14.4 drivers R9 290 hang when GPU is being used

It seems that a lot of GPU problems revolve around specific versions of drivers. Though AMD has their own support structure, you can often learn from information reported by others who fold.

Moderators: Site Moderators, FAHC Science Team

14.4 drivers R9 290 hang when GPU is being used

Postby iopq » Mon May 19, 2014 6:28 am

I am running Windows 7 with 14.4 drivers on my R9 290. It folds fine, except when I forget I'm folding and try to use something that uses the GPU (like a video game) it will crash my ATI driver in a spectacular fashion, random garbage on screen and everything. Even if I quit FAH it will still continue crashing until I reboot. If I pause folding I can still do stuff that uses the GPU and continue running FAH afterwards with no issues.

I only fold with the GPU, never the CPU. I have only one GPU in my system and I'm using core 0x17.

I'm sure there's a driver problem, but is there anything I can do to avoid crashing other than always remembering to pause? For example, my video player uses MadVR which uses the GPU to render so it crashes even if I watch a video from my player.
iopq
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 6:21 am

Re: 14.4 drivers R9 290 hang when GPU is being used

Postby P5-133XL » Mon May 19, 2014 8:05 am

Common problem. I have to pause folding on my primary card before playing a game, else-wise bad thing happen. I learned that a longgggg time ago. It has never improved.
Image
P5-133XL
 
Posts: 2948
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2007 5:36 am
Location: Salem. OR USA

Re: 14.4 drivers R9 290 hang when GPU is being used

Postby 7im » Mon May 19, 2014 4:12 pm

GPUs don't have load balancing like a CPU does, and fah uses a lot of GPU resources. Overloaded GPUs don't always behave well as a result.
How to provide enough information to get helpful support
Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.
User avatar
7im
 
Posts: 10189
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 5:30 pm
Location: Arizona

Re: 14.4 drivers R9 290 hang when GPU is being used

Postby PantherX » Mon May 19, 2014 6:15 pm

Welcome to the F@H Forum iopq,

Have you ensured that the GPU is stable, i.e. if it is overclocked, have you tried using the AMD stock settings to see if the issue goes away.

A possible solution is that you can configure your GPU Slot to only fold when idle (http://folding.stanford.edu/home/faq/fa ... ion/#ntoc3). That way, you don't have to remember to pause it since it will automatically pause.
ETA:
Now ↞ Very Soon ↔ Soon ↔ Soon-ish ↔ Not Soon ↠ End Of Time

Welcome To The F@H Support Forum Ӂ Troubleshooting Bad WUs Ӂ Troubleshooting Server Connectivity Issues
User avatar
PantherX
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 6850
Joined: Wed Dec 23, 2009 10:33 am
Location: Land Of The Long White Cloud


Return to Problems with AMD/ATI drivers

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron