Page 2 of 2

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 7:23 pm
by mike9o
The two gpu slots are both x16 v3.0. There is a third slot but its is v2.0 and the gpu will not fit in it (it is too close to the power supply).
I've rebooted a few times and the one gpu always runs at 300 MHz rather than 1070 MHz.

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:07 pm
by foldy
Maybe the AMD Wattman settings are wrong? Or the opencl indexed are messed up and the work unit is not running on the 2nd GPU?
Maybe try to uninstall client 7.4.15 beta and install 7.4.4 instead.

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

PostPosted: Mon Jan 02, 2017 9:31 pm
by _r2w_ben
What is the GPU Load % reported on the Sensors tab of GPU-Z for each card?

If one is 0% and the other is 100%, you may need to manually specify the opencl-index for each slot. 7.4.15 beta will frequently forget this setting after a reboot while 7.4.4 will not.

This is my setup:
Radeon RX 460 is gpu-index = 1 and opencl-index = 0
AMD 7600 APU is gpu-index = 0 and opencl-index = 1

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:32 am
by Aurum
mike9o wrote:I have a similar problem running two 390x's in a duel GPU Z170 Intel system. Per the Folding web control display, GPU 0 is earning 31k ppd and GPU 1 is earning 292k ppd. I deleted the CPU slot because I thought that the one GPU slot wasn't getting any CPU support. I have other dual GPU systems which don't have this problem. Any ideas?

Hi mike90, I have several multi-GPU rigs with that family of cards running together fine.
1st, let that nice i7-4970k fold and if you leave it Slots/CPU/#of CPUs set to -1 and F@H will dedicate 2 cores to GPU folding and 6 to CPU folding. If you use the PC for other work you may want to set it to 5. Should not reduce GPU folding unless you force it to 7 or 8. I use F@H 7.4.15 so I don't know if 7.4.4 gives you a choice.
2nd, I didn't see which AMD driver you're using but I use non-whql-win7-64bit-radeon-software-crimson-relive-16.12.2-dec19.exe for all my AMD cards 7000 and higher. If you install it select Custom and click Clean Install. Did see right that this is a 32-bit XP OS?
Do you have any other programs running? Have you opened the Task Manager and looked to see if some process is hogging CPU time?
What model of motherboard do you have? You can use Speccy from Piriform.com to look it up.

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:39 am
by Aurum
_r2w_ben wrote:Radeon RX 460 is gpu-index = 1 and opencl-index = 0
AMD 7600 APU is gpu-index = 0 and opencl-index = 1

I don't know if it makes a difference but I've tried it all 3 ways and this is the way I set gpu index now on all my rigs:
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 0
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 1
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 2
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 3

And yes, 7.4.15 often forgets on F@H restarts and you have to manually check them. Eager for a fix in 7.4.16.

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 10:22 pm
by davidcoton
Aurum wrote:
_r2w_ben wrote:Radeon RX 460 is gpu-index = 1 and opencl-index = 0
AMD 7600 APU is gpu-index = 0 and opencl-index = 1

I don't know if it makes a difference but I've tried it all 3 ways and this is the way I set gpu index now on all my rigs:
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 0
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 1
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 2
gpu-index = -1, opencl-index = 3

And yes, 7.4.15 often forgets on F@H restarts and you have to manually check them. Eager for a fix in 7.4.16.


The problem is that finding "correct" index settings varies from one PC to another. No-one has yet identified an algorithm that always works, unless it's in 7.4.16. From memory it's not yet fixed.

7.4.16 is available so you can install it to check whether setting work and persist.

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 11:18 pm
by bruce
GPU speed depends on the number of shaders in your GPU plus a few other less-important features. If two identical GPUs are placed in slots with different speeds, there may also be a difference in performance. When that was being discussed (on the previous page) it's not clear to me that you checked the characteristics of your motherboard.

Re: running two different gpu's 1 only runs at 1/3 speed (id

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2017 1:07 am
by _r2w_ben
davidcoton wrote:The problem is that finding "correct" index settings varies from one PC to another. No-one has yet identified an algorithm that always works, unless it's in 7.4.16. From memory it's not yet fixed.

7.4.16 is available so you can install it to check whether setting work and persist.


7.4.16 does a better job of persisting settings but I haven't tried letting it auto-configure the slots.

I noticed that during startup of the client, it prints out additional values compared to 7.4.15. For me, the GPU # matches up with gpu-index and OpenCL Device # matches with opencl-index.
Code: Select all
01:08:13:          GPU 0: Bus:0 Slot:1 Func:0 ATI:5 Kaveri [Radeon R7]
01:08:13:          GPU 1: Bus:1 Slot:0 Func:0 ATI:5 Baffin XT [Radeon RX 460]
01:08:13:           CUDA: Not detected: Failed to open dynamic library 'nvcuda.dll': The
01:08:13:                 specified module could not be found.
01:08:13:
01:08:13:OpenCL Device 0: Platform:0 Device:0 Bus:1 Slot:0 Compute:1.2 Driver:2117.13
01:08:13:OpenCL Device 1: Platform:0 Device:1 Bus:0 Slot:1 Compute:1.2 Driver:2117.13