 0x00000042028c126651a6592d0ed77a0b
23:37:42:WU01:FS00:0x17:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
23:37:42:WU01:FS00:0x17:Machine: 0
23:37:42:WU01:FS00:0x17:Digital signatures verified
23:37:42:WU01:FS00:0x17:Folding@home GPU core17
23:37:42:WU01:FS00:0x17:Version 0.0.52
23:39:54:WU01:FS00:0x17:Completed 0 out of 2500000 steps (0%)
23:39:54:WU01:FS00:0x17:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900
23:41:19:FS00:Paused
23:41:19:FS00:Shutting core down
23:41:20:WU01:FS00:0x17:WARNING:Console control signal 1 on PID 4944
23:41:20:WU01:FS00:0x17:Exiting, please wait. . .
23:41:20:WU01:FS00:0x17:Lost lifeline PID 4912, exiting
23:41:20:WU01:FS00:0x17:ERROR:103: Lost client lifeline
23:41:20:WU01:FS00:0x17:Folding@home Core Shutdown: CLIENT_DIED
23:41:20:WU01:FS00:FahCore returned: INTERRUPTED (102 = 0x66)
23:41:23:FS00:Unpaused
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:Starting
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:Running FahCore: D:\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe D:/Keep/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 1624 -checkpoint 5 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 5268
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:Core PID:4788
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:FahCore 0x17 started
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:0x17:*********************** Log Started 2014-02-12T23:41:24Z ***********************
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:0x17:Project: 8900 (Run 227, Clone 7, Gen 42)
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:0x17:Unit: 0x00000042028c126651a6592d0ed77a0b
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:0x17:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:0x17:Machine: 0
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:0x17:Digital signatures verified
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:0x17:Folding@home GPU core17
23:41:24:WU01:FS00:0x17:Version 0.0.52
23:43:16:FS00:Finishing
23:43:49:WU01:FS00:0x17:Completed 0 out of 2500000 steps (0%)
23:43:49:WU01:FS00:0x17:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900
23:49:47:FS00:Paused
23:49:47:FS00:Shutting core down
23:49:47:WU01:FS00:0x17:WARNING:Console control signal 1 on PID 4788
23:49:47:WU01:FS00:0x17:Exiting, please wait. . .
23:49:49:WU01:FS00:0x17:Lost lifeline PID 5268, exiting
23:49:49:WU01:FS00:0x17:ERROR:103: Lost client lifeline
23:49:49:WU01:FS00:0x17:Folding@home Core Shutdown: CLIENT_DIED
23:49:49:FS00:Unpaused
23:49:49:FS00:Finishing
23:49:49:WU01:FS00:FahCore returned: INTERRUPTED (102 = 0x66)
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:Starting
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:Running FahCore: D:\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe D:/Keep/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 1624 -checkpoint 5 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 5480
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:Core PID:4412
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:FahCore 0x17 started
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:0x17:*********************** Log Started 2014-02-12T23:49:50Z ***********************
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:0x17:Project: 8900 (Run 227, Clone 7, Gen 42)
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:0x17:Unit: 0x00000042028c126651a6592d0ed77a0b
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:0x17:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:0x17:Machine: 0
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:0x17:Digital signatures verified
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:0x17:Folding@home GPU core17
23:49:50:WU01:FS00:0x17:Version 0.0.52
23:51:51:WU01:FS00:0x17:Completed 0 out of 2500000 steps (0%)
23:51:52:WU01:FS00:0x17:Temperature control disabled. Requirements: single Nvidia GPU, tmax must be < 110 and twait >= 900
23:53:01:FS00:Paused
23:53:01:FS00:Shutting core down
23:53:01:WU01:FS00:0x17:WARNING:Console control signal 1 on PID 4412
23:53:01:WU01:FS00:0x17:Exiting, please wait. . .
23:53:02:WU01:FS00:0x17:Lost lifeline PID 5480, exiting
23:53:02:WU01:FS00:0x17:ERROR:103: Lost client lifeline
23:53:02:WU01:FS00:0x17:Folding@home Core Shutdown: CLIENT_DIED
23:53:02:WU01:FS00:FahCore returned: INTERRUPTED (102 = 0x66)
23:53:51:FS00:Unpaused
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:Starting
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:Running FahCore: D:\FAHClient/FAHCoreWrapper.exe D:/Keep/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/ATI/R600/Core_17.fah/FahCore_17.exe -dir 01 -suffix 01 -version 703 -lifeline 1624 -checkpoint 5 -gpu 0 -gpu-vendor ati
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:Started FahCore on PID 3408
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:Core PID:1772
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:FahCore 0x17 started
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:0x17:*********************** Log Started 2014-02-12T23:53:51Z ***********************
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:0x17:Project: 8900 (Run 227, Clone 7, Gen 42)
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:0x17:Unit: 0x00000042028c126651a6592d0ed77a0b
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:0x17:CPU: 0x00000000000000000000000000000000
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:0x17:Machine: 0
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:0x17:Digital signatures verified
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:0x17:Folding@home GPU core17
23:53:51:WU01:FS00:0x17:Version 0.0.52


Just cannot get my HD 6850 to fold despite numerous attempts today, so am having to use CPU only at present.

Currently running Catalyst 13.12
BaskB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:51 am

Re: HD 6850 - Nothing...

Postby Jesse_V » Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:43 am

What operating system are you running here?
F@h is now the top computing platform on the planet and nothing unites people like a dedicated fight against a common enemy. This virus affects all of us. Lets end it together.
Jesse_V
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2851
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:44 am
Location: Western Washington

Re: HD 6850 - Nothing...

Postby 7im » Thu Feb 13, 2014 2:51 am

Try the windows v14.1 beta driver.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: HD 6850 - Nothing...

Postby BaskB » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:20 am

Its Win 7 Home Premium.

Think I maybe ok now. Left the PC on overnight and have come back to a WU thats now 19% complete, it appears very slow though compared to the previous versions of the software but perhaps that's just my card showing its age now.

I'll see where we are later and we can probably close this.
BaskB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:51 am

Re: HD 6850 - Nothing...

Postby Zagen30 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:09 am

From what I've seen reported, core 17 does not run very fast on the 5000 and 6000 series, and project 8900 is pretty large. That may be the normal performance.
Image
Zagen30
 
Posts: 823
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 1:45 am

Re: HD 6850 - Nothing...

Postby BaskB » Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:22 am

Thanks for the info.

I'll keep an eye on it. Presently the card is reporting a 7k PPD which as my 2x Haswell CPUs are outputting 6-8K each a day kind of makes the GPU pretty unefficient given the Watt/PPD ratio :(

Guessing I need to convince the better half to allow me to buy a new shiny :wink:
BaskB
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:51 am

Re: HD 6850 - Nothing...

Postby Joe_H » Thu Feb 13, 2014 4:46 pm

That PPD sounds about right compared to what I saw in brief tests on the 5870 in my son's Mac Pro booted into Windows 7. I was getting reported PPD's in the 15-20K range. Core_17 seems to do okay on the high end 5000 and 6000 series cards, but it appears to drop off in PPD compared to the older Core_16 work with cards below 5770 or 6790.
Image

iMac 2.8 i7 12 GB smp8, Mac Pro 2.8 quad 12 GB smp6
MacBook Pro 2.9 i7 8 GB smp3
Joe_H
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6680
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 5:41 pm
Location: W. MA


Return to Problems with AMD/ATI drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron